We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Ranked #101 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Great price, great location, comfortable room...what more do you want? I stayed here for 4 days in April 2011. The central location made exploring New Orelans very easy. The room was quiet and well appointed and the king bed was very comfortable. They have good discounts if you book multiple nights. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was not being able to print anything but boarding passes in the business center. High speed internet was free and reliable. I'll stay there next time.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff, thank so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    768
    429
    189
    153
See reviews for
450
738
100
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Enjoyed the stay. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, especially the bed. Very clean, would absolutely recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingcircuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff, thank so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This was the first stop on our 8 day roadtrip and after reading the reviews, I chose this hotel. My sister, mother, and I were pleasantly surprised by the impeccable service. The hotel is located within walking distance of the French Quarters, eateries, street car lines, etc. It is not "in" the Quarters, but it is only a few blocks away. I enjoyed the fitness center and the "reading" areas. The only negatives that I have are (1) This property does not have a swimming pool. (2) Parking is $20 for self-parking, which is in the basement with only one lane for both incoming and outgoing traffic...$30 for valet parking. (3) Only a Sushi restaurant on the premises. (4) The first 2 days of our stay when we returned to our room, we realized that the cleaning person had not cleaned the bathroom and we would have to call the front desk...usually after the cleaning crew had left for the day; however, the maintenance man would come immediately and do a wonderful job of cleaning. We found out later that the regular housekeeper was on vacation and they were using a temporary housekeeper. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay and the front desk employees were very helpful and kind. Would I stay again? Absolutely...in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylthpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Pros: This hotel is well located, a short walk across Canal from the FQ. The room/bathroom was well appointed with good towels and bedding, Had a nice tv and a safe for valuables. Starbucks coffee in lobby.

Cons: Hot water was an issue at times and the honesty of the maid service came into question. Window, no balcony.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank findjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Dear finjul,

We appreciate the feedback you provided us today and would like the opportunity to find out more information on your most recent stay with us. If you can provide us with your room number and dates of stay, we would be more than happy to research and resolve the issues you described above. Please contact us at (504) 522-0083 and any information you can provide would be most helpful. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Visiting New Orleans on business but during Jazzfest, we ended up at the Baronne Plaza because the hotels the client normally uses were full and/or charging usuriously high rates.

At the moment, the Baronne Plaza is flagged as a Wyndham Garden. In the past it was a Travelodge. Both brands indicate a basically mainstream American hotel experience, but at modestly lower room rates, which usually reflect a reduction in room size, amenities, and service; less convenient location; and often a somewhat older facility. For the most part, the Baronne Plaza precisely fulfills the brand.

At the Baronne Plaza, one thing that probably comes as a surprise to many visitors is that a majority of the rooms are windowless, or, to be more precise have no windows to the exterior. That is, they have windows, but the windows either look directly into the corridor, into a narrow internal atrium space which has no natural light, or across the corridor/access balcony to the internal atrium.

This arrangement, we have discovered, is not uncommon in New Orleans, mainly at second- or third-tier hotels that are adaptive reuses of older buildings. (The Baronne Plaza, for example, is housed in an Art Deco former Sears department store from the 1930's.) My husband says that our review should strongly warn everyone to STAY AWAY, so that this appalling practice of windowless hotel rooms can be driven out of business. An appealing idea, but my choice is to accept it and provide information: You, TripAdvisor users decide!

Aware that the Baronne Plaza's arrangement, we had requested a room with an exterior window. Nevertheless, we were initially given the lowest tier room (as regards the window question)--one looking into the corridor only. For us, this was unacceptable: the internal rooms were too claustrophobic and dark, and seemed risky in the event of a fire. The latter reaction may be essentially emotional -- the building has sprinklers and good exits, and to my knowledge there are no scientific studies indicating an elevated level of risk-- but we felt compelled to move.

We were given a room with windows looking at the street. This proved a mixed blessing. We got light and a "city view," to put it nicely, of the bland building across the street. And a whole lotta city noise, of which the cheap single-pane windows blocked very little: from the loading/service area of the Roosevelt Hotel, from traffic and late-night partiers driving around blaring their music, from sirens, etc. We also got some of the noise internal to the hotel, thanks to the ugly atrium space which broadcast the rants and boasts of drunken guests returning at 3 am from Bourbon Street, ice machines, housekeeping, rolling luggage in the lobby, etc. Most of the internal rooms get those noises much worse than we did. It's not clear that there's a win-win option!

Other issues:
1) Although the front desk had the room listed as two queen beds, the beds weren't that large -- I think they were "full" size. Moreover, even by the stupid standards of American hotels, the beds were smothered in pillows and throws, almost all decorative and requiring elaborate removal and stashing-in-the-corner when going to bed.
2) Hot water was spotty: once it took running the shower 10 minutes to get any at all, and most of the time the heat level wasn't consistent.
3) At check-in, we noted that they had the wrong checkout date: one day too early. "Oh, that'll be corrected," the worker told us, Well, it wasn't, and thus when we got back to the room on the next-to-last day, the room keys no longer worked. It was quickly and politely rectified, but it shouldn't have happened in the first place.
4) The breakfast food selection at the little cafe is pathetic. Pastries are commercial products sealed in plastic; the coffee service is desultory at best; there are no normal American breakfast foods like cold cereal; and so forth.

My advice: First, try for a different hotel. In New Orleans, we've stayed at others with the same general market-demographic brand which were much better than the Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza. Second, if that's not possible and assuming it matters to you, be sure to request (and then, as was necessary for us, attempt to enforce the request) a room with a window facing the exterior. Moreover, if possible, ask to face Baronne Street (as opposed to Common Street). The noise level isn't any better, but the building across the street is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Request room facing Baronne Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skidrowe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us. It is true some of our hotel rooms do not have a window facing the exterior side of the building, but most guests find this issue to be a plus since they'll be able to get a good night's sleep without having any natural light seep into their rooms in the morning. Concerning your comment about our less than convenient location, our property is situated less than 1.5 blocks from the French Quarter and is one of the main reasons why guests select to stay with us in the first place. Our property is situated close enough to all the main attractions without being in the center, thus allowing guests to have a wonderful night's sleep upon returning. Concerning your comment about lack of amenities, our hotel offers over 10 additional room amenities at the front desk, which guests can requests upon check-in time. Guest who are Wyndham ByRequests members can requests additional amenities prior to check-in time. Finally, our hotel does not have rooms with queen size beds. Instead, we have rooms with full and kings size beds as stated on our website. Thank you again for selecting our hotel during your time in New Orleans and we hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Bellingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This is a nice hotel, with super comfortable beds which is rare in hotels in this price range. It's a block away from the French Quarter which makes it easily walkable but much quieter than hotels on Bourbon St. The lobby and rooms are nice and the Front Desk staff was friendly and helpful. The window in my room overlooked the lobby area so I had to keep the drapes closed all the time. Next time I would request a room with a street view. I asked Housekeeping to leave the heavy comforter off the bed during my stay (weather was hot and humid) and they made it up every day with the comforter. Also, they didn't leave fresh towels a couple of times when I left the dirty ones on the floor.
I'd reccomend this hotel as a nice place in a good location. There is a cute little breakfast area in the lobby and it would have been a great place to have breakfast included in the price of the hotel. They don't offer that and I didn't find any breakfast places close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street, not the loy
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank roandoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the beds to be more than comfortable. Our apologies if you did not receive all the guestroom amenities that you requested during your stay. We will be sure to notify our Director of Housekeeping so similar issues are not repeated in the future. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel has a perfect LOCATION. 1 minute walk from the airport bus stop, 1 minute walk to the Canal Street with its millions shopping options, 1 minute walk to the Garden District Street Car, 2 minute walk to Bourbon Street, ACME and FELIX Oyster Bar. 10 minute TOP to Jackson Square and French Market.

My ROOM was very spacious, with a incredible king size bed, LCD tv with lots of channels, AC working fine, good linens on the bed. The BATHROOM had good amenities and a very good shower too. The towels were always clean and smelled good. The in-room safe has a good space, can fit a 15 inch notebook. There are vending/ice machines on each floor and I have no problem whatsoever with noise. There is a coffee shop with Starbucks brewed coffee at the lobby.

The STAFF was helpful and always in good mood, remembering me and my previous requests.

Last but not least, FREE WIFI @ rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amarques99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wghotel, Public Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff, thank so much for the wonderful 5 star review! If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please do not hesitate to contact us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#64 of 164 in New Orleans
1,397 reviews
Central Business District
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
Holiday Inn Downtown Superdome
#78 of 164 in New Orleans
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans

Property: Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Address: 201 Baronne Street, New Orleans, LA 70112-1722
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the best 3 star hotel accomodations in downtown New Orleans. What are you waiting for?! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Garden Baronne Plaza New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baronne Plaza New Orleans
Hotel Baronne Plaza
Baronne Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing