We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Wine and More!”

Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits
Ranked #16 of 1,952 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Description: Casual backyard party that can get as popping' bas a small festival
Pearl River, Louisiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fine Wine and More!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This Bywater spot is in the oldest building in the neighborhood. Built in 1803. Has plenty of character. Don't be put off by the rough exterior, that only adds to the charm. There is a large shady patio area for your lunch. Wine is sold by the bottle at very reasonable prices. The sandwich I tried was on house baked Ciabbata bread and absolutely wonderful. Filled with grilled
pastrami and plenty of other goodies. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    112
    25
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great wine selection, food, and local atmosphere!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great local spot to grab a bottle of wine and hang out in the courtyard. Great music, food, and wine to have there, or take with you to go! Highly recommend grabbing a cab to go check it out! It's definitely worth the small cab fare!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My family and I were in NOLA for a conference and some vacation days. We heard about this place on Trip Advisor and saved it for our last night in the city. We were generously rewarded with a wonderful experience. This place is a house in a residential neighborhood that is geared up to serve great wine and cheese as well as outstanding entrees all paired with jazz music played in outdoors. You sit in the back yard or up on the second floor if you prefer a warmer venue. The place is very informal and you are made to feel comfortable even thought you don't know a soul. The hangar steak that we had was superbly prepared and very flavorful. All in all, this was the least costly dinner option that we experienced in New Orleans but also one of the best! You could never get away with doing this in our city....the authorities would find some reason to not allow it. Thankfully New Orleans is not that kind of city! Be aware that you will need cash to pay your bill for the food. There is an ATM on site if you forget.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norske007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Unique place to hang out”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The 5 stars are for the uniqueness of this outdoor place for music, wine and food with a casual vibe. Sitting under the open sky, listening to live music with good wine - the recipe for a perfect evening. I had the kale and canellini soup, grilled fish -both dry good. The steak that my husband had, not that great. The goat milk panna cotta was like mousse and delicious.

The place was packed on a Monday evening at 7pm. Henry Gillette was thoroughly enjoyable.

I'd go here pretty frequently if I lived in New Orleans.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slowtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, friendly staff and reasonable prices”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was my first visit and on entering you think you are just in a wine shop. Tell the staff this is your first visit and they will guide you though the whole process. Wine is purchased in the shop, food outside and there is also a full bar. You can either eat inside or out – since it was cold we chose the upstairs space which had restored wood floors, brick walls and a three piece band – which, unlike many bands in New Orleans, you could enjoy the music and hold a conversation at your table. If the weather had been warmer we would have dined outside in the patio area. Prices were very reasonable. The store takes credit cards for wine purchase; however, the restaurant section is cash only. There is no off street parking, but there is plenty of parking on the street within two blocks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Bacchanal Fine Wine & Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing