We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
1 review
“A Magical Place!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Similar to another reviewer, I spent several days in the French Quarter for a business conference. Excellent hotel but we wanted something a bit more intimate to celebrate our honeymoon. The Avenue Inn was exactly what we were looking for and far exceeded our expectations! Joe and Bebe made us feel immediately at home greeting us with warm cookies and taking the time to show us around. We had the queen suite on the top floor which is a "period room" redone and styled to its original glory and so cozy and comfortable we never wanted to leave. Joe was very helpful each day with our questions and making reservations for us and his quiet friendly manner made us feel welcome throughout our visit. Would we come back? In a heartbeat! We loved the Inn and being right on the streetcar line, it was easy to explore areas in all directions and we fell in love with New Orleans and looking forward to seeing Joe and Bebe again in the near future.

Room Tip: Call as far in advance as possible and let Joe guide you based on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrichman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
When couples come to visit on their honeymoon we love going out of our way to make the occasion a very special time for them. It appears from the thoughtful comments of these two newlyweds that the mission was accomplished. See them back for anniversaries? We hope so! Congratulations!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    44
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
173
369
39
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Prior to arriving at Avenue Inn Bed & Breakfast, My wife and I had stayed for several days at an upscale corporate hotel in the French Quarter in order for me to attend a work conference. Although the accommodations in the French Quarter were adequate, if I could re-plan my trip, I would have stayed every night at Avenue Inn. Upon our arrival, my wife and I were blown away by the Innkeepers’ hospitality. Joe and Bebe each took the time to ensure that we maximized our visit (our first) to New Orleans. They provided suggestions and their candid perspectives on restaurants, tours, walks, etc. Even though we had been in town for several days prior, I feel like our stay truly started once we arrived at Avenue Inn.

On top of the hospitality and expertise of Joe and Bebe, the accommodations were wonderful. The food was delicious; the rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable, and quiet (I slept more soundly than I can recall in any hotel); and the sitting porch provided a peaceful place for us to enjoy breakfast each morning of our stay.

We will definitely stay at Avenue Inn again if and when we return to New Orleans. Additionally, anyone who mentions the city to me will have to hear about the remarkable time I had at the Inn, suggesting that all of their future stays should take place there. Thanks, Joe and Bebe.

-Jeff and Judi

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We really appreciate the wonderful comments by this couple. As mentioned, they had not stayed in a facility like ours before and we could tell that from the onset. But once we spent a few moments with them at check-in, they quickly settled in to a comfort zone. We had fun bringing them over to the bright side of lodging. We know we will see them back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Avenue Inn for five nights in mid October. Joe and Bebe are warm and gracious hosts. The room was wonderful (we had a deluxe queen). The breakfast is perfect for people who want to get out and explore the area. There are also free snacks and bottled water available anytime. Joe can help direct you towards good restaurants as well as locations of cultural interest. If we return to New Orleans, the Avenue Inn will be on the top of our accommodation list.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneGuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
To be on top of anyone's travel list is an honor. We loved spending time with this nice couple and hope to see them back soon. Appreciate all the kind observations about our historic mansion home. We are proud of it and enjoy sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a great B&B. The owner Joe is very nice and will even crack a few good jokes as you arrive!

Great selection of breakfast items along with snacks available for your travels.

Very clean place and a great location for the Street Car.

The house is beautiful and you will enjoy staying as much as we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Glad these folks liked our humor. Nothing funny about the very nice words they have written here about us! We are so humbled to receive such lovely feedback. And we look forward to seeing these nice folks again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Avenue Inn's location is very convenient, yet away from the hustle and bustle (and noise) of downtown or French Quarter hotels. We were always able to find parking right in front, which was convenient, but there is additional (free) off-street parking available right behind the Inn. As pictured, the building is a beautiful old New Orleans home, and Joe and Bebe have furnished it tastefully with many period pieces. The continental breakfast had a nice variety of choices, which we enjoyed -- and we loved sitting on the front porch in the morning after breakfast, drinking coffee and watching the streetcars go by!

We had a king-size room at the front of the house on the ground floor, with its own entrance. The room was very large, and even though it faced St. Charles Avenue, street noise was minimal. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean.

Joe and Bebe made excellent suggestions for things to do and places to eat -- some of which were just a very short walk from the Inn. Magazine Street, with all its interesting shops, was also nearby.

We would definitely stay here again on another trip to New Orleans.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimandmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We really appreciate all the nice things said about us by this wonderful couple. What a pleasure to have them in our mansion home. They live in Houston, so we expect them to come back soon. We've got a huge list of restaurants for them to try out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B as we celebrated our 9th wedding anniversary. Joe & Bebe were wonderful hosts and greeted us with warm chocolate chip cookies. They also had some great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. The street car stopped almost right in front of the house which was really convenient. We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLPerry1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
What a sweet couple here to relax from the day to day workload of a young family. We were so happy they enjoyed some peace and quiet here in our mansion home. Hope to see them back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix Valley, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was the last vacation my hubby and I get for a while because we are expecting a new little one in a few months... and we are so glad we chose to go to NOLA and stay at Avenue Inn! This was our first experience with a B&B (we usually stay in resorts), and we were pleasantly surprised by the comfort and convenience of the place. Joe and Bebe were great, and every recommendation they made was golden (listen to their advice!). Joe has a dry quirky sense of humor, and Bebe is a good example of the classic hostess. We enjoyed their casually friendly attitudes. The room we stayed in was adorable, and we were again pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the bed was. We are kind of picky about mattresses, but we just melted away on this bed every night. The location was perfect-- Right on the Streetcar line (which we could barely hear from our street-side room) that took us just about anywhere we wanted to go. Plus there were many wonderful dining options close by (including beignets just steps away!). This was one of the best vacations we've ever had, and hope we get to do it again soon.

Room Tip: Go to the website and look at the pictures of the rooms. Every one is unique, and if you see a part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvenueInnBB, Owner at Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We were so excited to offer one of our Baby Moon packages to this lovely couple. Glad they had a "last blast" before the big day. We've asked them to send some photos of their newest edition to the family and we hope to see them here again for some R&R, which they will need....Congratulations and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
7,106 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4125 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the centuries old oaks on the famed St. Charles Streetcar line, in the heart of the Uptown/Garden District, guests are only minutes from the French Quarter and the Central Business District. The Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast has 17 beautifully appointed guest rooms, each featuring hardwood floors, high ceilings, updated private baths, cable TV, telephones with voice mail and data ports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Inn b&b
Avenue Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing