We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG BAND NIGHT!”
Review of Mojitos Rum Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Mojitos Rum Bar & Grill
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Mojitos Rum Bar & Grill is the friendly place on Frenchmen wherepeople come for great Creole inspired Caribbean influenced food, handcrafted cocktails, and live local music. Guests enjoy the lush green courtyard, one of the largest in the French Quarter, with its expansive bar and gurgling fountain. The owners have worked hard to create a welcoming place to relax and enjoy wonderful food and drink that isn’t found in every tourist place in the Quarter. The collection of artisanal aged rums, for tasting or blending into favorite cocktails, grows weekly.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“BIG BAND NIGHT!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Our first stop past the French Quarters and it was SO worth it! Loved this part of the city for it's music and food better than the French Quarters.... It reminded me of how New Orleans used to be. We stumbled on this restaurant one evening just walking around. A 3pc jazz band was playing in the patio and it was pretty good. We came back the next night to listen to big band music. It was nippy so the band was inside the restaurant. We order food, pretty good! The band was good, it is always a treat to be in front of a live band. Totally worth a try!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank papuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    38
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went to a latin band”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Latin band on Sunday night. Awesome dance hall with lots of room to move. Some great dancers on the floor! the drinks were good and not too pricey for a tourist joint. If you want a lot of horn in your cuban/latin music...get to Mojitos!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mthockeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“latin inspired food & Music”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great menu, nice live music, best mojitos....they were out of a few items- but only on one occasion. Definitely stop in for a mojito, they are delicious!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckmclements
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We literally just walked back into our room from Mojitos, and I didn't want to wait to write this review. I can't say enough good things about this restaurant. It opens earlier than most, so we were there at 5. It wasn't terribly busy at that time, but there were still a few people at tables out on the patio, and one of two bands was already playing. The service was outstanding, the drink selection was great, the food was awesome...I just don't know what else I can say! It's one is definitely one we hope to be able to return to on our next trip to NOLA!

Helpful?
1 Thank ckmclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“They finally got it right!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This perfectly situated restaurant at the corner of Esplanade and Frenchmen, with it's cool, green-walled courtyard and tile roof, has gone through more incarnations than a Tibetan lama, but somehow the food/atmosphere/entertainment never quite matched the location. No longer the case. We decided to give the new guys a chance, and we are glad we did. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, the "happy three hours" drinks and appies a bargain (and darned tasty, too), and the atmosphere relaxed and comfortable. (Even in the rain -- we just moved under the eaves.) We were so impressed we went back for Sunday brunch with our daughter -- a local and tough critic. All of us thoroughly enjoyed the duo (joined by visiting clarinetist Dave Reid) and were impressed by the great brunch items. Couldn't be happier with the way this place is shaping up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mojitos Rum Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing