We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #100 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
A TripAdvisor Member
albany, ny
212
Reviewed May 9, 2005

I have stayed at the Baronne Plaza for the past three years during Jazz Fest. It's location is close to the French Quarter, streetcar, and 24 hour Walgreens. I have had no problems with noise, staff or cleanliness.
This was my tenth time to New Orleans and believe me it is find in a city of steadily rising hotel prices.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,175 - 2,181 of 2,268 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore
13
Reviewed May 6, 2005

The service was terrible. I checked out the first night that I stayed there. Due to the fact that the trip was booked through Expedia, and due to the fact that the hotel claimed that I stayed there the whole trip, I was never refunded my money.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive.

We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff members so we can make the necessary changes and hopefully, win back your business in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
315
Reviewed April 28, 2005

We stayed here for 4 nights in the week leading up to Jazzfest in April. Seriously, I can't understand the negative reviews that have been posted here, because the Baronne was one of the nicest hotels we stayed at ANYWHERE in the US. Sure, a lot of the rooms don't have outside windows, but that was a bonus for us - kept out the street noise and the light in the mornings! Not that there was any street noise - it's just far away enough from Bourbon St to be nice and quiet, but close enought to be convenient. And as someone else pointed out, the 24hr Walgreens a block away is a definite bonus. No complaints at all about cleanliness or housekeeping - our room was cleaned every day, and when the flush lever on our toilet broke, it was fixed within an hour of us telling them. Architecturally, I loved it! The restaurant attached is great, more than just a cafe. And the desk staff we dealt with were all absolutely lovely (especially Kathleen), and did everything they could to help, booking tours for us and calling to sort out a problem we had with the airport shuttle at 4 a.m.! It felt like a much more expensive hotel to us, and we won't hesitate to stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review as well as the recommendation! Hearing positive feedback such as yours really makes our day! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2005

I normally do not write reviews for anything, but my experience at the Baronne was so terrible, that I want to warn anyone that may be considering this as an option for a New Orleans trip !
I stayed there for Mardi Gras in 2004. I have stayed in approximately 10 different New Orleans hotels on my visits to the Big Easy.
This is the worst - by far. I understand that most hotels use wristbands during Mardi Gras, and I have never had a problem with this. When we checked in on Thursday, the wristbands were not ready, we were told to come back later. I went and obtained mine the next day, but the front desk staff would not let me get the ones for my 3 friends that were listed guests in the room as they had to get them for themselves.
*
When my friends tried to get them later, they were told that the replacement fee was $50 per wristband, even though they had never picked up the original. The desk personnel threatened to call the cops if we tried to enter our hotel without the wristbands. Luckily they were horribly understaffed and had no way of preventing access to the hotel.
The valet was also horrible, it took 40 minutes to retrieve my vehicle on Friday morning.
*
In summary, stay at the Alexa or Marriott, they are both great.
*
If you are looking for low prices for a room, you are better off to take a cab to Metarie or sleep on the street. They could not pay me to come back !!!

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCarroll95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive.

We will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff members so we can make the necessary changes and hopefully, win back your business in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Virginia
19
Reviewed April 4, 2005

I just came back from New Orleans. The hotel is not high class but its nice. Its a great price and a great location. If you want to be near the quarter but not in the chaos then its the place to stay. Its only a minute walk from Bourbon Street. The hotel is clean and nice in the inside. It is like a Hampton Inn hotel as far as I am concerned. Just a nice clean hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2005

I stayed at the Baronne Plaza this past week and enjoyed my stay very much. The room was large and clean with nice windows. The hotel is very unique on the outside and has incredible architectural details on the inside, (stained glass, marble, etc.) The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bistro downstairs has great food.
Being located only 1 1/2 blocks from the quarter made this hotel the best deal for the money. We paid $69 a night, Tues.-Thurs. Well lit, safe neighborhood so that we could walk back and forth to the quarter. Not a very fancy place, but who goes to New Orleans to hang out at the hotel? Perfect for the budget traveler.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Traciwithaneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma
18
Reviewed March 24, 2005

Stayed there for 3 nights with my spouse and the room was clean, quiet, and simple. Not much to complain about since we weren't looking to pay over $100 a night for a room but we never expected that at $70 a night, we were getting a good bargain because the rooms were overall well kept! I'm already thinking about staying at the Baronne next year for Mardi Gras because it's in a good location, and it's not pricey like the Fairmont (don't even get me started on that hotel!!). I would definitely recommend it to occupants who want a simple, clean, and a good priced room. And as for the negative feedback by others on tripadvisor, maybe it just wasn't your luck....but it sure was mine!! =P

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,477 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
Sheraton New Orleans Hotel
#78 of 166 in New Orleans
2,358 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#82 of 166 in New Orleans
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $83 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing