We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but wouldn't stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #101 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location but wouldn't stay again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed here over Mardi Gras 2010 and were happy with the location and proximity to the French Quarter and the legendary Bourbon Street but far enough away to not hear it!
The room was adequate but when we arrived had not been cleaned, stank of smoke, yellow stains on sheet and tissues on the floor. It had no outside window and as we were next to the lift and Ice Machine was noisy when other guests came back in the early hours! After the 1st night the room was cleaned and was much better!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danpearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We apologize for some of the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff has already been made aware of these issues and since your last stay with us 7 months ago, they have been rectified. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next visit more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    735
    407
    183
    142
See reviews for
424
711
92
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

This hotel has one of the best locations you could ask for...within walking distance to just about everything! And if you get tired of walking, the nearby trolly is a great way to get around! The room here was very clean and the employees very pleasant.The only thing I would say was missing was a pool~wouldve been nice in the humidity,but with all of the interesting things to do in New Orleans you may not find the time for it anyway!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjmami137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you for the wonderful review! If you decide to visit us again, remind us of this review and we will try to come up with at least 50 things you can do while you're in New Orleans...including a nearby swimming pool =).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Allen, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel has a very open floor plan and GREAT ventilation. Lots of New Orleans hotels are dry and stuffy. I could actually breathe at night. Staff very friendly, rooms clean and inviting. Only drawback was garage...I own an Expedition...too large for garage...top rails hit ceiling. Will come back in smaller vehicle. Will return later in the month for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexuslady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
As always, a big thank you to all our repeat hotel guests! We look forward to seeing you next time you come stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

i thoroughly enjoyed my stay here at the Baronne Plaza Hotel. Although i was here on business the hotel was located in a GREAT location, close to major tourist attractions (Bourbon St, Aquarium, Convention Center ect.) The room was spacious and clean. The only issue i had was with the time housekeeping came to clean. I always seemed to have bad timing LOL! All in all the staff was a great help in providing directions and assistanting with transportation needs. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Toni V

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvalent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!! If you decide to stay with us next time, please notify us ahead of time and we can work something out with the housekeeping department so there won't be any inconvenience issues =). Thank you again for the wonderful review as well as your recommendation to other prospective hotel guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

The hotel is great. I especially liked its location which is not even 5 minutes walk from Bourbon Street. The French quarter and most of the museums are also walking distance. The service was great, the staff was friendly. Very clean hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! On behalf of our entire staff, we hope you come back and visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed for a long weekend 7/29 - 8/1 at Baronne Plaza - now called Wyndham Garden. Because it's not actually in the French Qtr it is much quieter than many other nearby places, but being only 1 block from Canal it's an easy walk over there. Also - just one block from stop for St. Charles Streetcar. The lobby and hall decor is art deco and very fresh and new feeling (despite it formerly being a Sears store in the 1930's). Our room (2 dbl beds) was very updated with great beds (Tempurpedic mattress and pillows I think) and flat screen TV on wall. The only drawer space were 2 small drawers under bench area but that was OK for this being just a weekend stay. Bathroom was also recently updated. Breakfast was not included although they do offer a continental breakfast in the lobby but we ate elsewhere. Self parking in the garage was $20 per night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mborofix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful news to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for your detailed description of our newly remodeled rooms. Please come visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Very close walk to the French Quarter. Very nice decor in the rooms and the beds are amazing. We slept like babies! We had a street view room and the road noise wasn't bad, either. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlydubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you so much for you positive review as well as posting some pictures for other guests to view. We have recently changed a lot of our hotel amenities since your last stay so if you ever need further lodging accomodations, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be more than happy to assist you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#56 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#71 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#27 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing