We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Ranked #59 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

It might be a little far from the major attractions, but if you stop by somewhere else on the way, you won't feel it's far at all. It is convenient to us. The park across the street is nice (Armstrong). There is also a conveniences store and a laundry place nearby. It's not far from Bourbon street, so it's easy to get nice food. The breakfast of the hotel is very nice. It is an old hotel but it keeps the unique southern style quite well. The room is relatively smaller but it looks it was newly renovated. Overall, it's a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soleilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    512
    182
    51
    38
See reviews for
302
490
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stumbled upon this hotel when planning a stay in the French Quarter this past week. Located on the fringe on the Quarter on Rampart St. Very pleasant, helpful, friendly staff allowed a somewhat early check-in and assisted with parking which was at a premium. Rooms were clean and very decent albeit a wee bit small. Very nice courtyard surrounding a pool and a very nice free breakfast which was complete and very tasty. I would recommend and stay here again in a minute. No complaints.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard....which, in New Orleans, just "might" be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stayed for a week for Jazz Fest. Room appeared to have been updated and clean. I do agree with others that room was on the small side but I think the size would be ok for a couple. Courtyard was nice but very few loungers so several times during our stay there was none available. I didnt mind the free breakfast, I grabbed a bagel/cream cheese and tea every morning for free and it did save us some cash for the week. Free shuttle brought us to festival grounds everyday but on some days it was a long wait and we ended up getting a cab. The reason I would recommend passing on this place is I didnt care for the location and we did not get a great deal. Yes everything is within walking distance but why not stay in the heart of the french quarter with real NOLA charm for the same price? I know now after doing some research to book a trip back for Jazz Fest that we over paid to be in an "iffy" location. For less $ we just book an apartment with a balcony overlooking Bourban, people watching here I come! I am also looking forward to having a kitchen since our room at The Best West didnt have a mini fridge for yummy left overs or to keep beverages cold.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have stayed at many Best Westerns but this one takes the cake, it completely embellished the French Quarter look and feel by its natural charm and courtyard. For an older building we were surprised at how modern the accommodations were. The rooms were beautifully decorated with New Orleans artwork, the bath was gussied up with marble, granite and a spacious glass shower with rain nozzle. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and we enjoyed the 40" plasma tv. Breakfast in the morning was your typical waffle-eggs-sausage with selections of yogurt and breads and danish. There was construction in the courtyard but it wasn't loud from where our room was located.

The location is less than a 10 minute walk to Bourbon street so for the money it was worth staying here. I do want to stay directly in the French Quarter next time but we were very pleased at the Best Western.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Stayed here for just a few days but had a great time in New Orleans. The walk to Bourban street is easy and not too far just watch out for the uneven sidewalks in the French Quarter. The staff was helpful and courteous and I couldn't have been happier with the room. Clean, well appointed and a great view of the private courtyard and pool.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the rooms overlooking the courtyard and pool so anything on the courtyard side is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We took a 3 day trip to New Orleans and wanted to stay close to the French Quarter without spending an arm and a leg. I mean how long are you going to be in the room anyway? The rooms were not huge, but they were clean and the beds were very comfortable. This is an old restored building which has lots of charm. The elevators are tiny and there is a nice courtyard with a pool and seating areas. (we were there in the winter) They offer a free continental breakfast, including eggs, sausage, biscuits and more. The bartender was friendly and very helpful with local attractions. They have free WI-FI and a small business center that makes it handy to print your boarding passes. The hotel is just a few blocks from Bourbon Street, and is far enough that you don't have to listen to all the noise. They do have an airport shuttle, BUT you must reserve it at least 24 hours in advance. If only the front desk had told us this little detail, we could have saved some money. I would stay here again on a future visit.

Room Tip: try to avoid a room near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeptuneHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We loved this Hotel, it has everything, location, good size rooms, clean, bar, courtyard and great helpful staff. We especially liked Todd's margarita's, (The best in New Orleans!) Tracy at the front desk was also very helpful with finding a rental car company for us, and would recommend Nifty to anyone. The location is great close to the French Market, Jackson Square, all the attractions are within walking distance. Would also recommend Coops' Place for dinner, and the Fleur de Lis for Breakfast/Brunch. Thanks everyone at the Hotel for making us feel welcome in New Orleans:)) The free breakfast (while plain/simple) is also a bonus. Go to Frenchman street for the best Jazz Bands and the Apple Barrel pub, which also has a yummy Italian restaurant above, and you have to go to the Clover Grill for the best hamburgers in town.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard which was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
1,510 reviews
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
1,668 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#115 of 162 in New Orleans
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Address: 920 N Rampart Street, New Orleans, LA 70116-3011 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus French Quarter Landmark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing