We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambience, great food, great place!”

Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits
Ranked #21 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Description: Casual backyard party that can get as popping' bas a small festival
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great ambience, great food, great place!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This amazing little gem is off off off the beaten path but well worth a trip. Best if you have a car when going there as you will not likely find a cab when you are ready to leave. When you walk in you pick a wine and/or whatever cheeses you might like. You walk up to a bar with said wine and cheese and are directed to the glasses (which you grab yourself). If you'd like you can request that the cheese be put on a plate (they will add almonds, fruit and the biggest mountain of delicious bread you have ever seen) and delivered to your table. We searched for a table in the adorable outdoor courtyard but unfortunately had no luck so we made our way into the newly renovated indoor area for seating. We then went down to place an order for small plates at the outdoor order window. We ordered the polenta, the truffle rigatoni, the bacon wrapped dates and the prawns... we also got an order of the chocolate bark (AMAZING!!)... we probably spent 3 hours there on a Friday night... and could have stayed longer... everything was wonderful and it was so cozy that we could have stayed all night... great place... I will definetely be back...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SungirlFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    108
    25
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I'll keep this review short: I hate wine bars (especially the ones in Oregon where I live). This is not your typical wine bar -- low brow, low key, and good music. And the wine is excellent. Had an amazing time with my girlfriend here upon first arriving for our vacation in New Orleans.

Yet another reason why the French Quarter is terrible. The Bywater is perfect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Walk through a wine store to find a very interesting experience.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant, using this term loosely as you order at a window and then find a seat somewhere after buying a bottle of wine, is very good. The cocktails are awesome, the wine store has extensive offerings and the food is much better than expected. This place is located in Atwater and the area is quite desolate but this place is a diamond in the rough. Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great cheese & cocktails but please spray down outdoor tables & chairs”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I made the mistake of bringing a group of girlfriends there before it got completely dark. When they saw the dirty tables and chairs they were pretty much done. We did stay to get cocktails, cheese and appetizers which we ate upstairs, where it was very nice...but I love al fresco dining and was disappointed about that. The girls absolutely loved the food and drinks but opted to go elsewhere for dinner. Partially our fault for going too early but seriously, your tables and chairs shouldn't be grimy. Nevertheless, I will absolutely give it another shot next time I'm in NOLA.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Delish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place to have a drink and relax”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice place to get any of a variety of libations and unwind to some decent musi c.

Wide variety of drinks but limited indoor seating so a fair weather destination to be sure.

Cash only at the bar so plan for that in our ever more cashless society.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing