We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in NO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in NO”
Reviewed November 15, 2007

This hotel was a pleasant surprise in New Orleans. I'd never stayed in a Drury hotel, and now I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The lobby was lovely, there was a full hot breakfast, sodas available during the day, staff was friendly, beds were comfortable and room was clean with marble tiles in entrance and bathroom. Most importantly, all Drury hotels are pet friendly, and my dog had a great time looking out our 8th floor window at the streets of New Orleans. It was a short walk to the french quarter, and the streetcar lines are right outside the door.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank tripleklutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    536
    95
    25
    13
See reviews for
674
628
41
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Our family stayed here from November 2 to Nov. 4th when we were visiting for a family function. We reserved one suite and one double room. Both were excellent, very comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. Rooms had microwaves, refigerators, coffee makers, and very comfy beds. Also a free hot breakfast each morning, as well as free drinks at happy hour, and snacks and soft drinks in the lobby all day. We were able to walk to Bourbon Street, Riverwalk, and Harrah's Casino. But best of all was a nightly rate WELL under the other hotels. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Wonderful comfortable bed, nice bathroom
  • Disliked — towels were not thick and fluffy.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sumrfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We live in north Lousiana and have stayed at this hotel many times, both pre-and post-Katrina. The rooms are consistently clean and well appointed. The location is excellent (a few blocks from the Superdome) and cabs are readily available. The hot breakfast is excellent. Service is typical New Orleans: friendly but slow. Relax, have a drink, you're in the Big Easy.

Note to tourists: New Orleans is perfectly safe. If you're not buying or selling drugs, you are unlikely to get in the way of violence. The tourist areas are very safe. We go often and have never felt threatened. My son lives uptown and never has any problems. Go, spend money, help the city. It's a fun, fun place.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank LSUmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Stayed at the hotel during a conference. The Drury was not one of the conference hotels, but it was $100 per night cheaper. I got a suite for $90.00. The hotel was 1/2 block from the conference shuttle stop. Very clean, spacious and nice hotel. The breakfast is convenient (if you want Denny's go there. This isn't Denny's) and a great extra. Staff was pleasant. A short walk to the FQ. Absoultely would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CornHuskerNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I was looking for a place that wasn't too expensive as we would only be sleeping there...this was it. Nice accomodations, good price and a surprisingly good complimentary continental breakfast. This saved us time and money because going out for our big day at the NO JazzFest. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank aj1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, MI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My wife and I went for a 3-day weekend on Thursday evening 7/26/2007 to see our daughter during her summer internship in NOLA with Shell Oil. We booked through Travelocity unsing direct NWA flights from DTW to MSY. The upcharge from just the flight cost was amazingly small for both of us. The hotel was easy to find and had on-site parking. Upon arriving I asked if we could have our daughter stay with us instead of travelling back and forth to her apartment in Kenner. I said I would pay extra if necessary. The very nice young desk lady changed our room from a king to two doubles which was fine for us at no charge. Included in the accomodations was a small hot breakfast buffet and free "well" cocktails each evening (3 per adult). The bar used a bulk liquor dispenser nozzle. There was also a Soda Fountain machine available in the lobby 24/7. We had cocktails once but ate breakfast every morning of our stay. The food was good and hot, perhaps the scrambled eggs a little salty, but I have had much worse. Twin make your own waffles etc.

The public areas were very clean and neat. A lot of impressive marble and over in the corner was a gratis computer and printer for quick email or flight updates and boarding passes.

The room was clean and neat. There was enough room for the three of us with the two doubles. All the service staff we met were freindly although some had limited english (Latina).

The location was near enough to the FQ for us to walk it 4-5 blocks directly to west end of Bourbon St.). The Casino which we didn't go to was about twice that straight down the main street.

The big bonus was when we checked out they didn't charge is for parking as we expected so all in all we got a great bargain and were very pleased.

Helpful?
3 Thank mikofcdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Great hotel. We traveled with our two kids, age 7 and 10. Outdoor pool on rooftop was nice. Best part is the parking. We have stayed at many French Quarter hotels and you have to wait forever for the valet to get your car. You parked your own car at Drury. Excellent! I also liked the fact that you had to use your room key to activate the elevators as well as the outdoor /stairwell entrances. Rooms (we had the suite) are very spacious and the breakfast and evening cocktails/snacks and cokes and popcorn(free) are great. Staff was very accomodating. We will stay there on our next trip to New Orleans.

  • Liked — parking and evening social buffet and free breakfast
  • Disliked — uncomfortable sofa bed-we put the mattress on the floor for the kids
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank alabamacar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
4,544 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 163 in New Orleans
4,304 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 163 in New Orleans
7,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
516 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 163 in New Orleans
5,692 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans

Property: Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Address: 820 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cumberland Phone Building just one block from the St. Charles trolley, the Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans offers convenient access to the Garden District and the French Quarter. Experience Cajun traditions and culture while enjoying Drury Hotels' free extras from our hot breakfast to the 5:30 Kickback(R) evening menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Drury Inn And Suites New Orleans
New Orleans Drury Inn
Drury New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing