We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history and experience in the hustle of the French Quarter”

Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$180.00*
and up
New Orleans Machine Gun and Airboat Tour
More Info
$28.94*
and up
Paddle the Swamp - Canoe and Kayak Louisiana Bayou Tour
Ranked #21 of 358 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature reserve, consisting of several sections, preserves significant examples of the natural and cultural resources of the Mississippi Delta region.
Curtice, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great history and experience in the hustle of the French Quarter”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great history lessons for kids and adults. The exhibits include not just natural history but all of the historical elements that make New Orleans and the surrounding area such a melting pot of cultures. My ten year old was absorbed in the readings and movie. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only thing that could have been better is if all of the audio features had worked. Hearing the dialects would have been nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PfeiffersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    194
    56
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Unspoiled and tranquil”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Barataria Preserve area to get away from the hustle and bustle of New Orleans. The park has several nice boardwalk trails through the swamp that are ideal for seeing alligators and wild birds. The Bayou Coquille trail is about a two mile round trip and is the best route for seeing gators. Snakes too, so watch your step! A pleasant and enjoyable escape from NOLA just 30 minutes from downtown. Bring water!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ussafs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Our Captain Jason was funny, informative, had razor sharp vision & excellent driving skills. We saw PLENTY of gators and wildlife. Shared lots of history, insight to the swamp pre/post Katrina and details about wildlife. Highly recommend to all visiting. Our driver who picked us up was super helpful and gave us a mini tour while driving around.

Helpful?
2 Thank victoriosa01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magical and Beautiful - Barataria Preserve, Marrero”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a review of the Barataria Preserve that is part of the Jean Lafitte National Park located at Barataria Preserve Unit-Jean, 6588 Barataria Blvd, Marrero, LA 70072 (about 15 miles south of the Latin Quarter). I spoke with a staff lady who suggested that we take the Bayou Coquille Trail that runs into the Marsh Overlook Trail (map located at http://www.nps.gov/jela/upload/Side%20Two%20of%20BARA%20Trail%20Map%20062209.pdf). This trail is FABULOUS. There is a lovely board walk with many places to sit and look at all the natural and cultural wonders. It begins by following a bayou travelled by Jean Lafitte, then turns along a man made channel and you end up at an overlook across an open meadow area. The first trail is flat and accessible and was one of the loveliest places I have seen in Louisiana - a true treasure! “It begins on high ground deposited by flooding from the Bayou des Families, once a major distributary of the Mississippi River. An American Indian village was there about 200-600 A.D. As the trail descends, walk through hardwood forest with live oaks, stands of dwarf palmettos, the swamp with it baldcypress trees, and finally the freshwater march’s floating prairie of grasses and aquatic plants.” (NPS) You can power-walk it quickly or stroll and take your time. I would recommend the latter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SaintPaulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice for hiking”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We enjoyed going to the visitor's center. It is up on stilts over a bayou type area. We enjoyed a hike and would like to spend more time hiking more of the park. The rangers working in the visitor's center were very nice and helpful. This is a very pretty park.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AlTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing