We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best balcony room of Burbon St. for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #60 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Prairieville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best balcony room of Burbon St. for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went on another cruise from New Orleans and decided to stay in the Quarter again, but this time was a bachelor's cruise. Had to pay for parking, bummer. Staff was ok, it was a great place to be for what we wanted to do. For the price we only spent, we got a balcony and view on Burbon street and had a blast. Very old building with a lot of restoration and modernization kept up. Not like some of the forgotten b&bs or smaller hotels in the Quarter.

Room Tip: Burbon Street balcony, second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    369
    139
    51
    37
See reviews for
167
343
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The rooms are nice (although nothing special), there's a cute small pool, a tiny gym, and the location is right in the middle of the party (Bourbon st.). There is good free wi-fi throughout the hotel (including the rooms).
On the minus side, the shower had low-flow (seems to be a problem in other hotels in New Orleans as well), and the water was not always hot. In the sink, there was no real hot water (lukewarm at best), which made shaving a drag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yomama I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first time to New Orleans and this hotel and location was magnificent. Staff was great and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good also. The lobby was a bit noisy but that is Bourbon Street. Outside pool was very comfortable with plenty of room.

Room Tip: Rooms directly on Bourbon Street are noisy till 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangabraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights. My main complaint is with the maid service. I travel a lot, and found that service poor. First, the maid staff I encountered, with the exception of 2, were not pleasant and seemed upset to be there. Second, there is a coffee maker in the room. There was no creamer when I arrived and none was put there during my stay. Nor was the coffee or sugar replaced. When I returned in the evening, I noticed a green substance, with the consistency of shampoo, dripped down the inside of the tub. Nothing in the bathroom was that color, so I don't know what that was, but it was not there when I left. The bed was not "made", but rather the covers were just thrown back on.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe65Fal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very Nice inside, newly renovated (not everything is finished), a beautiful courtyard pool area that people were actually using. Very friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast is available (but go out and experience the local cuisine, it is different in the light of day). The price I paid was about $175 (hotels.com), but remember to add all the taxes they have to hit you with and the $33 a night valet parking.

Location, location, location - you can't beat it. Right at the corner of Bourbon and Toulouse. We had a room on the Toulouse side and it was quiet enough for sleeping even though the town roars well past 2 AM

Our room was well appointed, and clean, and smelled fine (if you have been to Bourbon before, you know why I said that). The only negatives were the windows were filthy on the outside and the fresh window paint job looked like it was done by a 3 year old. Some of the plumbing fixtures were hurriedly installed with poor fit and finish, but all were functional.

One additional note: this place is set up well for large groups, conferences, etc..., there were 2 or more going on while we were there. Larger groups can take over a place and get preferential treatment eg. the main lobby sitting area was roped off and set up for a meeting.

All things considered, if you want to be in the center of action this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you like Jazz, or just want a less hectic evening, take a cab ($8 inc tip) to Frenchmen Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_and_Diann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Located on the 500 block of Bourbon Street and with half of the rooms having outward facing balconies means you've hit the jackpot on branded hotel and location. The balance of rooms have "courtyard" facing balconies and are much quieter. Only have of the street balconies face on to Bourbon, the rest face a side street...which does NOT make it any quieter. The staff here is amazingly helpful. Security is also top-notch, even though you're staying in the middle of the party you don't have to worry about the party coming up to your room as a room key is required to even access the lobby during evening hours. There is a small piano lobby bar if you're looking to people watch without being in the middle of the party.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night: courtyard. If you want to sleep during the day: street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jig1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip. I was on the second floor. It was loud every night--weeknights in October. The hotel is cramped and dingey, although they were working on it while I was there. Nevertheless, there was severely peeling wall paper, unfinished ceilings (drywall only) and trash in the hall.

Our meeting was interrupted by "street performers" just outside the window begging for money and banging on plastic buckets. That's what we got for booking a meeting on Bourbon Street.

I arrived to find a note in my room stating that the tap water was not only unsafe to drink, but I shouldn't even wash my hands or take a shower until further notice. This was probably the fault of the New Orleans Public Works or Water Supply, and not the hotel, but no one at check in said anything to me. They must have figured that a note would suffice. The hotel also never informed me that the water ban was ever lifted. I was there for four days.

I didn't eat at the hotel because there were plenty of places close by that seemed more appealing.

To be fair, I am not a fan of New Orleans, especially not a fan of Bourbon Street. I figure that if someone is interested in Bourboun Street then they probably are not too interested in cleanliness nor are they interesteduch in appearances. If you plan to spend your time in New Orleans under the influence of alcohol, you probably won't notice the sub-par nature of this hotel. For me, I'll never return to this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luggnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,777 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,124 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#51 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Property: Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Address: 541 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing