We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff. Great Location. So Clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Alanya, Antalya, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff. Great Location. So Clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I had been there for 4 nights and really loved my stay there. The staff working there are so familiar. Helpful in the cases the guest have sone question or so.
The price of hotel is just perfect.
If you are in a business trip chose Whitney. :-)

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and for staying at the Whitney Wyndham Hotel. I'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our staff. We look forward to serving you again so please don't hesitate to contact us when you're coming back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    396
    125
    38
    21
See reviews for
197
412
61
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here for a few days while on a conference. I made the mistake of booking through the conference site, which meant I paid more than what I would have paid if I booked independently. And it was supposed to be a group special rate! So, negotiate the rate when you book and look at different options in booking.

The hotel itself was fine, especially if you like antiques. It's old and in fact it used to be a bank. So the layout is rather awkward for a hotel. My room had some steps to go down in order to reach the bedroom, which is quite inconvenient if you have luggage.

The staff was probably the best thing about the hotel. They were very helpful and polite. I had to change my dates because my airline made some changes to my flight, and they were flexible in re-arranging everything. In all, it's a nice place, short distance to French quarter, but don't plan to spend too much time in the hotel. Just go there to sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sky6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the accommodations and the staff here at the Whitney Wyndham Hotel. I'll pass this information along to the team. Please let us know if you need any assistance during your return trip to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I took my son to Comic-con for his birthday. The WWH was booked solid, but Michael still tried to upgrade our room(for free) to a double. The room was very nice, quiet-which is difficult to get in Nola and the BR was huge with a large walk in shower. We kept our car (the entire time parked right out in front of the hotel-free parking, that's also hard to find in Nola. The staff were all so friendly, and helpful, especially, Michael, the Concierge/front desk host. Thank you WWH. we had a wonderful time. Tracy Hauversburk. PCB. FL.

Room Tip: Ask for Michael/Concierge, he will help with everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding Michael. I'll be sure to pass this along to him and his Manager. We look forward to seeing you again at the Whitney Wyndham Hotel.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and were barely in the room. Although what this hotel offered was sufficient for our stay, it is definitely not worth the money. We had a few issues. We had zero hot water in our shower in the morning. But the sink's hot water was working perfectly. We called the front desk and we were told to see if the temps were reversed on the shower knob and turn it to cold and see if it got hot. Obviously that wasn't the problem, we just didn't have hot water. It was a busy weekend and I understand the hotel was probably full. But why have so many rooms if you don't have the equipment to handle them? The shower drain was also clogged pretty badly. That's always a nice addition to a cold shower, standing in a foot of cold water as well.
The valet service will make you nervous. They goof around and argue at the valet stand. That really makes you want to hand over your keys and let them drive your car away to who knows where.
The man at the front desk was polite. But he is the only employee to be found. Any time we had a question or when we wanted to check out it was a 20 minute wait behind everyone else. And the whole time you're standing there waiting you never see another employee.

They did offer to hold our bags so we could do some exploring after we checked out.

Overall this hotel is not worth the price. If I'm going to sleep on hard beds without decent pillows and have to take a cold shower and deal with a non-working drain I don't expect to be paying $450 a night. We will look elsewhere for a hotel next time we visit.

Also, I'm not sure if it states while booking but the room did not have a mini fridge or microwave.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Em0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I'm very sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about them and we'll certainly do our part to rectify the issues. Again, please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations and feel free to call me if you'd like to discuss the matter.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This was my 5 or 6 visit to Nola. Different hotel each time. This was the best hotel room yet. We stayed in a queen suite. Was very clean. No smells like most other hotels in the area. The couch made into a bed with a tv in the sitting room for the kids and the bedroom had a tv and doors that closed so it was like having two rooms.. Awesome for a family with kids. Staff was friendly.
The valet Servise needs attention. Wasn't very bad for me, but was for others there including our friends. Only 1 person working and the garage was a mile away. he had to walk mile to go get 1 car at a time, drive back then walk a mile again. Very slow service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank William501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for the great praise and for the feedback regarding the valet. I'll certainly share this with the staff. Don't hesitate to call us when you find your way back to New Orleans, we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for a conference during the late spring. Ok hotel in a fairly safe location. The accommodations were a little small, but expected considering the era in which it was originally built. No frills or details spent on the room furnishings. Some of the fixtures could use updating, but main utilities (internet, television) worked fine for business purposes. The downstairs lobby had some neat historic features (a old bank vault had been converted into a room, etc.). Overall, is was an ok place to stay, but did not offer any extra comforts like room service, etc. that one could expect to receive at a newer, standard 4-star hotel (J.W., Hyatt, etc.) or modern 3-star hotels (Holiday Inn, Courtyard, etc.).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for your candid feedback. We'll use this information to create a better customer experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Property: The Whitney Hotel
Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing