We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Concierge!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Concierge!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I am a Loyal SPG Gold Member and traveled from April,15 2013 to April 18, 2013. The so called concierge at this hotel is useless. My family and I wanted to explore the city beings it was our first trip to New Orleans and probably our last. We wanted to do a swamp tour and wanted to do an airboat tour (my son was all excited after seeing a tour on the travel channel). i went to the concierge to see about the tour and she refused to help us book it. my first thought was isn't that was concierge is supposed to do? so i left the hotel in anger only to find out at a tour info center that the desk was run by Cajun Encounters and that is why they refused to help me book an airboat tour.I dont understand why the hotel would put a solitary tour company as a concierge. Needless to say i went on my airboat tour and had a blast. The hotel is garbage and has useless staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Harold D,

We apologize about the problems that you had with our concierge. Unfortunately we are not able to book this particular tour for our guests due to some prior legal troubles that the Cajun Encounters team experienced. It is a liability for us to be connected, so we therefore just provide guests with the necessary information needed. We hope you understand, and we again we are very sorry about the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    374
    139
    51
    38
See reviews for
169
349
32
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Check-in process was a nightmare. Staff has attitude like this dump is a 5 star boutique hotel & they all graduated from Harvard. (Especially Alex & Nikkie at front desk) They treat customers like they are a bother. It's a great location but that is the only advantage to staying at this hotel. It's was amazing, everyone else's room was ready but mine. I guess a doctor in $300 jeans & flip-flops isn't as good as a 30k millionaire in a cheap suit. A

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runnin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Runnin26,

We deeply apologize for the problems that you experienced while checking in and staying at Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter. Please rest assured that we will be speaking with our front desk staff to ensure that no customer is treated with an attitude. Again, we are so sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

In the midst of Jazzfest with 100's of drunk guys begging for 100's of drunk women to take their tops off - I slept like a baby. If you love the French Quarter but do not want to deal with noise of bourbon street simply ask for a quiet room. Then you have a lovely hotel - good bed and the best of quarter in walking distance.

PS Skip the restaurant and do not believe the concierge. She told me court of two sisters was sold out and it was a 10 minute wait.

Room Tip: Loved my room 419 any on that side of hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jordan M,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy your experience here with us exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hypoluxo, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I grew up in the New Orleans area and remember this hotel way back when it was The Landmark. It's in the heart of the French Quarter so there is no way you could find a hotel that is better located. But there were some other good things...and a few not so good. The bed and bedding were very comfortable with crisp white sheets and fluffy pillows. We were on the inside so there was no noise problems at all. Some minor details were overlooked in bathroom. The ceiling around the light fixture in the bathroom was not completely covered with paint. And the trim rings around the handicapped rail in the shower were not installed properly. The one major issue we had was rather expensive parking fee that is not included. For the one night we were there, it cost $33+. I guess that's to be expected in a downtown area but it still seemed a little steep. All in all, I recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're not interested in hearing the non-stop party on Bourbon St., request a room on the ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phloridian623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter, which makes it a convenient location for enjoying bacchanalian pursuits. However, the location and facility are not ideal for work for this and other reasons. The physical facility is a bit worn but better than most in the quarter. Rooms are not ergonomic for work and electrical outlets for laptops only exist at the desk, so you're left to charge your phone elsewhere. There are no outlets accessible from the bed so relaxing while using your laptop is limited by battery time. You'd better bring your own WiFi HotSpot because the internet connection is poor, unreliable, and useless. Connections are dropped and speed when functioning is glacial. Pity the person who has to send or receive a large file. If you get a room, make sure it's to the rear of the hotel on a upper floor, otherwise you'll enjoy the Bourbon Street "wildlife" all night long.

Room Tip: Get a room that is to the rear of the hotel on an upper floor away from Bourbon Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FedVetAPHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear FedVetAPHIS,

We understand your concerns and we apologize for the inconvenient experience you had. We are currently undergoing renovations to our guest rooms, and we are adding new lighting fixtures, outlet options and bedcover. We are also working on the speed of the Internet. We hope that on your next trip to New Orleans you'll give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA USA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton on our return to New Orleans after a 9 day river trio up the Mississippi. Very fun being on Bourbon street. Noise quieted down around 10 PM. Rooms were nicely appointed and beds were extremely comfortable. Staff very friendly, and helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timtam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Timtam49,

Thank you for staying with us at Four Points by Sheraton. We are very glad you enjoyed your experience and we hope this will encourage you to try other Four Points hotels. We can't wait to see you back again the next time you are in New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Location was perfect! You are within walking distance to most anything you'd want to see or do in the French Quarter. If you get a street side room, it's going to be noisy- but I thought the bed was so comfortable that I really didn't mind the noise. Plus the balcony street side makes it worth it because you can see all the old architechture in the area from some of them. Pool area was beautiful and the staff was one of the most courteous I have ever seen. Remember that you are paying for the location and don't be shocked that while the rooms are clean and comfy, the amenities are a little dated, and not in the "cool old stuff" dated way. Water and internet are both free. Drinks at bar are resonably priced.

Room Tip: Street side rooms will be noisier that rooms on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABtravel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,199 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Property: Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Address: 541 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2105 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing