We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #99 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
haarlem
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“old”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

When we walked into the room, you could smell the mould. The room looked old. The door didn't close properly, so there was a little gap, which made the door clapper everytime someone else closed or opened their door in another room. Very annoying. Also, the streetnoise was quite loud. The bathroom sink wasn't cleaned properly.
There was no concierge downstairs, so there was no one who helped with our luggage. Valet parking is expensive, around 32 dollars a day.
Location is okay. Wouldn't stay here next time though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gracegarfunkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear gracegarfunkel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive. We wish you could have mentioned these issues during your stay so we could find some way to recitfy them. As for the parking rate, all hotels in downtown New Orleans do charge a parking fee, but our rates are very competitive.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please contact us at (504) 522-0083 or wyndhamgarden@baronneplaza.com if you have any further questions or comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    756
    416
    185
    144
See reviews for
436
728
94
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Location is great and staff were incredibly helpful. Gerri answered my phone call and filled my request for a room with a king bed, even when the reservations desk did not open for another hour. Overall our experience was great and the friendly staff exceeded all expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review as well as your recommendation to other prospective guests. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
200 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I spend 100+ nights per year in hotel rooms and travel to New Orleans regularty. However honest; I wish my 4 night review was more positive...

The Good Stuff:
Staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area.
$85.00 rate thru Priceline bid.
All public areas and room was very clean and everything worked.
Location is perfect for all Downtown and French Quarter activities.
Rooms quiet/good sound proofing.
Building interiors are architecturally interesting.
Free internet that actually works.
Efficient and quiet airconditioning in room.

Areas That Fell Short:
No visable security 3 out of 4 nights. Anyone has access to all floors; no controlled entry or elevator operation.
Hotel and rooms smell of institutional disinfectant and machine oil.
All furniture in public areas is old, broken down and stained. Needs to be thrown out...
Uniforms of front desk personal look like hospital scrubs; not professional...
Burnt-out light bulbs and decorative ceiling inserts throught property.
No hotel restaurant, bar or concierage?
Inconsistant maid service; no clean towels 2 out of 4 nights.
However clean rooms are lacking expected comfronts. No available fridge, no pay per view, poor lighting in bathroom, scratchy-lint filled towels, full length mirror mounted too low to be usable and cheap/hard fiber filled pillows.

In conclusion; would only recommend based on a super cheap price and/or as a last resort.
Wyndham properties in general seem to have fallen behind the times. The Wyndham Garden Hotel is a perfect example of low corporate standards and non-competitive thinking. Hampton Inns, Springhill Suites, Fairfield Inns, Hyatt Place and Holiday Inn Express all offer better accommodations and perks for around the same price...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bowman716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Bowman716,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a constructive review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if your stay was not 100% satisfactory for we do value your business and strive to ensure every guest experience is positive. Our hotel is presently ungoing some changes which includes the update to our on-site restaurant under a new management and will offer an array of menu items to cater to all our guests needs. In addition, we are always looking for creative ways to update our rooms and room amenities so it should not come as a surprise if new additions are added before the end of the year. Finally, we are aware of the other hotel choices available in the city so comments such as yours only continue to remind us how important it is to set the standards high, whether it be at a franchise or non-franchise property.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please contact us at (504) 522-0083 or wyndhamgarden@baronneplaza.com if you have any further questions or comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked several nights at this hotel through priceline.com, and wanted to cancel my reservation because of a hurricane warning (hurricane Isaac). Reservations through priceline are supposed to be non-refundable. However, I spoke to the hotel manager, Matthew, and he immediately agreed to cancel my reservation. I am grateful for the consideration and the excellent service, and would certainly stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiftah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! We hope you will be able to finally visit us on your next trip to New Orleans so if there is anything else we can do to meet your accommodations, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I just spent the last 24 hours getting the run around from the folks at this not so friendly hotel. The president declared a state of emergency for New Orleans but would the hotel agree to cancel my reservation and refund my payment. Not a chance. What a bunch of money grubbing greedy people. They ruined my vacation plans and my birthday. Horrible hotel, do not book there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear AdriaWT,

Hurricane Isaac made landfall late in the evening time on Tuesday, August 28th. Our hotel allowed guests to cancel their reservations without any penalties starting August 27th, 28th, 29th, 30th and 31st. All flights resumed on Friday, August 31st. In addition, the 2 out of 5 conventions held the weekend after the hurricane were cancelled and we allowed guests to cancel their reservations so we do not understand your rhetoric here.

If you would like to discuss this issue further, please contact wyndhamgarden@baronneplaza.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Pros, nice clean hotel. That's about it! Cons, in a crappy location, parking sucks and it's expensive it's cheaper to park in the garage 1 block down (doesn't sound far, but it is) You have to walk a mile to get anywhere, better hope it's not raining or to hot to walk. Oh And the worst thing about the hotel is there is NO windows in the room, there is a window facing the hallway. But not outside. which is just Stupid if u ask me. We walked all the way downstairs, and to the front doors just to realize it was pouring, not drizzling, pouring! And had to walk all the way up stairs to get the umbrella. Doesn't sound that bad, but if seen the inside of this place, it's huge! Stay somewhere else!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Wendy B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We apologize if you were not 100% satisfied with your stay with us.

We value your business and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please contact us at 504-522-0083 if you have any further questions or comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hotel is dated but staff makes up for that shortfall. They made good suggestions for attractions and restaurants. Close to the CanaL Street end of the French Quarter. Reminds you of a movie set. Rooms are clean. Close to really good dining and all the atmosphere of Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: Parking is an issue. Hotel lot fills up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonB1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your with us. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#60 of 162 in New Orleans
1,337 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#74 of 162 in New Orleans
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing