We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Ranked #58 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first time to New Orleans and this hotel and location was magnificent. Staff was great and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good also. The lobby was a bit noisy but that is Bourbon Street. Outside pool was very comfortable with plenty of room.

Room Tip: Rooms directly on Bourbon Street are noisy till 4am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangabraintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    373
    139
    51
    38
See reviews for
169
349
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights. My main complaint is with the maid service. I travel a lot, and found that service poor. First, the maid staff I encountered, with the exception of 2, were not pleasant and seemed upset to be there. Second, there is a coffee maker in the room. There was no creamer when I arrived and none was put there during my stay. Nor was the coffee or sugar replaced. When I returned in the evening, I noticed a green substance, with the consistency of shampoo, dripped down the inside of the tub. Nothing in the bathroom was that color, so I don't know what that was, but it was not there when I left. The bed was not "made", but rather the covers were just thrown back on.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe65Fal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very Nice inside, newly renovated (not everything is finished), a beautiful courtyard pool area that people were actually using. Very friendly and attentive staff. Breakfast is available (but go out and experience the local cuisine, it is different in the light of day). The price I paid was about $175 (hotels.com), but remember to add all the taxes they have to hit you with and the $33 a night valet parking.

Location, location, location - you can't beat it. Right at the corner of Bourbon and Toulouse. We had a room on the Toulouse side and it was quiet enough for sleeping even though the town roars well past 2 AM

Our room was well appointed, and clean, and smelled fine (if you have been to Bourbon before, you know why I said that). The only negatives were the windows were filthy on the outside and the fresh window paint job looked like it was done by a 3 year old. Some of the plumbing fixtures were hurriedly installed with poor fit and finish, but all were functional.

One additional note: this place is set up well for large groups, conferences, etc..., there were 2 or more going on while we were there. Larger groups can take over a place and get preferential treatment eg. the main lobby sitting area was roped off and set up for a meeting.

All things considered, if you want to be in the center of action this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you like Jazz, or just want a less hectic evening, take a cab ($8 inc tip) to Frenchmen Street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_and_Diann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Located on the 500 block of Bourbon Street and with half of the rooms having outward facing balconies means you've hit the jackpot on branded hotel and location. The balance of rooms have "courtyard" facing balconies and are much quieter. Only have of the street balconies face on to Bourbon, the rest face a side street...which does NOT make it any quieter. The staff here is amazingly helpful. Security is also top-notch, even though you're staying in the middle of the party you don't have to worry about the party coming up to your room as a room key is required to even access the lobby during evening hours. There is a small piano lobby bar if you're looking to people watch without being in the middle of the party.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep at night: courtyard. If you want to sleep during the day: street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jig1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a business trip. I was on the second floor. It was loud every night--weeknights in October. The hotel is cramped and dingey, although they were working on it while I was there. Nevertheless, there was severely peeling wall paper, unfinished ceilings (drywall only) and trash in the hall.

Our meeting was interrupted by "street performers" just outside the window begging for money and banging on plastic buckets. That's what we got for booking a meeting on Bourbon Street.

I arrived to find a note in my room stating that the tap water was not only unsafe to drink, but I shouldn't even wash my hands or take a shower until further notice. This was probably the fault of the New Orleans Public Works or Water Supply, and not the hotel, but no one at check in said anything to me. They must have figured that a note would suffice. The hotel also never informed me that the water ban was ever lifted. I was there for four days.

I didn't eat at the hotel because there were plenty of places close by that seemed more appealing.

To be fair, I am not a fan of New Orleans, especially not a fan of Bourbon Street. I figure that if someone is interested in Bourboun Street then they probably are not too interested in cleanliness nor are they interesteduch in appearances. If you plan to spend your time in New Orleans under the influence of alcohol, you probably won't notice the sub-par nature of this hotel. For me, I'll never return to this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luggnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel only recently became a Sheraton Four Points. It is still being remodeled and staff is not yet very well trained (although they all were very nice and tried hard). Some negatives include: front desk giving incorrect info about Platinum gift (they said 500 points, but only credited me with 125…. Starwood ultimately upped this to 250, saying that is all Four Points locations gives to Platinums); not telling us that our floor hallways would be full of drop cloths, ladders and painters between (& beyond) elevators and our room on check-out day; there were no glasses (plastic or otherwise) in room (maid ultimately brought all she could find –some glass goblets); front desk ok-ing 4 PM checkout but still being bothered several times by manager and maid (even though we had a do not disturb sign on door) asking us when we were checking out (they said the front desk had not entered our late check-out information into computer) on afternoon of check-out; there were no sockets near desk to plug in anything and finally the thermostats was one of those “cool only” type that actually made room even colder if you set it too much above ambient temperature. On the plus side: location is great (on Bourbon Street in middle of French Quarter) and even though we had a balcony (facing side street) the room was acceptably quiet, bed was very comfortable, and the shower power and water temperature were fine. My wife loved the place and the room, finding it “charming” for a boutique type hotel. My advice is to wait until they get their act together and then this should be a fine place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingdoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

On arrival for the first time in Bourbon Street, even at 1am on a Monday morning the shock over just how much this hotel is in the middle of the craziness of Bourbon St will hit you. There were police out the front on horseback and thousands of people everywhere, all drinking cocktails and having fun.
We were allocated a room at the back which we were thankful for, although the music and madness died down by 2am.
Rooms were fairly small, and had a double bed only, all the amenities were present from hairdryers to safe. The room had a nice balcony overlooking a side street in the French Quarter.
Bathroom was well maintained and had a bath.
Remainder of the hotel is well maintained and they are in the process of repainting the halls.
Swimming pool is nice and is surrounded by the hotel, giving it a nice outlook, although you loose the sun pretty early in the afternoon.
A good choice for those who want to be in the middle of the action, and not bothered by the noise, parties and good times happening outside. If so, stay in French Market or on Canal Street.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the hotel if you a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#27 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,824 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,194 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Holiday Inn New Orleans - Chateau Lemoyne
French Quarter
Maison Dupuy
Maison Dupuy
#49 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter

Property: Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Address: 541 Bourbon St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2105 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Hotel - Inn on Bourbon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton French Quarter hotel is ideally located nearby world renowned Jazz, parades, shopping, and Cajun food at the intersection of Bourbon and Toulouse Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Hotel
Ramada New Orleans
New Orleans Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing