We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Avenue Inn this past weekend, and had a wonderful time. The B&B is located in the heart of (what we found to be) the most beautiful, and convenient part of New Orleans. There is a stop for the St. Charles Avenue streetcar line directly in front of the Inn, which provides quick and easy access to downtown and the French Quarter.

The Inn is housed in a beautifully maintained historic mansion, but offers clean and modern bathroom facilities (a big plus). The owners, Joe and his wife Bebe, couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. Joe went out of his way to arrange last minute brunch reservations at one of the city's best restaurants (Commander's Palace) and offered a host of recommendations for places to visit during our short 3 day stay.

We can't wait for our next visit to New Orleans and the Avenue Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleToDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Not much we can say about this review except "thank you" for the awesome feedback recommendation. What a nice couple and we enjoyed their visit. Sounds like they enjoyed visiting too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (938)
There are newer reviews for Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 938 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

We came to NO and spent a week at the Avenue Inn B&B. What a wonderful choice we made! We were met on arrival with a very warm welcome from Joe and Bebe and from then on it was a relaxing, comfortable, stress free stay. The beautiful mansion was extremely inviting. Our room was perfect, clean and very comfortable. We meant so many wonderful travellers and had lots of good chats. Breakfast offered many choices and many thanks for the free gift shop. They took exceptional care in booking tours, recommendations for restaurants and ensured we knew of all the best attractions to take in. The convenient street car located right outside the door provided a lot of fun riding the rails.

Would we stay at the Avenue Inn B&B again? Without hesitation. We will be back.

Thanks to Joe, Bebe and their staff for a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSQ422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

A week stay by guests can be tricky for an Innkeeper. You must keep them busy and enjoying every thing that you recommend. Restaurant choices and tour selections must be spot on. It appears that we passed muster with this lovely couple and we do look forward to having them back again. Hope others will give us the opportunity to do the same for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was out first trip to N.O. I had read good reviews of the Avenue B&B here in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed for our 3 night stay. The old house is full of antique furnishings and has a great old mansion ambiance. Joe gave us the front room overlooking St. Charles Ave. It was a spacious and nicely appointed room. Joe also gave excellent recommendations for restaurants and sight-seeing. It was quiet, and well away from the party crowds of the French Quarter. When we wanted to go the the Quarter we just walked across the street and hopped on the St. Charles Street Car. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

First trips to New Orleans are so important. We want to make the right impression for our Inn and for the city. Looks like we had success with this very nice couple. Perhaps they will be regular visitors to our part of the world in the future. We hope so and we thank them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

When we pulled up to this beautiful bed and breakfast I was so impressed with the home. It's a beautiful old mansion with so much charm. Joe and Bebe were wonderful and treated us well. Our room had very high ceilings and a very comfy four poster bed. I kept looking around thinking why would I ever stay in a hotel in New Orleans again when I can stay here? We just loved it!
It's right on St. Charles so we would hop on the street car and enjoy our ride into The Quarter. I'm hooked! And we are definitely coming back! Thanks Joe and Bebe!!!

Room Tip: We choose a room on the second floor that was smaller but looked right out onto St. Charles. We cou...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoraBoraJen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

We specialize in get a ways. Many couples like these nice folks just want to get lost if only for a weekend. We help them do that and the results are do positive. We are expecting to receive a request for their next visit soon. And we so appreciate the glowing report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came to NO for a combined family reunion / wedding reception. The first two days were spent on the North Shore and then we moved to the best part, The Avenue Inn. Located right on the St Charles streetcar line, it was a trip back in time. BeBe and Joe, the Inn keepers, are wonderful hosts, just be ready for Joe's dry sense of humor! Service was super and the neighborhood was so gracious and beautiful. Every home and garden is unique and flowers are everywhere! (we are desert dwellers so it was amazing) We sat on the porch and rocked and also enjoyed the patio tables to just sit and talk about our day in the lushly landscaped front yard. If you rent a car, there is parking in the rear (rare in NO) as well as street parking in front. BeBe & Joe are full of interesting history, great restaurant recommendations and suggestions on things to see and do. It was a wonderful 4 days, wished we could have stayed longer! Thanks Joe and BeBe!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

We get lots of family reunion and wedding guests. Its great to see so many folks celebrating joyous occasions. We are glad that things went so well that they want to return for another visit. Hope to see them soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've stayed at this B&B each summer for 3 years running. Great location in the Garden District. Short cab ride to the quarter, or take the trolley which runs in front of the house. Excellent place for some peace and quiet when you're ready for it.

Room Tip: Trolley out front runs all night. Pick a rear room if you sleep light.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

When someone remarks that they had an excellent vacation in New Orleans and our Inn was a contributing factor, it just makes all of our efforts so worthwhile. We were thrilled to learn about this couple's stay and hope to see them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This B&B is in an old mansion. Our 3rd floor room was clean, had two comfortable places to sit, and a very comfortable bed. It was cool, restful, and quiet (the street cars were muted with the A/C and fan). We loved waking up to breakfast which was excellent home made pastries. It was not a full breakfast but there was plenty for us to eat. The street car was easily accessible. A good restaurant was within walking distance. Joe, and his wife, checked with us to see if we were comfortable or needed help.

We had a wonderful vacation in New Orleans and the Avenue B&B was a major factor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMF687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

How wonderful to learn that these guests enjoyed their stay. We appreciate the very nice feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 165 in New Orleans
346 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 165 in New Orleans
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 165 in New Orleans
4,197 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $115 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing