We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast of trip and in quarter!”
Review of Jimmy J's Cafe

Jimmy J's Cafe
Ranked #60 of 1,991 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: N'awlins' Funkiest Lil' Cafe, Jimmy J's serves breakfast all day, soup, salad, sandwiches, po'boys, hot plates and burgers. Signature dishes such as the Eggs Tuscan Style, French Toast Monte Cristo, and the Chicken & Andouille Gumbo are just some of the delicious reasons to visit one of the best cafe's in New Orleans. Open 7 days a week from 7 am - 11 pm. Delivery available.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stopped in for breakfast last day of vacation, wish we had come here earlier in week so we could have eaten here more.
Prices are super reasonable for the food you're served.
She had the cochon (pork) breakfast burrito. With dueling salsa and to many flavors to list!
I had the truffle and egg croissant, with home fries. Actual truffle shavings, a spring micro green salad was also included.
A ridiculously good breakfast for the price.
The one waiter is a hoot and does comedy while cajoling with the patrons.
A must, for breakfast, while visiting the French Quarter.

Thank sunshineandbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy_Js_Cafe, Owner at Jimmy J's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thanks for the review and recommendation. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your meals and found them to be reasonably priced. We always aim to give our customers a great dining experience and good food for their money.

Come back and visit us again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,163 - 1,167 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

Small, quaint cafe, they have a small menu but too many items to pick from -- healthy to non-healthy! So even though we were only there for a long weekend over Jazz Fest, we had to eat their twice. There was a line to get in but service is great and you do not have to wait a long time. Recommend anything on their menu.

Thank JuleVacationTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy_Js_Cafe, Owner at Jimmy J's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

We're glad you managed to pop by our little cafe a few times during your visit for Jazz Fest. It's also great to hear that you enjoyed both the service and your meals while you were here. Thanks for the review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

I loved the decor, the service was awesome and the food was very unique and flavorful! Definitely a must for your next trip to NOLA!

Thank Misstery1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy_Js_Cafe, Owner at Jimmy J's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thanks for popping by our restaurant during your visit to NOLA. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our unique decor and meals. Thanks for the recommendation and review. Come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My daughter was attending a conference at the Marriott and while waiting for Mimi to arrive
to take care of 4 year old grandson, she went for breakfast at Jimmy J's. The fact that they
would make a one pancake order ( very reasonably priced) was kindness enough. What was
even more wonderful was the waitstaff's welcoming attitude toward a little stranger. The next
morning Mimi accompanied Logan there for breakfast and Jeffrey(our server) greeted him by name as if Logan were a visiting dignitary. Ronnie the chef had his one pancake order almost
ready and waiting. That morning I ordered the Brandy Glazed Brie Stuffed French Toast with
Bacon. I have eaten breakfast all over the world but THIS was out of this world. The next
morning was a repeat performance. I want to personally thank Jeffrey and everyone else
at Jimmy J's who demonstrated to my grandson the value of human kindness. If anyone
reading this goes there, tell them Logan says "hi."

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank naturalbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy_Js_Cafe, Owner at Jimmy J's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We loved having you here! We say "Hi!" to Logan as well, and hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This restaurant was suggested by the concierge of our hotel. It was a great choice for early breakfast (before 9 a.m.) since it`s easy to have a table. A small restaurant, but a great service and great food and an extensive menu. We had omelets (vegetables & Western Style) along with potatoes (so good). The plates are big and the prices are good. Fresh orange juice, coffee, etc. We had a window view (not so much to see/street parking). I would suggest a table in the back if you don`t want to have people looking at you and your plate, but again it`s a smaller restaurant. We`ve seen a line outside during the day, but usually the line goes quickly because the service is fast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sweethummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy_Js_Cafe, Owner at Jimmy J's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your omelettes for breakfast and that you found the service prices to be good as well!

Thanks for the review and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy J's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy J's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing