We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at first glance but......Amazing.”
Review of Magnolia Grill - CLOSED

Magnolia Grill
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: IN THE FRENCH QUARTER ACROSS FROM FRENCH QUARTER MARKET
Pensacola Beach, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not at first glance but......Amazing.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Christina was very warm and she made me feel more like I was in her grandmas kitchen than in a restaurant. The jumbalaya was HEAVENLY!!! First time for gator sausage and it was Ok. Laid back perfect place for lunch after shopping at the market!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    86
    37
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Jimbalaya in NOLA, Real Louisiana atmosphere”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

From the moment you walk in the door you have a 'stepped back in time' feeling. Food is fresh and they cook right in front of you. The blackened catfish was great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berne3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stopped in here for an unplanned meal. We weren't really sure if the place was supposed to be good, bad, or ugly. Chances are any establishment that is bad would not survive in the French Quarter. I was pleasantly surprised. The food was good. The Jambalaya was really good and the food was served pretty quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluiz1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purvis, MS
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Little Disorganized, but Worth It!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a great experience at Magnolia Grill. My partner & I both had basic hamburgers. The hamburgers were amazing! They cooked the meat as requested. The beef had a noticeably fresh taste. Even the French fries were good. I will definitely return to try other items on the menu.

The Magnolia Grill has a street diner feel. Far from fine dining or gourmet; so don't expect it.

We did have to wait a little while (20 minutes or so) before we were seated (mainly due to the small size of the dining area). I probably would have given the restaurant a 5/5; but the hard working waiters & waitresses appeared to be a little disorganized when trying to seat customers. Leadership issue maybe? Plus the dining area needs to be expanded (maybe move the location or expand if possible?)

Either way; for $8-$15 an entree; you can't beat it; especially in the Quarter of NOLA.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Incredible food in the French Market for great price.”
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived for lunch and sat at the counter where we could see the cooks. I got chicken vegetable soup and BLT and my husband got a cup of Jambalaya and blackened chicken. The people next to us got chicken stuffed waffles and other breakfast stuff. Everything that we got was wonderful and delicious and prepared quickly.
They have one front end chef that I think is the head chef that would make Chef Ramsey proud. Tall thin white guy that runs a tight kitchen. Very organized and always seemed to know what was going on with every order and table. I would eat here again in a minute!

Helpful?
Thank KimC40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing