We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a regular hotel room but the deal was amazing. BYRON is why we are here.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #94 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Just a regular hotel room but the deal was amazing. BYRON is why we are here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

WG Baronne is a nice hotel for the deal that we received (I wouldn't pay over $120 a night for it honestly.) The staff was amazing to my wife and me, but one employee stood out like no other. The front door concierge Byron was everything but average, this young man was exceptional! He helped us as soon as we arrived, and even flagged down a taxi at the last minute for us. On our last day we were about to leave a monetary thanks for him, but unfortunately he only works evening shift. WYNDHAM PLEASE PROMOTE THIS YOUNG MAN FOR HIS ASSISTANCE WAS BEYOND AMAZING!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
On behalf of Byron and the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    673
    372
    158
    126
See reviews for
379
631
81
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel with my family. The furniture in the lobby, on the floors, and in the rooms was old. The carpet in our room was dirty; the room smelled like mildew; the room was damp the entire time; and there was mold in the ceiling in the bathroom. In addition, something under the bed smelled horrible but we were not able to figure out what it was. We attempted to spend more time out of the room than in because it was so uncomfortable. This will be our first and last. Is it to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcastlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
All guests complaints are resolved within a timely manner as long as our management team is given the opportunity. Unfortunately, it appears this was not the case because if you were truly unhappy with your stay, we could have released you from you reservation without penalty. Also, due to the lack of information you provided in your review, our management team can not respond further.

Most of our hotel guests have a wonderful experience and it is unfortunate yours was not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice place to stay in New Orleans. Walking distance to French Quarter, Canal Street, and World War II museum. Room was clean . Unfortunately not sound proof. Neighbors had tv on so loud it was distracting. Thankfully they were only there one day. Staff was helpful with food suggestions. Good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duhkluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
239 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel is Beautiful...But when booking they did not say anything about the 35.00 to park..There was a big concert in town so everything was crowded...no where to eat before 8pm not even at the Hotel...They weren't busy but the waitress didn't want to serve me so I left...When I did go to my room I called the front desk asking about what channel CBS was on...they had no idea...This morning, no WFI...I called the desk to reboot...and he said he didn't know how...no maitenence on duty...Worst customer service in 7 weeks of traveling this vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear sandymccluskey1953,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay with us. Upon researching your comments with hotel management, we found the following:

1. Our hotel's website does state there is a parking fee and we do not force hotel guests to park their vehicle with us. In addition, all hotels in downtown New Orleans do impose a parking fee so if parking is a concern to you, there are other hotels outside the downtown proximity that may offer parking at no charge.

2. Though separately owned and operated, we will forward your comments to the restaurant's management team.

3. We will continue to monitor our hotel staff and insure they are made more aware of general guest inquiries such as the channel guide located in all of the guestbook directories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If location is important and it was for us because we wanted to be central and within walking distance to the French Quarter and other attractions but far enough away from the noise this is a good choice. The front desk lady greeted us warmly, told us how to get to various places of interest, places close by to eat, and made us feel very welcome. There is construction going on directly across from the hotel daily, this did not bother us in the least as we were up and out early enough, and returned late enough to be not bothered by noise. The room was a good size and the beds were super comfy. The room was inexpensive. Those were the good points. However,
The hotel is very old looking and a bit run down to the point where (even though it is clean) it does not feel clean. It is definitely in need of updating and the upholstered furniture looks beyond dated.
The coffee shop in the lobby was not open when it was supposed to be and the counters and microwave were filthy. There is a restaurant also off the lobby, but we did not dine there. I don't think I would choose to stay at this hotel again, unless it was 'cleaned up'. Sorry, I really hate to be negative, this hotel was just very unappealing.

Room Tip: There are interior rooms, unless you like this idea, get a room with an exterior window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear your stay was overall satisfactory, but we will still pass along those noticeable shortcomings to our staff members. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay was otherwise pleasant but one of the staff members STOLE my wifi hotspot device. I accidentally left it to our room after the checkout and 30min after the checkout I noticed that I left it on the table next to my bed. When I returned to the hotel there was a maid already cleaning our room and she said that she has not seen my device. She was a bit nervous and few times she put her hand into her work uniforms pockets like she was hiding something there.

I tried to speak with the hotel staff about this but they just repeated what the maid said: there was nothing found from the room. Later on the same night was able to track from my Verizon page that someone is constantly trying to use my device.

After few days I took a screencap of the Verizon page as an evidence and sent an email to the hotel but they did not respond to that in any way. I was able to track from my server logs that someone from the hotel opened my screencap URL/link. I waited 5 days and the I sent email to Wyndham customer service. They also tried to contact hotel management. It took a week to get answer from them. They promised to refund 20 USD for me and I was not pleased because the price of the stolen device is over 100 USD. OK, it was my fault that I left it to our room after the checkout but the way how hotel handled this was not professional. They just said that it was my fault that I did not take care of my personal belongings. I believe that the stealing maid is still working for the hotel so please hide your valuables!

During the last 3 years I have road tripped more than 15 000 miles and I have stayed in over 100 different hotels. There has been some very shady hotels in the middle of nowhere and some of the hotels have located in not so friendly neighborhoods. This was the first time when hotel staff member stole something from me!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear JackFin,

Thank you for writing a review on your most recent stay with us. Upon researching your comments with hotel management, we found the following:

1. We do take theft issues very seriously. We interviewed our HK staff and the employee in question is no longer working at this property.

2. We did refund you a portion of your stay as a courtesy for the inconvenience even though there was no substantial proof that a theft occurred.

3. We will continue to monitor our staff and insure these issues do not arise again, but in the meantime, still encourage guests to store their valuables in the hotel guestroom safe as a precaution.

Most of our hotel guests have a wonderful experience and it is unfortunate yours was not. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

had a wonderful experience at this hotel. the lobby is magnificent and the staff could not be friendlier especially the general manager candace. she went out of her way to make us feel at home. the rooms were extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. everything is in walking distance from the hotel and make sure you ask the front desk for food recommendations. we will be back very soon! there is a diner and coffee shop on the ground floor connected to the lobby so make sure you try their famous pan cakes!.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nafir9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
On behalf of our GM Candice and the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! Hearing positive feedback such as yours really makes our day! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#92 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel 504
Hotel 504
#114 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing