We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Price & Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #94 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
MOMOFACREW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Price & Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We booked this trip through an online booking site on Monday for a last minute trip to NO for our son to see a specialist there. We live three hours away and did not want to be late for our appointment the next day so we decided to leave for NO Monday night. We arrived around 10:30 and found a desk clerk who was very friendly, upbeat and helpful. They had overbooked rooms at our rate so they upgraded us for free to a junior honeymoon suite. The suite had two rooms with a window looking to the interior of the hotel. The living/office space had a couch with a couch bed and tv so our son had his own area to sleep and watch what he wanted. The bedroom area also had a tv as well as a king size four post bed with a down comforter and lots of pillows. The bed, bedding and pillows were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower as well as a jetted tub plus lots of little extras!

Our son was hungry for ice cream so we went to the vending machines. Not much selection there but again our desk clerk was there to help and directed us to a 24 hour store just two blocks down that had everything you can imagine in it. It was a short, safe walk to and from the store.

The next morning I realized I forgot our toothpaste and called down to the desk where once again I was greeted by a friendly clerk. She told me they had complimentary toothpaste downstairs I could have. When it came time to checkout she called our vehicle from valet and we were on our way. Within five minutes our vehicle was ready for us out front. The valet attendant was also very well mannered and polite.

We have absolutely no complaints. We slept and was not aware of any noise in the halls if there were any. There is no free breakfast but that was outlined in our booking. Valet was a little pricey (which was also outlined in our booking) but worth it to us to not have to go around and around NO one way streets to get into a parking lot.

We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOMOFACREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review! Words can not express our gratitude for selecting our hotel to begin with. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    676
    372
    158
    126
See reviews for
380
631
81
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vista
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Well, if I were traveling hoping to have a romantic and cozy weekend in New Orleans...this is NOT your hotel...if you are traveling with kids, cheerleaders, teenagers, college students on spring break...well you may have found your place.

1. The good - Location, nice and helpful staff, nice bathrooms, interesting Art Deco architecture building

2. The bad - NO restaurant on the premises for room service for those of us who travel for work. There is a Japanese restaurant downstairs but pass on it if you actually like Japanese food. If you are a man...or most women...the towels are small...they are not going around you...(just sayin!) The hotel is large and clearly Wyndham seems to be missing the funds to really make it nice...it appear worn but no too bad. Pillows...well there are a lot of them and the beds aren't bad but the pillows are high and hard...hard...

3. The ugly - o.k. If you want a Kind room you are NOT going to have a window to look anywhere...and well there is NOTHING to see from this hotel anyway. I mean NO windows!!! There is a window but it faces the inside of the hotel in the hallway. If you are a person who doesnt pay attention to the curtains being closed...well you might think about it. Elevators is right out of Tower of Terror!!

Room Tip: If you are clastrophobic...ask for a queen room or 2 doubles in order to get a window that faces out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessWildhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your post recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

It's a great time to visit New Orleans, not just because it is a fantastic city that needs all the help it can get but also because the drop-off in tourism following Hurricane Katrina has made it one of the great travel values in the US. Traveling on a business trip, I got this room in a prime spot near the French Quarter for $84 per night and it was a very good value for the price.

The pros: The Wyndham Garden is clean, centrally located and has a good range of standard business travel facilities, including a well-equipped workout room and good - if not great - Wi-Fi performance. The king-size bed in my room was quite soft, which is not ideal if you have a bad back, but the down comforter was a great touch. There are excellent restaurants within just a couple blocks and Bourbon Street is a five-minute walk, if you're into that scene. Personally, I'd just as soon avoid the tourist meccas and explore some of the lovely parks and beautiful architecture around the French Quarter. Those are also a short walk.

The cons: A lot of the rooms at the Wyndham Garden face inward, making it impossible to tell whether it's day or night. I love a plush towel, and the bath towels at the Wyndham were surprisingly chintzy and small. My room was also freezing. Even with the air conditioning set at the highest temperature, I doubt the room got much above 68°. I couldn't figure out how to make the alarm clock work and the face isn't illuminated, making it impossible to read at night.

In short, the cons are pretty minor, and considering what you pay for a downtown room at most U.S. tourist destinations, the Wyndham was a very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside-facing window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgillin0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Got a great rate on a Sunday night. Much better than other nice hotels in the area. Room was very large and bathroom much larger than most. We had a room with two double beds and no outside window. It was quiet and dark which is OK if you want to sleep in. If you spend a lot of time in the room it would feel claustrophobic. Staff very nice and everything was as expected. Very short walk to Bourbon St. Self parking $20, which is less than many area hotels charge. I would return here for a short stay as long as I didn't have to pay the higher weekend rate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Collins, CO
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

During a recent New Orleans visit, I shared a room at Baronne Plaza with my dad. It was a large, comfortable room, with an excellent TV, and the most comfortable bedding I can recall. Full, clean, fresh down comforters, outstanding pillows, a luxuriant bathroom, and a superb AC/heater system made this hotel worth the stay. Location was top notch, although not directly in the French Quarter. Very nice stay, incredibly enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgetheow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

It's a hotel with nothing to rave or complain about. We were denied a late check-out but they did store our bags for us until our flight left early evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WpgMBMatlock_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, February 26, 2012
On behalf of the entire Wyndham Garden Hotel staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Is the first time in my life that I stayed in a ho tel that they haven make my room with the excuse t hat the housekeeper already left. I leave my room at 12:30 pm and returned at 6:00pm and they didnt do the cleaning of my room and I request the servi ce and the reception told me the cant do it. Is un believable this happen to me in the hotel, and th e even worse I request clean towels and they they told me the cant either send me the clean towels. The worse hote experience ever in my life.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Eduardo C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your most recent stay with us. We apologize if you were not satisfied with your stay with us. After researching your information with our Housekeeping department, we did not find any record of complaint during your stay with us. Furthermore, our housekeeping department does service each guestroom so long as a Do Not Disturb sign is not placed outside the door.

We will forward your comments to our management staff and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Please contact us at (504) 522-0083 if there is anything else we can do to win back you business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#56 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Arts District / Warehouse District
The Hotel Modern
The Hotel Modern
#92 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel 504
Hotel 504
#116 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing