We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy Hour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dominic's Bar - CLOSED

Dominic's Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Happy Hour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Happy Hour 3 til 6PM. Half price Pizza, and half price Glasses of wine. $7 for a glass of wine is better than $14. Pizza great . Fun atmosphere. Even went back a few days later and paid full price.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank BeachMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Bar From Hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed in the hotel next to this bar, and was recommended the bar by the doorman. A crowd of us went to the bar, made up of Americans, British and Canadians.This was my fourth visit to New Orleans and I must say this is by far the worst bar I've ever been in. The barman was a surly rude guy, who snatched the money and made snide comments when serving drinks. We tipped far more than the other American people drinking there, but this made no difference to his manner. He clearly has an attitude problem and a huge chip on his shoulder. I think he may well be the same guy mentioned below. If it was, I agree the guy IS a moron. My advice to people visiting the great city of New Orleans is, don't put up with the rudeness, find a better bar there are plenty around.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible Bar!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I was also present at the incident mentioned below. The barman was VERY offensive and would have been in big trouble if he acted this way elsewhere. He WAS tipped over and above what is expected in the US. He seemed to think that the world owed him a living. The owner of the bar was present and allowed this moron to act in this manner. The barman was reported by the police for his behaviour, well done New Orleans PD. I have worked and travelled all over the US for the last 20 years, and this is the most unfriendly bar I have ever been in. Not typical of New Orleans I hasten to add. I would not recommend this bar to anyone. As previously stated, far better bars elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Besty2009_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“re: incident from first review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

This man is a Big Cry BABY.

In this country people whom waiter work on tips.

no wonder he was pissed.

This is a great place, good food, good drinks, good location, great atmosphere.
best pizza in town

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cbeauregard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOLA
1 review
“Expect the Unexpected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Nice mix of locals, tourists, and young professionals chillin' after work. For locals (like myself), this place feels a lot like the Cheers of New Orleans, especially since they've started grilling every Sunday (Yay, free food!). You never know what or who you'll see next, and during football season it's a nonstop party. I was actually there during the incident mentioned by the tourist reviewer, and I have to say that while the bartender did overreact, his sentiment (anger at not being tipped, or being tipped far less than current protocols of American etiquette dictate, while at the same time offering good service and earning far less than minimum wage in shift pay) was understandable in context. Anyway, they have some great new bartenders and it's a nice change of pace from the Quarter. They sell cigars, have nice TVs, WiFi, and live music, and their Bloody Marys kick @$$! I I agree with a reviewer on another site who said that if you stop by and the atmosphere or bartender doesn't suit your fancy, just come back later, as their people have a wide range of personality types and interests. You're bound to find one you love- Definitely worth visiting!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank QuackieNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dominic's Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing