We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, Nice Location....but inconvenient parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #98 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Nice Location....but inconvenient parking”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed at the Wyndham Baronne in July 2012 and was able to obtain a very reasonable rate for the hotel. The Wyndham is a few blocks from the French Quarter but in a very quiet neighborhood. The staff members I encountered were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was VERY comfortable. I would stay here again. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel but had 2 issues, but they are things I don't think the hotel could really do anything about.

1) Parking: the parking lot is in the basement of the hotel. There is a very narrow, steep entryway that looks like you're going into a loading dock (there is only 1 way in and out of the parking garage). In addition, there are huge posts in the garage that made some of the parking spaces virtually unusable (see my photos). I had a difficult time getting my car in the tight spaces. In order to get into the garage you have to push a button and show your parking pass. My other issue with the parking garage is that there is no elevator to the lobby--not an issue for me, but it would be an issue for someone who was handicapped or if I had a lot of luggage. Not sure there is much the hotel can do about the space, but not worth $20 a night.

2) I stayed in Room 205. The room was very quiet...until around 6am when people began using the treadmill in the exercise room which was about 2 doors down. You couldn't hear it in the hallway, but I guess the sound reverberated through the walls into my room. I would stay here again but ask that I not be placed in Rooms 204 or 205. We told the staff upon checkout but again, there's really nothing they could do about it.

Room Tip: Request Rooms other than 204 or 205, and ask for rooms away from the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We do apologize if the self-parking option was not the best option for you. Sometimes parking in downtown New Orleans can be an inconvenience, but we do offer valet parking as another option (and for an additional fee). Our self-parking garage can only accommodate small to medium size vehicles, but sometimes guests insists on parking their vehicle themselves instead of selecting the valet option. As for our fitness room, the normal operating hours do not begin until 7 am, so we will forward your comments to our evening staff so they are made aware. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    761
    421
    186
    147
See reviews for
440
732
96
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

An older hotel, the Wyndham Garden was clean and quiet, with thick walls that completely muted our neighbors. We were aware they were having a party only from the hallway, once our door was shut silence reigned! front desk staff were courteous and helpful, accepted a package on my behalf, called for taxis, etc. The only restaurant there was sushi, not great for families. the water had a sulphur odor, am guessing there is nothing the hotel can do about that. Unfortunately there was no swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Even after speaking with the GM, Mr Thomas, who reassured me that he would personally check the room after it had been thoroughly cleaned. The ice bucket was not emptied and the lid was on the floor where I had left it at 6:00am. The floors were not vacuumed, tabletops not wiped off, towels were simply tossed on the bath counter. Oh, did I mention that after a long day of work, I came to my room (11:00pm) and the door was open!!! The absolute worst experience I have ever encountered!Mr. Thomas needs to get another job if that is his way of checking the room. MR. THOMAS, GENERAL MANAGER, IS EITHER A LIAR OR NEEDS TO GET A JOB IN HOUSEKEEPING.

Room Tip: Run Away!! Do not choose this hotel. Steer clear of hotels.com they are the crooks that booked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri5367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Terri5367,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us.

When we tried to contact you to retrieve more information about your comments on our General Manager and Housekeeping Department, you refused so it is very difficult to research this issue further without the requested information. In addition, our General Manager has no recollection of your statements and our Front Desk and Housekeeping Department has researched records for the past 3 months and have found no guests complaints concerning guestroom doors being left open.

If you change your mind and would like to discuss your comments further, please e-mail us at wyndhamgarden@baronneplaza.com. Thank you and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

bamberg
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We just came back from our trip to Louisiana. This is a great hotel, perfect location, 5 minutes from the French quarter, great service, we would stay again, we got also a great price whit orbitz, a lot of space in the room and bed very confortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mendyBamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! Also, thank you for posting photos of our hotel so other reviewers can get a glimpse of what our hotel looks like from another perspective. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Actually the second time we've stayed there - location is great, so close to the French quarter, great customer service (front desk staff are so friendly and helpful), and the beds are soooo comfortable - and we will definitely stay there again if we come back. Only thing to note is the rooms don't have fridges or microwaves, but so many culinary delights so close it's not even an issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review as well as returning to our property! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel with great accommodations, prompt service, nice location, and great features. Plenty of space in rooms and courteous front desk staff. We would stay here again. The internet service (free) was particularly good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! We look forward to serving you again in the near future so if there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great stay, the staff was helpful and polite. The room was very clean and very spacious! We had 4 adults staying in the 2 full suite, and there was plenty of room between the two beds and the pull out sofabed. Easy walk to Bourbon & Canal, and there was a restaurant attached to the hotel lobby. Convenient and well priced for the amenities.
The only reason service wasn't a 5 is because they parked our car at the curb when we called for it... And the bellman advised we move it ASAP as it almost got hit and could get hit if anyone were to come or go from the garage! So that wasn't the best experience... Otherwise nothing but 5's!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get the suite, with the sitting area. It gives you more space to spread out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#63 of 163 in New Orleans
1,362 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#74 of 163 in New Orleans
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing