We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but don't plan to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but don't plan to sleep”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is very nice and service, rooms, bar etc are all excellent however being on Burbon street it's really noisy until 2 to 3am.
There is a car park inside the hotel charged at $35 a night so if your driving in, drop the hire car off first and catch a shuttle as everything is within walking distance and the car will just sit there in the car park, also they close off Burbon st at about 6 to 7pm for padestrian only only use so you cannot drive in anyway.

Room Tip: ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff-5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    386
    145
    51
    38
See reviews for
175
366
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location if you want to be on Bourbon Street. It is really right in the thick of things. We got a room with a balcony facing Bourbon Street. This was great for people watching but it can get quite loud. If noise is going to bother you, rooms facing the pool side of the hotel are pretty quiet.

There is a pool at the hotel but it is not heated so you can really only use it on very hot days. There was a few days of rain during our stay in New Orleans but the hotel had no umbrellas to loan out to guests. The hotel does get quite busy and I saw only 2 porters really working at any one time so if you need a cab or help with luggage, you might have to wait a bit. That being said, the porters were great and had a great attitude.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to Frenchmen St where all the bars with live bands play. The walk on Bourbon to Frenchmen can be a bit scary. It's quiet and dark. There are also lots of random homeless people everywhere so definitely be careful.

Overall a good hotel right in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Bourbon St are loud but great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed as a group at the Four Points Sheraton for 3 days in March. The hotel, itself is very nice for the age. It is in a great location on Bourbon St. in the French Quarter. However, the service was absoulutely terrible, the rooms were not cleaned properly each day. We had to request item, such as towels and glasses each day we were there. The phone system did not work correctly - I call the front desk several time, and instead, got someone else's room. I would not recomment this hotel and am sending a note directly to Sheraton!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holstein, iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed her the week of St Pat's Day. John at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. Free bottled water each day and a $5 coupon to use at the restaurant on the days you skip housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My daughter and I just returned from an awesome 5 day stay at the Four Points in the French Quarter. We can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay there. After reading some questionable reviews I was a little nervous after booking. My fears were put to rest the minute we walked in the front door! After some serious flight delays we didn't arrive until 12:30 p.m. We were greeted by the door security and quickly whisked to the front desk. The front desk clerks were wonderfully fresh and you would never have guessed it was the middle of the night. We quickly went to our room so unpack and hit Bourbon Street. Our room had an incredibly comfortable king size bed and the room was more than adequate. The bathroom was a little on the smaller side but was really clean which is the important thing. Our fourth floor room had a great balcony overlooking Toulouse Street. We were close enough to the corner of the hotel so we had a view of Bourbon as well, but were removed enough from it that it wasn't very noisy. The maid staff was very accommodating and serviced our room in a very timely manner on the days that we had them come in. On the days that we didn't have them come in they happily exchanged our towels and freshened up our coffee supplies and water. This hotel is situated in the true heart of the French Quarter and we easily walked to everywhere we wanted to see which is exactly what I wanted because I did not desire to rent a car. I agree with a previous review that stated that it would be nice if a mini fridge was an added extra for the room. With soooo many awesome places to eat, it was shame not to have somewhere to put the left overs. But I do believe because of this we made some street people happy with our doggy bags from the restaurants. :) Anyway, I would just love to say that my daughter and I were already talking about the "next time" we visited before we even checked out. I will recommend this hotel to everyone I can who is planning on visiting the wonderful city of New Orleans. Thanks to all who made our visit such a great one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachLover1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear BeachLover1966,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are planning a return visit soon, we must have done something right. We know you have so many choices when coming to New Orleans, so thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Four Points is an excellent place to stay right in the thick of things. Bourbon Street out the front door and everything you could ask for is right nearby. Despite the hectic pace of Bourbon St. once you step into the lobby you would think you were in a different place. Our room overlooked the swimming pool. The room was small but through some design engineering feat - everything we needed was there and available. Oh, those beds, those dreamy beds and four pillows - c'mon. So comfortable it was sad to come home to my lumpy old mattress. The service was terrific. Front desk staff welcoming and helpful. Concierge ready for any question; bell hop was so cheerful, even the night guard at the door was welcoming - (as soon as he saw your key). The only thing this place could improve on is the service in the breakfast room. There is no service. I saw people standing in line waiting to be seated while tables were left cluttered and staff breezed by the waiting patrons. The food was okay but way over-priced. If you do get seated and run low on coffee, the promise to return with a fresh pot but never do. We gave it a pass after the one day. Other than that I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My mom, aunt, and I stayed here as a one night getaway while visiting in Mississippi. We wanted to go down and unwind on bourbon Street! Stupid us did not print out any directions to get there, so we drove around for about 45 minutes before we actually found the parking garage. That part sucked but that was on us. Still, I think new Orleans could do a little bit better job of making sure the street signs are up. The hotel though was incredibly nice. I was so nervous because we booked off Hotwire and I had seen some fairly terrible reviews on it. But we were not disappointed at all. We dropped our car with the vallet Which, while overpriced, made us feel like everything we own was very safe. We entered the hotel and had to walk a short distance before we were greeted friendly by front desk staff. They checked us in to a double bed room. It was so nice! We were on the 5th floor facing the courtyard, which honestly wasn't much to look at but hey,we weren't there to look at people swimming. We got settled in, got everything together, put our important stuff in the digital wall safe then exited the building directly onto Bourbon Street which was incredible. we went after Mardi Gras so it wasn't too crowded but there were just enough people to make it interesting and fun. The main thing I was worried about was that it was going to be so loud because we were on Bourbon Street but this was not the case at all. once we got to our room you couldn't hear anything that was going on outside it was so wonderful. If I had one complaint, it would be that the room is not equipped with a mini fridge or a microwave. It's not cheap to stay in New Orleans, and if you're staying for more than one night, you want these small amenities definitely, but for an overnighter it was perfect.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy_Poe, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear H M.,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about the Four Points French Quarter.
We are so glad to hear that you like the hotel and had a good experience while staying on property. We certainly appreciate your business and as we know you have so many choices when coming to New Orleans. We hope you will come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,388 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Property: Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Address: 541 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2105 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing