We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value for comfortable bed, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #101 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice value for comfortable bed, convenient location”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Hotel is an older, updated property. Has a pretty lobby, sort of curvy art deco. There is wear and tear showing, but nothing was so horribly distressed as to be unusable.

Service: Only there one night, didn't need much. That said, everyone was friendly and helpful.
Room: plenty big, though some don't have the best views. Our beds were very comfortable; plenty of space in the bathroom, nice toiletries.
Location: kind of perfect. walking distance from a lot of places, including the French Quarter. In a way it's better to be a bit removed from that hustle, party atmosphere.

Needs improvement: rooms did have that humid, musty smell.. not uncommon in older properties. A quick spritz of air freshener and cranking up the a/c did the trick though they get enough complaints they should fix that bad first impression. The parking was limited, tough to maneuver in a large vehicle; again, not uncommon still something in the negative column.

Got this via a Priceline bid and getting a 'bargain' may sway my rankings, but let's face it - most hotels are overpriced. I'd never pay the rack rate (for this or any hotel), that said if I got this place again I'd be very happy with my win.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripperATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    768
    429
    189
    153
See reviews for
450
738
100
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The good thing about this hotel was its location. Within walking distance to most places including the Superdome, French quarter and Charles st. streetcar.
Check in was fine, but went downhill from there.
The first room we went to had a slight musty smell to it but the worst part were the paper thin walls that we could hear the girls next door talking and shrieking. We returned to reception and spoke to the receptionist who offered to change our room and call the other room to keep the noise down as the hotel was fully booked and other people would be given that room. The only other room she could offer us was an internal room. This room was spacious (perhaps slightly empty)and had 2 double beds. The room was clean and tidy.
The window looked out into the corridor so had to keep the curtains drawn for privacy and security. Even with the lights on the room still felt quite dark.
The diner downstairs had some pretty rude staff and despite the sign saying 24 hours, it's nothing of the sort.
For what we paid (not including the city tax which was extortionate and not well pointed out when making a booking) this hotel was a disappointment which charges high prices due to its location and not because the rooms are worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeno1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. Depending on the season, our rates are typically higher during this time of year, but that goes without saying for all hotels in the city. Some guests opt to stay during the off season to avoid the high season. All rates are quoted prior to reserving a reservation online and on third party websites, taxes and fees are usually stated in the fine print. Guests are always welcomed and are encouraged to confirm their reservation information with our hotel team members prior to their arrival.

Most of our guests enjoy their stay with us so it's unfortunate yours was not. We wish you well in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Hattieburg
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Everything here was wonderful! The service, location, room...absolutely everything! I will stay here again and will recommend it to anyone!! Love it!! The towels smelled wonderful..the gym was nice..the attendants were friendly..the receptionist were super friendly...I loved their hospitality and all recommendations they gave!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shavette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! Hearing positive feedback such as yours really makes our day! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

we went to NOLA for a Winter getaway weekend, we weren't trying to break the budget, so went with the Wyndham. the biggest shock to me was no real windows in our hotel room, there's a window, however it looks out into the hotel hallway? zero privacy if you want to keep the curtains open. since there's no windows/airflow, room smelled pretty old, a bit of cigarette smell too. the rooms haven't been updated (i've heard there may be renovated rooms - if so, you should request). bathroom was clean, nothing special.

once you look past the room, the location was great, everything else was clean (hotel lobby, etc). it's NOLA, you shouldn't spend much time in your room anyways.

Room Tip: request a renovated room (if they exist?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are glad to hear your stay was overall satisfactory. We do have rooms with an exterior window view so if you ever decide to return, please let us know in advance and we can accommodate this request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

This was a great deal and we felt it was convenient to French quarter and also the trolley. We got lattes and a great breakfast sandwich on a biscuit just next door at Teddy's in the Roosevelt Hotel. We hopped onto the trolley which was only $1.25 and got to the jazzfest quickly. The room was standard and clean. Area was safe. One late night we ate at City Diner in the hotel and food was standard but good.
Not too much assistance at front desk, but we really didn't need any since we coukd figure out on our own or ask locals.
I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JenniferK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel was great for our travels in New Orleans. It was in a great area within walking distance to Bourbon Street, as well as plenty of great little shops nearby. It fit our budget nicely, which a lot of hotels didn't! Also, considering it is New Orleans, the bathroom and room size is perfect. The only thing I would change it to have a window to outside, instead of two windows that opened to inside the hotel. However I know space in New Orleans is limited and it would be impossible to have every room facing out. A great place, where I felt safe.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wishwellingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WL-DHR, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#64 of 164 in New Orleans
1,397 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#78 of 164 in New Orleans
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing