We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but obnoxious customer service.”
Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #45 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location but obnoxious customer service.”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed: December 2012.
1 King bed.

Pros:
- Large bathroom.
- Spacious bedroom & sitting room.
- Shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, shower cap & grooming kit provided.
- Good location. Walking distance to restaurants & nightlife on Bourbon Street.
- Living room has a couch & a chair.
- 2 tv's total.

Cons:
- No in room safe.
- Poor bathroom ventilation.
- Housekeeping incident. 8.15am Housekeeping arrived. We asked them to return in 1 hour. They never returned. 5.50pm requested clean towels & for trash to be removed. 6.10pm called to follow up. 6.15pm staff came with 5 towels & 4 face washers, 1 of which was filthy. He gave us a lot of bad attitude when we requested removal of dirty towels & trash. 6.20pm called Guest Services to complain. 6.25pm a different staff member returned with hand towels & a much better attitude. He empties the trash & gives us extra cups. Situation was resolved. However communication between Guest Services & staff may need improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meandmyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. Please accept my apologies regarding the housekeeping incident...I'll be sure to review it with the department.. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit to the Whitney better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    426
    141
    46
    22
See reviews for
216
449
64
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The hotel overall is in a good location- 4 blocks to Harrah's, 3 blocks to Canal Street. I liked the remodeled bank decor. Looking at the safe was really neat. The rooms were nicely decorated. I did not like the $33 valet fee especially when my car sat on the street - exactly where I parked it. The hotel has no drop-off or pick-up area, so if multiple people arrive at the same time it can be very congested at the enter acne and on the street. The common areas are not very well cleaned- someone dropped food in the hallway, by morning the food tray was gone, but the food was still there.

The front desk lady on the night staff was greAt. She gave us directions everywhere we needed to go suggested place for food.
This was very average

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations but we'll use this information to provide better services in the future. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to hear about your visit.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great. I shared a room with a friend andthe room was big and spacious! The location was great, within walking ddistance from everything we needed including walking to burbon street!

The room was clean, tv great and had everything we needed!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank casey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you for your review of the Whitney Hotel in New Orleans! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate the feedback. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit to the Whitney better, please don't hesitate to let us know. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Cleanliness is my biggest concern when booking hotels and the Whitney disappointed. Not only was there a "glob" of hair in the shower that was not my own, but the bathroom floor was extremely dirty (it was so sticky that I had to lay towels down to walk on).
The bed was actually very clean and comfortable though, so that was a relief. It was not far from the French Quarter and was in walking distance to several restaurants.
This hotel is not worth the price and I would choose a different hotel if we ever visit New Orleans again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2017
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations but we'll use this information to provide better services in the future. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to hear about your visit.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 163 in New Orleans
2,258 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#31 of 163 in New Orleans
703 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,387 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Property: The Whitney Hotel
Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing