We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
$299
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$273
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$318
$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$233
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$247
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$324
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$381
$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$286
$247
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
$259
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,498)
Filter reviews
2,498 results
Traveler rating
774
849
483
213
179
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
849
483
213
179
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskfrench quarterbourbon streetwindow facingself parktwo blockswithin walking distancecanal stinterior roombeds were comfortablemardi grasgarden districtlobbygarageatriumnolawalgreens
Filter
Updating list...
2,356 - 2,361 of 2,498 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2009

PROS: The rooms were vice nice for the pirce you paid. Be sure to ask for a room with windows facing the exterior (as opposed to the interior of the building). There is a flat screen tv an up-to-date furnishings in the room. The staff were very pleasant and personable. I was having an issue with the TV and telephone in the room at 2am in the morning and they sent maintenance up there to fix it right away.

CONS: Housekeeping has the tendency to nag you when it comes to cleaning the room. If you tell them to come back in and hr or so, they will have front desk call you [again] and inform you that the housekeeper will be leaving at 3pm today, therefore she needed a specific return time. This was quite annoying when someone was tryign to sleep in late. The most troubling experince is the fact the the hallway/lobby/lounge/elevantors smelt VERY stuffy and musty. The air was filled with dust as a result of the renovations going on in the common areas. I would recommned that the hotel use only one elevator for cargo as it is quite an unpleasant experience to ride in such a close-knit space with so much dust.

All in all, if you can bare the few cons of this hotel, I would recommend it as "stayable" for an affordable price. I am sure that the dust issue will be resolved as soon as they complete renovations. It the hotel is also located 2 blocks away from Bourbon Street so it is very convenient. However, the street is very dark and lonely to way to and from the central spots.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear your stay was overall satisfactory, but we will still pass along those noticeable shortcomings to our staff members. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We arrived on a very rainy early afternoon about 3 hours before checkout. With parking the way it is in New Orleans, we really didn't want to have to lug all of our stuff from a parking garage over there in the rain 3 hours later. Went inside to ask directions to a parking garage and an extremely friendly desk clerk told us that there was no problem checking us in early. Told us to leave the car right in front of the hotel and unload and we could take our time. Throughout our two day stay, the front desk personnel were extremely pleasant always taking time to say hi to our kiddos and greet us. The rooms were clean and simple. It was a bit removed from the heart of the French Quarter but it was still relatively easy walking distance even with a 2 year old. Very good experience and this will be my go-to hotel for future New Orleans visits.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antennaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed here March 27th and 28th. The hotel lobby is being updated, so there were some miscellaneous building materials scattered around the corners of the lobby. The receptionist was friendly and the check in went smoothly. Our room was on the third floor and was very clean. The room had been recently updated and had a nice granite bathroom and LCD TV. The bed was soft and comfy. Our room didn't have a window facing outside, it faced into the atrium area. With the blind closed, the room was pitch dark like a cave, so it was nice for sleeping in. The hotel is only two blocks from the corner of Canal and Bourbon St., so it's very convenient to the French Quarter. This hotel doesn't have a pool or restaurant/bar, but it's location makes up for the lack of amenities. We couldn't have asked for a better room for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Wherever we attend our annual large convention, we always look for acceptable less expensive accommodations. The Baronne Hotel 'won out' over all the options we checked. We had 10 executive rooms (9 double and 1 single) for our group.

While it was a longer walking distance to the convention center than we normally prefer, a nearby hotel booked for the convention by the organizing program had a free shuttle provided by the organizers. Taxi fares were not too bad from the convention center, when the shuttle was unavailable.

Because the hotel is converted from a non-hotel use, rooms were not uniform in size. Some of the double rooms were a bit small and perhaps should have been singles. The largest double room did not have hot enough water (it may have been furthest from the water heater on the floor , but is not unique to this hotel -- I have had this happen at other hotels; check your shower when you arrive and switch rooms, if necessary), but the people in the room stayed there, because they liked having a big room. That being said, we were pleased overall with our rooms. The single I had included a bathroom nearly as big as the rest of the room. The bathroom floors are a marble-like material, so can be a bit cold, but it was better than having tile, which can be difficult to keep clean in the recessed edges of each tile. The 'dresser' was four low drawers that had a padded cushion on top for extra seating in the room for visitors -- a nice feature for when our group gathered.

All staff were extremely helpful. Our rooms were clean and the areas outside the rooms were also clean.

All our rooms were interior rooms facing out to an atrium open to all floors, with my room being immediately adjacent to the elevator. There was extra noise as people came and went, but not to the point where it disturbed me once I was asleep. The hotel, however, was not as full as during a more popular time like Mardi Gras. With the location near Bourbon street, one should expect more noise than at a hotel further away -- no big deal.

The beds were the kind you get in the fanciest hotel, soft and comfortable. They were high, so a short person like myself almost needed a footstool to get in my bed. Once there, however, I could have stayed there all day and night.

At night, it was a bit dark for a couple blocks until you reached the main street (Canal), so you might want to walk with someone else, if you don't like less well-lit areas. Construction nearby may have contributed to this being darker than normal. Once the construction is completed there may be more light from the adjacent lot.

The wireless internet did not always work for me, but it was nice it was free when it did work.

We were all pleased with the rate -- less than $100 a night, including all taxes and fees for executive rooms (albeit without microwave or refrigerator).

Next time our convention is in New Orleans, we will definitely check out availability from this hotel. I have a feeling, that as word spreads, availability may go down, but that happens with decent accommodations.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

A Trip to New Orleans for Mardi Gras landed us in a horrible hotel.(Read review on Canal Street Hotel) The next morning, my friend started making phone calls to area hotels hoping to find a vacancy. The Baronne Plaza Hotel had a vacancy that is reserved for emergencies. After hearing of our predicament, Cynthia, The desk clerk at this hotel not only came to our aid but did everything possible to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
The hotel itself is unbelievable. Apparently it was once the old Sears store now being redone as a hotel. It Is Beautiful inside!!
The location is great for walking everywhere downtown and in the French Quarters.The Rooms are spacious and clean and the housekee[ping staff really know their stuff.
I am a picky traveler, but this hotel gets a great review from me:}
And Cynthia, thanks for saving our vacation:}
Glinda reynolds

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepen-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews