We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends of the Cabildo Tours are great”

Friends of the Cabildo
Ranked #30 of 216 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Friends of the Cabildo Tours are everyday at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m from the 1850 House Museum Store on Historic Jackson Square (523 St. Ann Street). Friends of the Cabildo is a private non-profit 501 (c) 3 corporation founded in New Orleans in 1956. The FOC is a support organization for the Louisiana State Museum's and its departments of collections, education, and exhibit. Friends of the Cabildo also operates the 1850 House Museum Store for the Museum, serving as its official Louisiana State Museum Store.The Friends also provide walking tour guide training classes for licensed tour guides. The month long intense class is one of two classes in the City of New Orleans and its guides are some of the best in the city. Guides volunteer their time to give two tours a day everyday from the 1850 House Museum Store (523 St. Ann Street) and each guide provides a historical, cultural and architectural view of the city that they learned in the class, but also creates a story of New Orleans that he or she has experienced. Tours leave from the 1850 House Museum Store on Historic Jackson Square at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. everyday. Note: The tail of Andrew Jackson's Horse in Jackson Square points straight at the store!
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friends of the Cabildo Tours are great”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This tour was great. The guide knew what he was talking about to the tiny detail. Most of the guides are originally from New Orleans. The guides are all certified thru a special intense course not attended by other tour guides. All of the guides are volunteers also. They offer up river and down river tours and gear them to the people in the group. The groups are small also. Two hours and about 1 1/2 miles of walking. Fantastic. Thanks

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your tour and thank you for supporting the Friends of the Cabildo and the Louisiana State Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    33
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
154 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love the Quarter but not this Tour”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I went on a tour of the Quarter done by the Friends of the Cabildo. I assumed this would be a great history tour. The guild urged everyone to get water and use the rest room before we left but then she left without 4 of the tour takers. We caught up with her in Jackson square where the tour went through huge crowds and noisy street performers. The first 30 minutes were about the floods from Hurricane Katrina. I found this odd because the French Quarter did NOT flood. We went behind Cafe Dumond then crossed Decauter St. The tour guide was at the Joan of Arc statue telling the story while half the the group were playing chicken to cross the street to catch up. I considered the the fee for this tour a "donation". I learned more about the Quarter from the carriage ride then this tour.

The Quarter is a grat place to walk around.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YonkersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I took a tour given by the "Friends of the Cabildo" and although the tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable there was too much discussion about architecture and too little about history and culture.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good, Interesting, and Affordable”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This tour is given by the "Friends of the Cabildo". Our guide was very knowledgable and interesting. The tour was a little over 2 hours long. It started in Jackson Square and ended in Jackson Square. We learned many interesting facts about historic people and buildings in the French Quarter. This tour also included a walk through of the 1850 house which was a self guided tour.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BubbieTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great membership”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Given that the membership included multiple admissions to multiple museums and homes to tour, it's worth it even for out of towners like us. With all the events emails we get, we wish we could go use this membership more than we already have. I don't think we would have missed even one of their members-only events if it weren't that we live over 13 hours drive away.

Would highly, highly recommend it, even if you only have one weekend in New Orleans.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank becca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendsofthecabildo, Manager at Friends of the Cabildo, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Glad you enjoy your membership and we hope more out-of-towners realize the benefits of becoming a FOC member, even if you are in town just once. For $55, which includes a family for a walking tour and membership to all of the museums, we feel that it's a great deal. Thank you for supporting the Friends of the Cabildo and the Louisiana State Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends of the Cabildo also viewed

 

Been to Friends of the Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing