We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in St. Charles Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem in St. Charles Street”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in New Orleans for three nights at the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast. Once we decided on New Orleans as our travel destination, I Googled Bed and Breakfasts in the area and found that the Avenue Inn had very high ratings and these positive reviews did not disappoint!

Prior to our vacation, the Innkeepers, Joe and Bebe, sent us numerous emails including restaurant recommendations and suggestions for activities during our brief stay, and the information they provided was tremendously helpful. We booked the Jazzy Honeymoon Package (plus a plantation tour) and crammed these tours into just three days and also ate lunch and dinner at some amazing restaurants, and for our meals we relied very heavily on their recommendations.

The Inn itself is some 150 years old and had a lot of charm and character. Breakfast was served each morning in the home's dining room and the spread was more than enough to get the day started on the right foot. In addition, it was fun to dine with other guests to share ideas for activities and new restaurants. Our room, the Mardi Gras Room, was just off the porch and maintained the same antique quality seen in the dining and living areas of the home. And the Inn is conveniently located just steps from the streetcar, which was our primary mode of transportation while in town.

Based on reading reviews prior to booking our trip, the Avenue Inn was exactly what we expected. Our only two suggestions for improvement would be the spotty wi-fi service from the room and the short window of time for consistent hot water during back-to-back showers each morning. Otherwise, the Inn could not have been better!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Some lovely feedback on a package that is very popular. We loved having this couple here. We are checking on the two items noted to see if there is an adjustment in the system required. Hope to see them back again for another fun time in the Big Easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    44
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
168
363
38
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

It was great to find such a tranquil bed & breakfast in The Big Easy. Its location was ideal for visiting our son at Tulane, dining at great restaurants, shopping Magazine Street, and watching the New Orleans Rock & Roll Marathon. The Avenue Inn is an antebellum jewel! Its beds are big and comfortable (and antique), the rooms spacious and well appointed, the bathrooms are fully modernized and everything you would expect in a quality hotel. Breakfast is filling and offers many choices that please guests of all ages. The owners are attentive and courteous and do all they can to ensure guests enjoy their stay and will come again. On the morning of the marathon, all we had to do was walk outside the Avenue Inn and we were able to cheer the runners on at mile three and after crossing the street again at mile six. Perfect race watching spot!It was our second time to the Avenue Inn, and we'll be back!

Room Tip: If you're going for Mardi Gras or Rock & Roll Marathon, you can't beat room 7 on second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbmom9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
So happy to learn that these guests enjoyed their stay. We thank them for the nice words about their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We came to the Avenue Inn with another couple for a wedding, we had a great time in this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. Joe and his wife were very helpful with their suggestions of things to see and places to eat. They were so hospitable, when we return to New Orleans, we will return to this new found jewel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank phireplugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
These folks were from Huntsville, Al and they were just great to have with us for some leisure time away from home. Glad we are their new Favs, the feeling is mutual. Appreciate the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

New Orleans is noted for its charm, unique culture, and fine food. Sometimes overlooked is the area on St. Charles' Avenue - "the Avenue" in popular language. Here a number iof restored old dwellings are now on the National Registry. I recently stayed at the Avenue B & B. The location is fantastic. It is on St. Charles' and a stone's throw from Xavier University, Tulane University, Loyola Univerity and the Academy of the Sacred Heart as well as two wonderulparks; one of which has a stable for riding along the levees. The tram is just across the street and gives you easy access to the city or high rise buildings and sterile hotels. The Avenue B & B built in 1888 or so captures the flavor and hospitality of old New Orleans in a totally rennovated setting. It is a lively place with guests from all over the world. Breakfast was a joy of happy conversation and good food. The proprietors are also a wealth of knowledge about the city and its environs. You feel being a part of the city because of them. It is a wonderful place - so charming, historically significant, and reasonable. I loved the garden and porch - having coffee and relaxing. The staff is caring, accommodating and just plain fantastic! This place IS New Orleans and captures the charm of one of the most unique cities in the world. Stay there, check out its web site

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, quite and very comfortable - you feel at home here and never want to le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We meet so many interesting people here at our Inn. This gentleman was a fascinating Professor and lecturer here on University business. We really appreciated his kind and keen observations about our mansion home. Hope to see him back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Yep, that's what my girlfriends and I decided Avenue Inn is all about. Four of us just got back from a great week...our annual "girls" getaway. We were hesitant about going to a B & B, we wanted privacy, quiet but didn't want to end up bored, and isolated. What an education! Bebe and Joe are the owners and what they don't know about New Orleans probably isn't worth knowing. Our rooms were huge and gorgeous...but not "over the top we're trying to impress you." The decor was appropriate for the era of the home, but very clean and fresh. Never heard a sound except each other chattering about how much fun we were having. The restaurants & sights Bebe and Joe recommended were perfect. It was amazing that after one conversation with us they were able to nail what we woud enjoy! We had all the "action" we wanted in town and knew we could "home" to peace and quiet. The all you want free snack tower is pretty handy, too. Never saw that before. Breakfast was yummy and different everyday; free wi fi was an unexpected surprise.

All of us decided that we should probably bring our spouses back for a romantic weekend. The place is perfect for it and NOLA has any and everything to offer!

Room Tip: No suggestions here. We had two rooms and both were very spacious...the bathroom amenities were awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Lovely girls here for fun in the Big Easy. So glad we were able to make there weekend special. Our thanks for all the lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I came for a romantic getaway, it was so beautiful! They even accommodated me with my gluten free diet. Joe and Bebe are so nice! They helped us with recommending restaurants, local attractions, and public transportation. We felt so safe! We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmhane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Its a thrill for us to help make romantic weekends special for couples. And the fact that we have dietary substitutes makes it even more convenient for them. We thank them for the plus comments. Hope they will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I just returned from celebrating out 10th wedding anniversary and our 2nd visit to the Avenue Bed and Breakfast. We decided on our first visit that we would always try and come back for special occassions, knowing that no matter what, our visit would be special. Once again everything about the Avenue Inn was BEYOND our expectations. Joe and Bebe (the owners) greeted us like old friends, so warm and cordial; congratulating us on our 10 years of "wedded bliss." Joe always has a way of immediately making you feel at home...and Bebe exudes warmth. We arrived and were upstairs in our gorgeous room in less than 10 minutes, We had THE best time...didn't want to leave. Our last morning we were the only ones at the breakfast table and Joe and Bebe sat and chatted with us inbetween taking phone calls and answering other guests' questions. It was fun watching them "work" (they do it so well they make their jobs look easy) and helping guests with some of the wildest and basic issues. It was obvious we weren't the only return guests...and I don't think a single person left without commenting about how great their room / stay had been.

Some B & B owners "staff" and manage from afar. When we go to the Avenue Inn we know we'll get service when we want it; no overbearing suggestions or intrusions. Joe and Bebe are proacitve in all the important areas, and that's why it's always such a great time and beautiful memory maker!

If this bed and breakfast isn't up your "Avenue" then your GPS isn't working!

Room Tip: Book early....let Joe and Bebe know your likes and dislikes and know they'll pick the perfect ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Ten years and counting. We are happy that they chose us to celebrate their milestone. Lovely couple and even more lovely observations about our mansion home and the hospitality we strive to achieve. See you next year?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing