We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location, Clean, but Too Loud!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #67 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Location, Clean, but Too Loud!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The rooms are spacious,as are the bathrooms. The location is great- minutes from any spot near Bourbon Street- but at night plan to do some partying because it's nearly impossible to sleep due to the loud noise on Bourbon street. The beds are very comfortable and the balcony was a very nice touch. Overall, I recommend it if you're planning to party in NOLA, but not if you're there for a family outing.

Room Tip: A room that faces the courtyard might be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    335
    116
    49
    37
See reviews for
143
293
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the front desk and restaurant staffs are great. However, the housekeepers are very unfriendly and the rooms need some serious maintenance and cleaning. We dropped our bags in the room (a very dark room they call a "junior suite") and hit the quarter. When we returned that night we noticed how nasty the room really was: raggedy, stained carpet that had not been vacuumed in a long time - there was even old rice under the edge of the desk and something like gum was mashed into the carpet between the beds; chipped paint on almost every surface; water-stained valance above the door to a balcony shared by three or four rooms (not the most secure set up). The special treat was pulling down the covers on one of the beds the first night and discovering a yellow-ish, crusty dried body fluid on the "clean" sheet. I called for new sheets and after waiting for about 20 minutes I headed down to get them myself but ran into the attendant who was obviously in no hurry. I changed the sheets and went to bed.
The next morning in the bathroom (that only one person could fit in at a time), I noticed BLOOD splatters going down the wall behind the bathroom door (maid figured no one would look behind the door?). I left a tip and note for the floors to be vacuumed and extra towels and went to speak to the manager. He apologized and offered to change our room, but we declined and just needed the room cleaned - really cleaned. We returned from breakfast to find the maid finishing up and found the blood splatters mostly gone but the carpet just as nasty as it was when we checked in. After calling housekeeping to request vacuuming (third time's the charm), the maid showed up and finally used the vacuum - and all the stuff on the carpet magically disappeared into the machine (amazing what happens when you actually use the vacuum). No other issues once I switched to writing in Spanish on the notes for the maid. One day the maid made up the bed with a shirt in it (really? it was a dark shirt against white sheets) and I overheard one of the bellmen make a homophobic comment (on Decadence weekend, no less). Kept the balcony door locked for security, and it wasn't really usable anyway since the garbage and old cigarette butts back there stank.
Room was overpriced for the lack of quality (and cleanliness) and we discovered, despite being told the opposite, that there were rooms like ours with balconies facing the street. I would probably stay here again because of the location, but they really need to get their maintenance and cleaning folks to work asap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andynnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not a first-class hotel,(maybe 3 1/2 stars out of 5) but perfect location if you like the French Quarter. Right on Bourbon Street a few blocks east of Canal St. My room lacks a desk (needed, andwhich there's plenty of room for.) Older (historic) but remodeled building, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, large LCD TV, reasonable prices. I recommend the Onion Soup at the Cafe.

Room Tip: Ask for location NOT facing Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent seven full days here, Tuesday to Tuesday. It was the perfect spot for Southern Decadence. Not in the middle of it all in terms gay-world (that would be St. Ann and Bourbon) but only three blocks off. It was crazy-noisy from the balcony we had on Bourbon Street, so I wore earplugs to sleep (even though we rarely wen to bed before 3:30 or 4am, it was still loud!) But that was to be expected and part of the fun. Great staff, very respectful. They check room keys after dark, which I really appreciated. And we hung out on our balcony in just our underwears and threw beads to the men who earned it, and never got any grief. Very open to all types, very gay friendly. It was clean, too. And no smell of smoke. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bourbon Street balcony if you want to be where all the action is. And get it on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a great hotel if you want to be right on Bourbon Street. You're in the mix of all the activities and within walking distance to many restaurants. We were given a king suite at no additional cost. It was very nice. We had a balcony which we did not use as it was very hot outside. The staff was very kind. The concierge was very helpful and set up the tours that we wanted to take. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplemoon4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a great location if you want to be in the mix of all that Bourbon street has to offer. The rooms are a bit small but they serve their purpose. It looks like they are in the process of a remodel so I think that will make the rooms much better. Get a balcony to enjoy the sites out of the crowd. The service and staff were great. I applaud David who is one of the managers. I had a mix up with my reservation and he took care of it immediately. I will stay here again for sure

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pbarnes205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

this hotel is in a great location and its convenient to Bourbon Street and all area attractions. however the Rooms are very small and seem to be in the process of renovations. all in all it's a good place to stay especially if the rooms are improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMHamptonDenison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#24 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,376 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,771 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 3,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#3 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#70 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Marie
Hotel St. Marie
#57 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Property: Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Address: 541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing