We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb B&B in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Avenue Inn is right on the streetcar line up St Charles in the Garden District - a very convenient location. The B&B is in a beautiful old building with a lot of character which is well-restored and cared for. Free and secure parking. Joe and Bebe may be the most conscientious and dedicated innkeepers on the planet. They love their home and they love New Orleans and they do their best to make sure you have a great stay and a great trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

To quote this quest, we do love our home and New Orleans and we know you will too. We thank this couple for the lovely comments and hope they will return for another visit. in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 941 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

It's a great location, a fascinating, historic home and great innkeepers! We really enjoyed our stay with Joe and Bebe and you couldn't ask for a more convenient location, whether you are cathching the trolley to the French Quarter (it's right out front) or walking to a nearby restaurant for a great meal. And, you can get great suggestions on where to sightsee and where to eat from Joe or Bebe. We highly recommend the Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast and plan to return again next time we are in New Orleans.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor but all the rooms we saw have nice bathrooms and easy access to main floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roughriderron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Just lovely comments about our mansion home and we really appreciate the feedback. Perhaps these folks will plan another trip to the Big Easy and stay with us. We would love to have them back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at Avenue Inn for two nights. It is in the perfect location, right on St. Charles Avenue and the innkeeper was incredibly helpful since it was our first time in NO. The price was great, especially since it included free parking and breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Always a pleasure hearing from folks who liked the value of our mansion home. The free parking, WiFi, continental breakfast and unlimited snacks from our "gift" shop really make our Inn an economical choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A delayed revue following our stay in May 2012. A character Inn, a large interesting bed room and in a great location. We enjoyed starting our day eating a good continental breakfast on the front terrace watching the world go by. It was great to leave the car and enjoy catching the street car into downtown New Orleans and we loved escaping the hustle and bustle of downtown for the peace and quiet of the Inn at the end of the day.

A choice of good restaurants in walking distance if you want to stay close. Good recommendations from the hosts.

On arrival it was a little like the first day at a new school with our host, the "headmaster" sitting us down to tell us the rules of the school. However over our very enjoyable days at The Inn, we warmed to the eccentricity of the host and am very happy to recommend the Inn.

I have stayed in central New Orleans on business trips and not enjoyed the city. Our time at the Inn changed my attitude and I would love to return to both the Inn and the city.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Even delayed responses like this one are appreciated and we are grateful that this guest did not mind the few minutes we spent at check-in going over the Inn's amenities and answering questions about the area. Hope to see them back here real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Pleasant enough owners, but really lacking in quality for the high price. The shower head was on a wand mounted in a terrible spot and was so low I had to duck to get water on my head and the water pressure was low. It was worse than the shower in my camper. The walls were paper thin and we could hear every breath from our amorous neighbor in the room next door. You could hear every toilet flush from rooms nearby. And we could hear every step of someone coming and going in the halls and on the stairs. The "breakfast" part had NOTHING hot except the coffee and that was lukewarm. The breakfast was cold cereal and a boiled egg that had been in the refrigerator for who knows how long. And it just seemed a little dirty. I don't think our room had ever been really cleaned well. There was lots of old DNA everywhere. We've stayed at probably a hundred B&Bs and this one is close to last on the list. We would not stay here again. Their website says the owner Joe will give a better deal if you book on your first call but I got a spiel about how he has to pay his mortgage and there are no deals for prompt booking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhillipP703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

This guest was here during the New Year's Eve weekend. When he made the inquiry, he referenced a promotion that he was interested in and we discussed with him that it was not available during special event weekends. Our apologies if the rate was not what he expected. We do recall that he booked a room with two beds for himself and a family member, then called later and changed the room to a single bed for him and a guest. The room he was assigned to was the only one available at the time since we were already near sell out. We were happy to accommodate him. We have reviewed his comments with our housekeeper regarding the condition of his room. He was here for four days and did not make any reference to the quality of cleaning. We would have immediately responded to his concerns and made it right. We observe quiet hours here at night. Most guests find that they sleep well. We apologize if he was disturbed. We asked him daily if everything was satisfactory and none of the concerns cited here were mentioned. We would have gladly addressed them to his satisfaction. As for continental breakfast, guests have reported a satisfactory experience. We have more than 20 items available and all are fresh daily. Pastry, breads, whole fruit, cereal, cheese, juice, coffee are but a few of the many choices. There is no hot food service since its continental breakfast which is clearly advertised on our website and explained at the time of booking if over the phone. We ask that readers of this review read the other comments that have been made and make a decision to visit our mansion home. We will make every effort to make it a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Avenue Inn B&B is by far the best accommodations in New Orleans. It's proximity to the French Quarter (close enough to get their easily, far enough away to see the rest of the City), amazing Innkeepers and historic mansion make for a memorable trip that a hotel setting just can't give you. It's our "go to" place any time we head to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Manager at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

We appreciate the very nice comments of this guest and we are so happy they enjoyed their visit. Hope to see them again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Located in the heart of the Garden District, Avenue B&B is a terrific location for couples looking for quiet and old world charm comfortably located 15 minutes from the revelry of the French Quarter. Owners are thoughtful, considerate, and highly knowledgeable of the area's history and places to see. Make sure you check out the World War II Museum. Surprisingly, it was the highlight of our trip. B&B is charming and owners exemplify southern charm and hospitality. Glad we picked this place to stay. Thanks to Avenue B&B for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Our goal is always to make folks feel welcomed. Glad these guests enjoyed their stay. We strive to offer the best hospitality that we can and it seems that in this case we succeeded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 167 in New Orleans
357 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 167 in New Orleans
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 167 in New Orleans
7,513 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: $136 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing