We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, but no breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #100 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service, but no breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I liked the room. It was clean, but the vent looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The location was perfect for siteseeing, just a few blocks walk or a streetcar ride from many attractions. The downside for this hotel was that there was no swimming pool, mini fridge, or microsoft, and complimentary breakfast was not offered.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imajemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Imajemi,

Thank you for posting a review on your most recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We have forward your concerns to our housekeeping department so they will resolved immediately. Our apologies if we do not include breakfast in our rates, but we may offer this option in the future. In the meantime, our morning cafe offers reasonably prices breakfast items including fruits, hot wraps and Starbucks coffee. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Please contact us at 504-522-0083 if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    726
    405
    177
    141
See reviews for
415
703
90
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

just stayed one night on our way back from destin florida. freindly staff nice clean room ,great location great price much cheaper than our stay in april. found great new resteraunt the red gravey close by.must have peach preserves on bisquit awesome.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff, thank so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

A reasonably comfortable hotel, our room had an overwhelmingly strong odor of Lysol like a smoker had previously been there or some other issue. The room was not very clean, vents and ducts needed special attention with caked on layers of dirt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dugbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 16, 2011
Dear Dugbrown,

Thank you for posting a review on your most recent stay with us. We are a 100% smoke-free hotel so your feedback is very important to us. We have forward your concerns to our housekeeping and maintenance departments so we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. Please contact us at 504-522-0083 if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

From the front desk, to the bellhops, to the maid staff, these people are the reason to stay here. Friendly, helpful, and easy to deal with. Helpful with suggestions, info for the area (including places to stay out of.)
Maid staff fully accommodating -
Note: Down filled pillows and blanket/comforter - they have synthetic available on request, for those with allergies. In addition, they to spray air lifter or freshener. Again, they will discontinue the spray for those allergic.
Rooms are small. Furniture is the most useless I have seen in a hotel. Furniture is short (under 3 feet) and the bed is over tall (over 3 feet.) 2 feet separated the beds. The closet is short, and will not allow for dresses or coats to hang.
The beds, like I said, are over tall, and over soft. Plenty of pillows.
The bathroom is also small. High step into the tub/shower. Water pressure was, well, strange. Both times I took a shower the water completely cut off - for a full second- then came back on. Strange.
WARNING: It is VERY easy to BURN YOURSELF with the water. Double check the temperature AFTER you swap from tub spout to shower.
Remember: The majority of the rooms do not have outside windows. Not a big deal.
During the hotter months, try to get a room on the lower floors. The heat collects in the 5th floor hallways.
The restaurant is not one. It is a place where you can get pre-prepared sandwiches and drinks. There is a Sushi restaurant connected directly to the hotel lobby. Do not recommend the Sushi restaurant.
Location, location, location. This place has it. One block off of Canal Street. One block south of Bourbon Street. Easy walking distance to the tourist section of Bourbon Street.
Most hotels charge far more to park your car. Here it is $20 or 1/3 to 1/2 less than other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Use your discounts, incl businesses, even for fun vacations
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time you return to New Orleans so contact us again (504-522-0083) if you need any further assistance with booking your reservations with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stay here during the Essence Festival. Clean and walking distances to everything. Staff was friendly. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaeATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time you return to New Orleans so contact us again (504-522-0083) if you need any further assistance with booking your reservations with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I arrived on 15th June 2011 for 3 nights and must say this hotel wasn't expensive and definately underpriced so great value for money.

The lobby is very grand and impressive and the staff were very helpful and friendly offering advice on where to eat and booking us on swamp and city tours.

After reading reviews on Trip Advisor I had requested a room with an exterior view which I duly received although not very exciting but then again I wasn't going to spend much time in my room gazing out of the window anyway.

Wi-Fi was free and ensured as traveller not from the U.S I could connect to the internet and keep up to date with things using my mobile phone without incurring charges.

There was a coffee shop in the lobby which also sold pre-packed breakfast sandwhiches to be heated up in the microwaves which weren't the tastiest but as I was departing early for the city tour it kept me going until lunch.

Bourbon Street as people say is only a few blocks away ( a five minute walk) and so this hotel is in a great location without incurring the noise you'd get staying in and around Bourbon.

All in all I would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owl-zat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff, thank so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again (504-522-0083)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler,Tx
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is a very nice hotel with great staff. We had a few problems. Our first room was smelly so they moved us. That room wasn't ready so they moved us again. Other than moving the beds were comfy and overall the hotel was clean and nice. Location was great too!

Room Tip: Ask for a window room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for posting a review on your most recent stay with us! We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay, but we are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs prior to your departure. Please contact us at 504-522-0083 if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Express New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing