We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Few tourists know this great neighborhood cafe”
Review of Maple Street Cafe

Maple Street Cafe
Ranked #604 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Few tourists know this great neighborhood cafe”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Maple Street Cafe has some of the best food around & the service is wonderful, but most tourists would never know about this small Uptown upscale restaurant. If you are going to be visiting Tulane or Loyola Universities or Audubon Park & Zoo or just riding the scenic St. Charles Ave. Streetcar route, the Maple St. Cafe would be a wonderful choice for a memorable meal. I recommend the duck with plum sauce & their mashed sweet potatoes. You would feel comfortable there in suits & ties or sports clothes. Jackets are not necessary, but torn jeans & T-shirts are not commonly seen there. If you're riding the Streetcar, have the driver tell you when to get off at the Hillary St. stop. The restaurant is less than 3 blocks away. There's a map on the website below.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justtagalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
300 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great evening”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This small place does a fantastic job. It was our second time eating here. All the food was wonderful and our service was very friendly and attentive. Mezes appetizer was delicious. We enjoyed the angel hair ziad and the redfish special. The wine list is not extensive but the selections are good. Definately recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jegnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The food and the service were WONDERFUL. The oyster appetizer was large enough for 2 people and tasted really yummy. All soups and entrees were superb and our server was very interactive and helpful. We were not dressed for evening dining, but were made to feel very comfortable and certainly had the best service. Looking forward to returning.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bright, pleasant with good food”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We went there for lunch after checking out Fresco's next door, which looked more like fast food but with table-service prices. The prices here were fair, service was fine. Seafood was very good. Nice experience in a comfortable, uncrowded environment. We sat right next to the front window where there were some dead flies, but it seemed clean aside from that.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freshairmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Tired of the overpriced, monotonous choices in the city center (and all too often in the French Quarter), found a listing for this restaurant and a few favorable reviews, so I and two colleagues traveled out to it via cable car (they run 24 hrs./day, only $1.25 each way--about 20 minutes through the glorious Garden District). Once we got off on the closest stop, it was a brief 2-block walk from St. Charles to Maple Street.

The restaurant is in a converted house on a small neighborhood business block, but bright, cheery, and updated. Perhaps 25-30 tables in all, so intimate feel. We arrived about 6 p.m. on a Friday evening, and had no problem getting a table (although it was filling up by the time we finished). Waitperson staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Many specials to choose from in addition to a menu with variety. Good wine list; small but good local selection of bottled beer.

We started with salads, stuffed shrimp appetizer and bread. I had a salmon steak grilled and on a bed of cooked and seasoned spinach, with potatoes. My colleagues had pasta and crawfish in a lemon-butter sauce, and roast duck with cooked greens and potatoes. All were outstanding--generous portions without being ridiculously large. Unfortunately, we didn't have room for dessert, all of which looked just as good. For each of us, with tip, the meal was about $45.

Can't recommend it more highly as a super option outside of the tourist traps.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maple Street Cafe also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Maple Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing