We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sewer Gas Smell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #99 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sewer Gas Smell”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Big Problem! This hotel's top priority should be eliminating the sewer gas odor coming from the bathroom toilet bowl. Alert! This noxious sewer-like odor is toxic and dangerous to your health. In fact, the problem was noticeable throughout the hotel and many AARP guest complained to staff and management.
Equally important, secure personal belongings. I reported the theft of $280 taken from my luggage. Plus, shampoo the stained, soiled carpet and replace the bath towels.
Good points. Hats off the Alecia, Randy, and James. Location-access to places of interest.
Question? Would I stay there again? Yes. However, only if the above problems are eliminated.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room in advance. Thoroughly inspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2008corvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear 2008corvette,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive. If you would be so kind to contact us and state your room # and reservation dates, we would like to research this issue further.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please contact us at (504) 522-0083 or wyndhamgarden@baronneplaza.com if you have any further questions or comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    756
    416
    185
    144
See reviews for
436
728
94
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

When we arrived we went to the front desk to check in and was treated rudely by Ms. Lindsey. Right as we walked up to the desk she said " what do you want?" Like we were riff raff off the street. Once we told her that we were there to check in she started to be pleasant. Other than that this place was awesome!! It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was small for the price but I loved it. The parking garage entrance was very small and definitely could be a hazard. Overall this place was great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nate103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the 5 star review. We apologize for the unfortunate encounter with our front desk staff, but will be sure to speak to her so it is not repeated again. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
956 reviews
319 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 750 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Thank goodness we found Wyndham Garden on Hotels.com, Australia. We panicked when we went on line to reserve a hotel room for three people in New Orleans. Every hotel, even the most expensive ones, was booked because there was a convention of neurologists. The closest hotel to downtown that was available on Booking.com was at the airport. So we were delighted but not expecting very much when we found a room for three at Wyndham Garden Hotel. It turned out to be very good, but expensive, of course, given the shortage of hotel rooms.

Positives
• Good location about three blocks from the beginning of Bourbon Street at Canal Street.
• Adequately-sized clean and fresh smelling room facing Commons Street.
• Complimentary in-room wi-fi was hard to access during peak hours, but it was generally ok.
• Two queen sized beds with nice big pillows
• Simple but very functional curtains that blocked out the light during the day
• Many wall plugs so that three people could charge all of their devices at the same time
• Even though they were busy, they let us check out an hour later than normal check-out time which is noon.
• Some street noise after 8 am, but not bad. No neighbor noise.
• Coffee maker, iron, plasma TV with good channels.
• Super polite, charming and helpful ladies at the reception desk. They made a big difference
• A coffee shop just off the lobby. It looks like a sushi restaurant will move into a ground floor space next to the lobby.
• Great digital clock with a bright face that served also as a nightlight.
• Although paint was peeling in one corner of the ceiling, the refurbished room was kept very clean.
• Soap was replenished daily.


Cons
• No refrigerator
• Not enough hooks or towel bars to hang three towels. We took to hanging up one in the closet.
• Very heavy comforters on the bed. Even when air conditioner was at its coldest we would still break into a sweat in the middle of the night.

All in all, we had a very good stay. It was clear that this was a formerly grand hotel that had been refurbished. We recommend this hotel providing the room rate is within reason.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the constructive review. We are glad to hear you had an overall positive experience. On a side note, we would like to point out a few things to our other reviewers: the queen size beds you mentioned are actually full size and the sushi restaurant is closed and under new management...coming this winter, it will re-open as an all-day and overnight diner.

If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEMPE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The stay was good, however, there were no ammenities on location (Restaurants, Bars, room dervice, etc.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank BEN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Ben M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive. For reference, our on-site restaurant is under construction and new management so will re-open before 2013.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please contact us at (504) 522-0083 or wyndhamgarden@baronneplaza.com if you have any further questions or comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAYETTEVILLE
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

There was no hotel food service, only catered to our reunion meetings. Why should I use 100 characters when I have said all I have to say?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ROBERT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Our rooms looked nice but had a very unpleasant smell. Our friends had a room that they had to move out of because the smell was so bad. My sheets had a terrible stain that I didn't notice until the third night. I would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear J N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive. Would you please contact us and let us know which room you were staying in so we can research this issue further?

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please contact us at (504) 522-0083 or wyndhamgarden@baronneplaza.com if you have any further questions or comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
1,337 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing