We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Art Deco Hotel, ideal location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #98 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Art Deco Hotel, ideal location, helpful staff”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a LOT of bags, and while still unpacking our ride at the front door we looked up to find helpful hands grabbing bags and putting them on a luggage cart. THANK YOU. The lobby is fabulous; sparkling clean, bright, shiny - I love Art Deco. Until I just read it here, I didn't realize the building had been a department store at one time - great, creative reuse of the space. The front desk was friendly, professional and looking sharp. The nice guy with our luggage waited with us to check in and we all went together up to the room, no waiting for luggage to appear. Our king room was not spacious, but it was certainly large enough, clean, cozy, and very comfortable (the bed was particularly nice). We didn't have an outside window, but our 3rd floor interior window over looked the 5 story open space rather than having a foot traffic path right outside our window so it was fine.

We tried to book a room the day before our arrival but there was no availability (I didn't book another hotel because when I saw the pix and read the reviews of this place, that's where I wanted to stay). We tried again the next morning before we headed that way (with or without a room reservation!) and were then successful. I mention because I assume based on that and seeing a good number of people milling about in the common areas, that the hotel was pretty full up yet we had no noise problems. Perfect location, short walk to Harrah's, Bourbon Street, shopping, and many restaurants. As importantly, we were also just far enough away from Bourbon Street.

My husband met me down in the lobby the next morning for a short walk to IHOP (also very clean) and declared this hotel one worth making a trip back to (don't think I've heard that from him before!). We used the free wifi, and we often saw people using the business center off the lobby. No pool, but we didn't go to swim. I don't know if there was room service (so many places to eat right in this area that I didn't check in spite of my being a BIG fan of room service). We did not have a car (with this location we didn't need one for any of the things we wanted to do), so didn't need to deal with parking.

I thought the room was fairly priced for this area and location. I don't know how far it is from the airport, but it seemed to be less than a mile from the Amtrak station (which is also a Greyhound station). Thanks to this Wyndham hotel and Amtrak's "City of New Orleans", we had a great trip!

Room Tip: We had a 3rd floor room that over looked the 1st to 5th floor open atrium, rather than a traffic pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    761
    421
    186
    147
See reviews for
440
732
96
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Pros:
-Reasonably good location. It's 2 minute walk to Canal Street (trams), 5 minute walk to Bourbon street (nightlife) and 15 minute walk to the heart of the French Quarter
-Quiet street
-Close to shops and pharmacies (2 minute walk)
-Free internet

Cons
-More like a motel than a hotel. Some rooms have no exterior windows.
-Interior decor and carpet are dated.
-Wifi internet dropped out for hours during my stay.
-Probably first hotel I stayed at that sheets are not ironed

Overall: Good for its price but probably would not stay there again. It's good of its price though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When we got to the hotel to check in, it looked just liked the pictures. Very pretty lobby and design. Definitely can tell it used to be a department store (in a good way). I immediately asked the person at check-in about the smell (told him I read reviews about it) and requested a room without the issue. He said ok and told me that he thinks they resolved the problem. We didn't have any odor issues in our room (room 429). The room was a little small but adequate and clean. Nice Bath & Body Works toiletries. We didn't have any issues with hot water at all. It is true that there are no outside windows for king rooms. It wasn't really a problem for us but it was very easy to oversleep in the morning and lose track of time so just set your alarm. Yes, the walls were pretty thin but we didn't have too many issues with noise at all. It was pretty quiet. The location was FANTASTIC!!!! That's the best thing about this hotel. Within walking distance of everything (Bourbon Street, River Walk, etc.) but far enough away that you didn't have to deal with the noise at night. The walk also seemed pretty safe. I would suggest riding the Magazine St streetcar/trolley through the Garden District and to the Audubon Zoo and Park. The zoo was great. Bourbon Street is exactly what you imagine if you've never been there. A big frat party with bad smells but good for drinks and people watching. Most of the venues on Bourbon Street are more like nightclubs with party music. If you want jazz bands your best bet is to walk to some other places in the French Quarter off of Bourbon. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant...there are too many great places to eat in NOLA. Oceana Restaurant on Conti St was probably our favorite.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel was very nice but the parking was horrible and confusing. The hotel staff was excellent and the rooms were nice and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows. Some rooms are interior and have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElusiveCher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

When we checked in, the staff was very helpful and got me some information I wanted. The room was clean with a separate sitting area. The bed was very comfortable. Room was quiet and dark when sleeping. Only a couple of blocks from the French Quarter. You can self park for only $20 per night which is a bargain in NOLA.

Room Tip: Fifth floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This Hotel is five Minutes walk to Bourbon Street and French Quarter. Excellent Location. Rooms are pretty big and Lobby is excellent. When we asked for Coffee and Milk, it was delivered within 4 Minutes. Can't ask for More. Hotel Team is always there to help you with direction or suggest you for Nice Restaurant. There is Sushi Place downstairs which you should try it. Specially their Baked Salmon. It's almost like Chocolate Cake :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson nh
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2012

this is a wonderfull hotel. staff very friendly and helpfull awsome location very clean and very comfortable . you are just 5 minutes walking to the french quarter and burbon st. take the street car down canal st it connects you everywhere I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: chose a double double room it has a window you can see the outside we liked being able to have sunli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#63 of 163 in New Orleans
1,362 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#74 of 163 in New Orleans
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing