We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Camping Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans West KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Orleans West KOA
Save
You added New Orleans West KOA to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Camping Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Brought my kids camping to New Orleans, and stayed for a few nights at the KOA. Staff was nice and helpful, location was right in the middle of all the areas that we wanted to see. I would recommend this place for a weekend camping getaway. Weekdays are less busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    24
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have stayed at this KOA several times and it is always a great experience. On our last visit in April a few of the pads were being redone so they will be perfectly level.

Staff is friendly and the grounds are kept very clean which is a huge plus in my book!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and already met most of the staff who told us all the latest gossip. Super friendly, very much child friendly Koa to stay, highly recommended. The only problem (which is actually ours) is that the sewer tank is far from water tap, but that's our issue. Swimming pool is cold, welcomed with this super hot weather, bathrooms get a good scrub between 12-14:00 daily. It's close to perfect if not the neighberhood

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lio56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place for Rving or camping although not close to French Quarters. Staff was super friendly and helpful with anything and everything! They have shuttles to the French Quarter daily (free) and have taxi service at reasonable rates available. The KOA is very clean. We stayed with our 32 ft trailer for a week and would highly recommend staying at this KOA. This is a dog friendly park but unfortunately no dog park! All dogs MUST be on a leash at all times since animal control drives through. But they do offer a dog walking service for a reasonable fee. Felt very safe staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This KOA seemed to be in a nit so nice area but once inside not a problem. Very friendly staff and park was clean. We did not use the bath house so I can not comment in that. The sites are all back in sites but are concrete which is nice. The front of all the sites are low so your front end may be jacked high but after a night if rain I see why. There was no dog park and I missed that. It was kind if strange that there were a few houses in this park. We did not take the van to town because we had a car but did see several people do so. Be sure to eat at Charlie's which is in an ugly real building but very good!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great spot with ultra friendly staff. Shady spot next to the pool and rest rooms we were offered - that's right offered. They took us out to have a look and pick the site we would like. Staff came back through to check everything was okay and for a chat. Asked where we were going and suggested a few ideas. Cannot fault at all. Highly recommended.
Facilities are spotless, pool included. Great wifi signal too

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Panda1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were skeptical about camping in a city like New Orleans. We weren't sure if it'd be clean, safe, or spacious enough to actually camp, but we were super impressed with the New Orleans West KOA! Our campsite was large, under a huge shady tree, and the pool was clean and cool. The whole camp is within a walled area near the airport, so the only disturbances in the night were people in the adjacent neighborhood or a plane or train nearby, but other than that we slept comfortably and felt safe.

Definitely take advantage of the free shuttle to the French Quarter that this KOA provides... not only is it super convenient, but the man/camp co-owner that drives the van doubles as a "tour guide", and it is a ridiculous, informative, and very entertaining little trip. ;-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allisonmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
1.6 mi away
Hilton New Orleans Airport
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn New Orleans Airport
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel New Orleans Airport
2.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel New Orleans Airport
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orleans West KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orleans West KOA

Property: New Orleans West KOA
Address: 11129 Jefferson Hwy, New Orleans, LA 70123-1705
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing