We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French Quarter Walking Tour”

Friends of the Cabildo
Ranked #30 of 216 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Friends of the Cabildo Tours are everyday at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m from the 1850 House Museum Store on Historic Jackson Square (523 St. Ann Street). Friends of the Cabildo is a private non-profit 501 (c) 3 corporation founded in New Orleans in 1956. The FOC is a support organization for the Louisiana State Museum's and its departments of collections, education, and exhibit. Friends of the Cabildo also operates the 1850 House Museum Store for the Museum, serving as its official Louisiana State Museum Store.The Friends also provide walking tour guide training classes for licensed tour guides. The month long intense class is one of two classes in the City of New Orleans and its guides are some of the best in the city. Guides volunteer their time to give two tours a day everyday from the 1850 House Museum Store (523 St. Ann Street) and each guide provides a historical, cultural and architectural view of the city that they learned in the class, but also creates a story of New Orleans that he or she has experienced. Tours leave from the 1850 House Museum Store on Historic Jackson Square at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. everyday. Note: The tail of Andrew Jackson's Horse in Jackson Square points straight at the store!
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“French Quarter Walking Tour”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Enjoyable walking tour of the French Quarter. Knowledgable guide with lots of interesting stories. Added bonus, included in the $15.00cost of the tour was a self guided tour of the residence located on the upper floors of theJackson Square pick up/drop off point. Definitely value for the money.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarollynBoyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the tour and thank you for supporting the FOC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    33
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great way to take in the French Quarter”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This tour is super good for the $15 and is thoughtful and informative and in 2+ hours allows one to get a really good feel and history of New Orleans. Plus, an excellent presentation on the architecture. Highly recommend. Bathroom at the pick up and drop off point and well priced water for purchase.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BenJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We think it's a great deal as well, glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for supporting the FOC and Louisiana State Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, Df
Level Contributor
153 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We did a two-hour walking tour of the French Quarter (with Sandy) and found it delightful - informative and calm. We learned a lot and as is always true with a good tour, your attention is drawn to tihngs you would otherwise just walk past.
Would happily recommend these torus - they're really good value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffStranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Sandy is one our best! Thanks for supporting the FOC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walk the Talk with Linda Deane, A friend of the Cabildo”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our nominal 1.5 hour walking tour around the New Orleans French Quarter. And Linda Deane as our seasoned "insider" guide delivered a wonderful, detailed and diverse view of note worthy events and insights about this intriguing city. There is coverage of the diverse inhabitants of days past, the architectural elements, the political worlds that have come and gone and the impact that time exacts on all things. N.O. is far too complex to understand in a 2 hour tour, but as a friend of the Cabildo, Linda Deane, brings to life fascinating tidbits of this unique now American city. Add to this a tour of the Cabildo Museum as well. While the life of this city is fascinating, my wife and I prefer to stay in the present time. N.O. may have been a heck of a "frontier" city but a bit too wild for us!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichTravel4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the tour and thank you for supporting the Friends of the Cabildo and Louisiana State Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A memorizing tour that lets you forget about the heat & humidity”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Walking tours provide a personal view of a city that can’t be gained from a car, bike, or carriage. Finding a good walking tour isn’t easy, but the volunteer guides for the Friends of Cabildo offer two French Quarter Walking Tours a day. My guide was exceptional. His passion to share the history of the French Quarter means he leads multiple tours a week. The best news reservations aren’t required and tickets run $15 each for the two hour walk.

Our group had an added bonus as our group met a fellow guide near the end of our tour and we were given an inside peak of the courtyard area where he lives. This meant our tour ran over two hours in length, but oh, what a wonderful walk it was.

Tours leave from the 1850 House Museum Store at 523 St. Ann Street across from Jackson Square. Bring bottled water – or buy it at the 1850 House Museum Store.

This tour was a great personal way to learn about the French Quarter. My guide was so good that I found that I forgot about the heat and humidity of the city as I discovered what group was the largest ethnic population in NOLA in 1870, the difference between a gallery and a balcony, how citizens learned that Yellow Fever had broken out among residents, etc.

PS Don’t ignore the items in the 1850 House Museum shop. I found several holiday gifts from among the stylish, locally produced jewelry pieces. It’s wonderful to be able to help a worthy nonprofit while finding distinctive gifts for people you love!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hbsboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your tour and we thank you for your support of the Louisiana State Museum and Friends of the Cabildo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends of the Cabildo also viewed

 

Been to Friends of the Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing