We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We chose the Avenue Inn based on its location and past reviews. What a great decision! We couldn't have done better! It was a great location, away from the noise of the French Quarter, yet right on the streetcar line for easy access to everything. Our room was beautiful, with 12 foot ceilings and filled with period furniture. Despite being right on the streetcar line, our room was very quiet.

The continental breakfast was quite extensive and there were always snacks available. The large front porch and courtyard area exuded southern charm. Our hosts Joe and Bebe were always there if we needed anything, but unobtrusive so that we felt "at home". We are already planning another trip and will definitely stay at Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Glad they found the location to be convenient. We hear that often from folks who have stayed only in the French Quarter. Staying away just a bit has a nice advantage. Thanks for the wonderful comments about our mansion home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 947 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Avenue B&B is a lovely property in the Garden District, right on the St Charles streetcar line. Both my daughter and I had good sleeps in comfortable beds, despite the proximity of traffic. Joe & Bebe were very kind, giving us excellent recommendations for restaurants, making reservations, organizing taxi, tours etc. They really couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: I think any room in this establishment would provide a good night's sleep and a place to relax a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelal1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Manager at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Nice Canadian family who we enjoyed having here. We really appreciate the lovely comments about their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I wanted to write a little review even though I didn't actually end up staying at the inn. I showed up after dark and realized that it was actually too far from the neighborhood where I needed to be (it's in the beautiful garden district, and I needed to be close to a friend staying in Bywater). Joe was extremely accomodating and actually helped me find another place. The inn, by the way, was grand and elegant, and I got a look at the bedrooms, which were quite nice.
I was very grateful for the help and generousity.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank resoneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

What a surprise review! Never expected this individual to say such nice things. We just wanted to help her out. Hope she will come and stay with us next visit to the Big Easy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night for a short anniversary getaway and this was the perfect place for it. It was close enough to the city but still very peaceful at night. The service was excellent and it was very clean. The location felt safe and the overall experience was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thrilled that we made this one night Anniversary so special for this couple. We appreciate the kind words. Hope to see them back for a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent service and a beautiful historic home. The host and his wife were extremely helpful in getting around town and welcoming us to NOLA. The room was beautiful and felt like something out of a historic magazine, they were also very clean with beautiful fixtures. The breakfast wasn't too special but with so many places near by for great food, a light breakfast is all you need. We will most def. come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We love making birthdays special. So glad that this guest enjoyed the visit. Continental breakfast is what we advertise and offer. And just like they mentioned, so many world class places to eat and so little time....most of our guests are very happy with a light breakfast. Hope to see these folks back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Myself and my daughter stayed two nights here in September since she was visiting Tulane. Well, the Inn exceeded our expectations - and that is hard to do! The continental breakfast was plentiful with many delicious and fresh options - coffee cake, scones, muffins, fruit, etc. The inn was a beautiful and historic home that is elegantly furnished yet welcoming. Quick trolley ride to the French Quarter and to Tulane area. Restaurants are within minutes away and Joe And Bebe are great hosts who are eager and knowledgeable at suggesting restaurants, and places to see. Whether my daughter attends Tulane or not...we will be back. Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room #2 on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rightsideBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Exceeding expectations is our goal and we are so happy that this guest felt that we had reached that mark. We predict that her daughter will be back for school and we look forward to having them here again. Thanks so much for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Avenue Inn is on St. Charles Avenue in the Garden District. It is convenient to both universities, Tulane and Loyola, as well as the French Quarter. The inn keepers, Joe and Bebe, are sensitive to all your needs and make sure you have whatever you need to make your stay comfortable. Every morning breakfast is served in the dining room and not only is the food very good but it enables the guests to meet each other and discuss their plans for the day. Snacks are available all day long. The street car stops less than a block away from the Inn. There is no fitness center at the Inn but you can join many other joggers on the street car tracks, which is a wonderfull place to run.

Room Tip: We have stayed here four times and our favorite room is the front room which you enter from the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jogger2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

These four time returning guests are so gracious and kind with their words and although they have choice of many places to stay, their repeat business is the highest compliment. Looking forward to another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
505 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 141 in New Orleans
476 reviews
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 141 in New Orleans
690 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Melrose Mansion
Melrose Mansion
#14 of 141 in New Orleans
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $136 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing