We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on Bourbon St.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #59 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I, along with a couple of friends, decided to give this hotel a try on our next trip to the Big Easy. The hotel had its good points and bad ones. Let me start with the good. This was the 5th time I had visited New Orleans. I've always stayed in the French Quarter but this was the first time staying at this hotel. I have never stayed at a hotel in N.O. that was this close to Bourbon St. That can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on your personal taste. It was a big plus for us being located literally on Bourbon St. It was easy to get to all the tourist destinations and grab a few drinks on Bourbon St. and then make a quick escape back to our room. We even had a balcony where we were able to throw beads at people on Bourbon St. The cleanliness of the room was on par with what you'd expect for a French Quarter Hotel. I did like that not just anyone off Bourbon could walk into the hotel, you had to show your room card every time. As far as the bad, we did have some issues with the room's AC. It was not working and we called to have it looked at. The person who came in mentioned something about the doors to the balcony needing to be closed which made no sense since they didn't have any sensors. The AC continued to malfunction with the doors closed which made us think he was just making it up. We just chalked it up to a bad/lazy employee not doing his job and left it at that.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony on Bourbon St. is a must if you want to get the full effect of what NoLa night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank js1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear js1405,

Thank you for choosing us on your trip to New Orleans. We are very glad that you stayed at Four Points French Quarter and we are so happy that our close location to Bourbon Street met your needs. We do apologize about the issue with the air conditioning unit, and will investigate with our maintenance stuff regarding the employee that gave you your listed explanation. We hope to see you again should visit this area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Staff is the absolute best, very clean, comfy beds and it's all about the great location. Right in the middle of all the excitement, couldn't ask for a better place. Security at the front door is good which is appreciated . You have to book the different tours , I really enjoyed the City Tour, the boat ride in the Bayou's visitng the wild life and the evening on the Natchez great food, music and great boat ride

Room Tip: On the pool side if you wnat a good night sleep otherwise very noisy, lot's of music and noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Fripou1,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the French Quarter and that our hotel could meet your expectations. We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

And if you like your bums and husslers right on top of you this is the place. Bourbon street smells like the bottom of a dumpster.You smell this odor every time you open the door, go onto your balcony etc.. This staff of this hotel act as if they are the only property in the entire French Quarter. You have a reservation? They'll see if they can accommodate you but if not, there's the door, "go somewhere else" I over heard as checking in with someone who thought they had made reservations 4 months in advance. As some other reviews mention there is a "security guard" at the door. (Desk Clerk) Because they need one. As is the norm in the French Quarter parking is $30 a day, taxes etc.. you're looking at $300 a day for the pleasure of dodging the homeless and husslers of Bourbon Street while smelling the bottom of a dumpster. IF we ever go back to the French Quarter it will not be for a stay at the Four Points. It is simply not worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline_Ko, Starwood Hotels at Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Geoff1725,

Please accept our apologies for the discussion you heard between our staff and another guest. We will be speaking with our front desk associates regarding this situation. Unfortunately the odors outside the door are beyond our control, but we work hard to ensure that we have someone stationed by the door to ensure that our guests are safe and taken care of. We hope that you will give us another chance during your next stay in New Orleans. Please contact Beth Ables, the General Manager, at b.ables@fourpointsfrenchquarter and she will ensure your next stay is taken care of from start to finish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

All things considered this place is pretty clean and safe for the middle of Bourbon St. We went here as a group of 10 professionals, partied on Bourbon and had a clean safe place to crash. Once the craziness starts this place has a guard on the front door checking passes and keeping the riff raff out.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs, you are on Bourbon St
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel is located right in the middle of Bourbon Street got a great deal on it throuh Southwest Airlines Vacations. I stayed in room 215 at the very back corner was very quite at night but the room was a little noisy in the morning as it appears there is a service elevator near the room and it is by a parking lot. The staff is very freindly and goes out of thier way for you. Was amazed thee deskclerk remebered my name each time I entered and left at night.

Room Tip: I would not stay in 215 by fire exit again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnK4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The service was phenomenal. Staff is always polite and goes above and beyond. Believe me, for New Orleans that's hard to find. For example, one of the days I had a cigarette in my hand in the lobby (there are no smoking rooms). A hotel maid was just passing by and hands me a towel "for outside". I thought she meant for the pool and I did not want to correct her out of politeness. I walk out to the patio and see a gentleman spraying everything down. I realize the chairs are wet and the maid had given me a towel to sit on without my needing to request one. Once I got out there, the man working outside stopped immediately and went inside until I was done so that I could have quiet while I smoked! Another example: I wanted breakfast from their lovely restaurant that is inside the hotel (only hotel access is wonderful as it keeps all the rowdy tourists from milling in). I wanted something made that was not on their menu but I knew they had the ingredients. No problem. The waiter gave no fuss, the chef delivered it to the table personally to make sure it suited me, and when it rang up it wasn't priced any different than a normal meal. The wait staff are abnormally pleasant and attentive without intruding on your meal.

The beds are some of the most comfortable I have ever slept on; as are the pillows! Granted I am a female weighing around 125 so I cannot review for a larger male.

I had a room with a poolside view. You can request balcony rooms facing bourbon or the side street. Honestly, the pool is more relaxing if you are there for business (makes you forget the french quarter). If you are trying to experience Bourbon street by all means get a balcony but it will be noisy. Even from my room I could hear loud music and such out on the street. Bourbon street is never quiet, so if you want to sleep on Bourbon side and don't plan on doing so from passing out drunk, bring earplugs.

Overall, my favorite hotel I have stayed at in the French Quarter/CBD area of New Orleans!

Room Tip: Poolside balconies are very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33,104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The rooms are remodeled and nice. For the price, I would give the rooms 5 stars, but my room had 2 huge red stains on the carpet near the bed, so there was the creep factor. I am sure it was just a spilled hurricane. . . The windows faced Bourbon street, so it was not quiet at night.
This hotel does not have a very attractive restaurant, so eat your meals elsewhere. Also, the service could be better. Having to get out of the shower and call housekeeping,after you realize the shampoo and conditioner have not been refilled, is not fun. Aside from these cons, the hotel is in the middle of all the action, but French Quarter is so small, it i shard not to be.

Room Tip: choose a room facing the courtyard, NOT Bourbon street or any cross street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,436 reviews
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
6,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#46 of 166 in New Orleans
2,269 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,997 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#63 of 166 in New Orleans
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Address: 541 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2105 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: $134 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing