We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Okay for the price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Okay for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a decent budget- class motel in a very good location--during the daylight hours. After dark, the neighborhood is sketchy. Rooms are nicely equipped with no frills; housekeeping was just so-so.

Front desk staff was very nice.

Nothing special here but the relatively low rate. But that's the whole point of a budget motel, right?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4richer4poorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    470
    167
    45
    37
See reviews for
263
453
43
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We loved our stay at the hotel. The staff was efficient, friendly and the room was clean. I was expecting a less than great, run of the mill hotel room with no character. We were surprised. We got out of the cab and the first impression was... Meeh. We went inside the lobby and were pleasantly wrong. Nice lobby, a fully stocked bar/lounge area with places to sit, lounge and eat. Cozy dark tavern look. They have a very nice computer station for guests as well. We checked in and went to our room. Walking into the courtyard to access our room was very very nice. The courtyard and pool area was well kept and beautiful. There were many people lounging in the courtyard and having a great time. We went to our room and felt like just started our trip. The room felt comfortable, 3 pillows per bed, clean shower/toilet area. Coffee maker (not used) and blow dryer were available. The rooms were dark and cozy taking on the mystery of New Orleans. Sleeping in the bed was a pleasant surprise and woke up feeling ready to tackle the French Quarter. The breakfast that was provided by the hotel was adequate. Just enough to get you out the door. Eggs, Sausage, biscuits, waffles, toast, pastries, cereal, yogurt and apples. The next day, they had Bacon and home fries instead of the sausage and biscuits. The coffee was great and they also offered Tea, orange juice and apple juice. This hotel is just right. Not too far and not too close to Bourbon Street. It was 7 to 8 minute walk to Bourbon St. We were able to explore all of the French Quarter from the hotel. The kept our luggage for us after check out and helped get a cab. All of the staff were friendly and always smiling. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melonie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Unfortunately, this hotel was a thorough disappointment. While I could not fault the staff, who were all friendly and welcoming, the state of the hotel was somewhat disappointing.

The swimming pool was filthy with a layer of scum/grime on the surface.

Our bathroom shower was covered in other people's hair and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in 6months. Unfortunately the shower was very weak indeed with no pressure and the water often ran cold.

The room was also dirty, despite the the towels and sheets being clean.

A/C unit was incredibly noisy and had to be switched off at night (sounded like a motorbike pulling away). Very dark rooms, despite the window - primarily because of the dark furniture and wallpaper which absorbed all of the light.

Breakfast was poor with only a couple of options.

It was great that takeaways could be ordered to the hotel.

Great location - short walk to the French market and the river front. 10min (if that) walk to Bourbon Street and Royal. A good 30minute walk to Canal Street.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard if you can. (The pool area). Quite picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here pre-cruise. First time in NOLA. I had no idea what to expect! When we first got off the shuttle I was nervous. First site: shady looking drunk guys. yikes! Going into hotel and being greeted by a very warm, friendly ,and big smile alleviated this a bit, The woman at the front desk was just the best! So personable ,knowledgeable and friendly! I wish I had her name!. Lobby area is nice. Bar area is in the lobby, but never had more than 4 people in it Court yard with a pool and a fountain is lovely, The room is smaller than I thought . Stale smoke smell despite the signs that state smoke free. I brought room freshener's anyway, fridge , over-sized tv, coffee maker ,plenty of pillows. Bathroom is lovely. Newly tiled. Walk in shower,The Hotel itself is in the absolute perfect area. Far enough from Bourbon street and close enough to everything! You can walk to anywhere from this hotel! Canal street, St Louis cemetery, the riverside , Cafe du Monde, Bourbon street ,St Charles streetcar .What is great it that you get away from the insanity of Bourbon ! We walked the entire trip. Breakfast is free every am,and the waffle machine rocks! This is not a five star hotel , but it is not a typical best western either! It is quaint ,in a perfect location with fantastic staff! It is clean , kept up, and far enough from craziness. you can experience NOLA . Now looking back to my very first impression(shady guys) After being here and walking the entire quarter I remembered "this is new orleans" ! its a city with all the city problems and those guys were nothing compared to what else you will see! If I ever get a chance to visit New Orleans I will def stay here again !

Room Tip: We were in 347 last room, top floor,tucked in the back ,nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gizelda196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
468 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here because of the rates. The lobby and rooms have been recently updated and are nice. ,I always say a hotel is good if there are basics: comfy bed, clean and good shower/bath facilities, breakfast included (more than just toast), and good location.

This BW has them all....not directly IN the French Quarter, but within walking distance...the breakfast was good....scambled eggs, toast, waffles, sausage....cereal...not just a Continental.

Room was roomy, nicely decorated, with a HUGE TV. Big shower( no bath tub) with rain shower...excellent!

The front desk staff was nice, kept my luggage for me on an early check-in as well as a late check-out....they even called for the airport shuttle outside of the deadline...

Room Tip: I had a double-double with shower...entry from outside...but there are quite a few options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great stay in this good looking hotel. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly.
The rooms itself are a little bit depressing with all the dark brown used in furniture and on the walls but we enjoyed our stay.

Do not forget to visit the Good Friends Bar nearby. Great atmosphere over there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henwen1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

These rooms are small, but usually relatively cheap. Breakfast is included but it ends at 9:30 so we didn't get much of it. The people who worked the desk were great--very friendly and helpful. At first we thought this might be a bad location but it's far enough away from bourbon street to not be noisy and sort of equidistant from most things in the quarter. It's also near St. Louis Cemetery #1, which we just walked to.

The courtyard and pool area is very nice.

My main issue would be that no one ever cleaned our rooms during our stay except for once. We were out of the room fairly early, and even saw the maids cleaning other rooms far later in the afternoon, but never ours. There was also no Do Not Disturb sign.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennybento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#76 of 163 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#35 of 163 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 163 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Address: 920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing