We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Whitney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Whitney Hotel
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    396
    125
    38
    21
See reviews for
197
412
60
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and were barely in the room. Although what this hotel offered was sufficient for our stay, it is definitely not worth the money. We had a few issues. We had zero hot water in our shower in the morning. But the sink's hot water was working perfectly. We called the front desk and we were told to see if the temps were reversed on the shower knob and turn it to cold and see if it got hot. Obviously that wasn't the problem, we just didn't have hot water. It was a busy weekend and I understand the hotel was probably full. But why have so many rooms if you don't have the equipment to handle them? The shower drain was also clogged pretty badly. That's always a nice addition to a cold shower, standing in a foot of cold water as well.
The valet service will make you nervous. They goof around and argue at the valet stand. That really makes you want to hand over your keys and let them drive your car away to who knows where.
The man at the front desk was polite. But he is the only employee to be found. Any time we had a question or when we wanted to check out it was a 20 minute wait behind everyone else. And the whole time you're standing there waiting you never see another employee.

They did offer to hold our bags so we could do some exploring after we checked out.

Overall this hotel is not worth the price. If I'm going to sleep on hard beds without decent pillows and have to take a cold shower and deal with a non-working drain I don't expect to be paying $450 a night. We will look elsewhere for a hotel next time we visit.

Also, I'm not sure if it states while booking but the room did not have a mini fridge or microwave.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Em0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
I'm very sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay with us. Thank you for letting us know about them and we'll certainly do our part to rectify the issues. Again, please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations and feel free to call me if you'd like to discuss the matter.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

This was my 5 or 6 visit to Nola. Different hotel each time. This was the best hotel room yet. We stayed in a queen suite. Was very clean. No smells like most other hotels in the area. The couch made into a bed with a tv in the sitting room for the kids and the bedroom had a tv and doors that closed so it was like having two rooms.. Awesome for a family with kids. Staff was friendly.
The valet Servise needs attention. Wasn't very bad for me, but was for others there including our friends. Only 1 person working and the garage was a mile away. he had to walk mile to go get 1 car at a time, drive back then walk a mile again. Very slow service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank William501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for the great praise and for the feedback regarding the valet. I'll certainly share this with the staff. Don't hesitate to call us when you find your way back to New Orleans, we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for a conference during the late spring. Ok hotel in a fairly safe location. The accommodations were a little small, but expected considering the era in which it was originally built. No frills or details spent on the room furnishings. Some of the fixtures could use updating, but main utilities (internet, television) worked fine for business purposes. The downstairs lobby had some neat historic features (a old bank vault had been converted into a room, etc.). Overall, is was an ok place to stay, but did not offer any extra comforts like room service, etc. that one could expect to receive at a newer, standard 4-star hotel (J.W., Hyatt, etc.) or modern 3-star hotels (Holiday Inn, Courtyard, etc.).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and for your candid feedback. We'll use this information to create a better customer experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Can't speak about the hotel as i never got to stay here. Booked well in advance but had to cancel my trip. Again gave 2 months notice that i needed to cancel and althought the standard policy was no refund and thats the answer i got from customer service i contacted the manager directly and he approved the full refund no charge in about 5 minutes. Great to see the manager understood changes to plans. I wouldn't have expected it to be possible given a shorter notice period. Will stay here if i ever get to make it to new orleans.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColesyOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
It was good speaking with you and thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor. We hope you'll consider staying with us when you come back to New Orleans.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Whitney Wyndham to attend a performance at The Saenger Theater. The hotel itself was OK (larger bath, small room, historic decor in the restaurant and lobby), not great. It was a little out of the way from the French Quarter, but in warmer weather it would not be an issue for those wanting to take advantage of the French Quarter Restaurants and activities. The hotel staff was nice, but did not go out of their way to make you feel welcome. My husband and I were warned by other visitors NOT to order breakfast in the beautiful restaurant because the service was so slow. Our greatest complaint was the valet service. We waited 1 hour to receive our car via the valet. Evidently the garage where our car was parked was located several blocks away and the 1 valet literally ran over to the garage, drove a car back to the hotel for the waiting guest then ran back to the garage for the next car. When I complained to the hotel clerk he offered no help stating the valet service is operated "independently." Sad that this was our last impression of this hotel and we will not chose to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickiannp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitneyGM, General Manager at The Whitney Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for not exceeding your expectations. I'll share your comments with our valet staff.

Sincerely,
Casey A. Callais
General Manager
ccallais@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#51 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitney Hotel

Property: The Whitney Hotel
Address: 610 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3314 (Formerly The Whitney Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#38 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitney Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 93 guest rooms and suites, our intimate New Orleans hotel provides an urban escape in New Orleans' downtown. Each room has enough space to relax or to work, offering ergonomic chairs, pillowtop mattresses and plush linens. Outfitted with traditional-style furniture, our beautiful rooms are cozy and quiet thanks to the historic building's thick walls. Guests love the convenient amenities and services, including complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel, newspaper and complimentary bottles of artesian water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Whitney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitney Hotel Wyndham Historic
Wyndham New Orleans
New Orleans Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing