We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hollywood in New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original New Orleans Movie Tours

Original New Orleans Movie Tours
Ranked #15 of 213 Tours in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A unique movie experience! Let us give you a city tour of New Orleans while playing video clips from your favorite movies, while we visit the actual filming locations aboard our intimate 10 passenger van! A locally owned and operated tour by Jonathan Ray.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Pasadena, California
1 review
“Hollywood in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Loved this tour and found it very informative and fun. I loved how they played movie clips while showing you spots where the movie was filmed.
The guide was friendly and knowledgeable, bus was clean and comfortable. Would send a friend here for sure.
Thanks for a great experience!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaraS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    33
    2
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Movie tour in New Orleans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was a fun tour. Learned that NOLA was call the Hollywood of the South. They drive you around town showing you different movie clips at the actual location where they were filmed(Red, Green Lantern, Expendibles, Street Car Named Desire, etc). Saw were they were filming HBO series Treme. Jonathan Ray was our guide. He was very knowledgeable and helpful. Purchased tickets on Groupon at 50% off.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty24Ray27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pankocrustedworm, Owner at Original New Orleans Movie Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write me a review. I am very proud of my tour and I hope I was able to entertain and educate you about the filming history of New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tour of New Orleans and movies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We really enjoyed the New Orleans Movie Tour. After taking several walking tours, it was nice to be able to sit back and ride for a while. As others have mentioned, we had no idea that so many films were made in New Orleans. We will have to watch these movies again. The tour was loaded with lots of information. It was neat to see the movie at the same time as seeing the actual spot where the movie was filmed. Definitely recommend this tour.
Try to avoid sitting in the back seat. The windows of the van in back are limited, so seeing everything can be difficult.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sohlhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pankocrustedworm, Owner at Original New Orleans Movie Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed my tour and that I inspired you to go home and watch these movies. Don't forget there is a list of everything filmed and currently filming on my website (www.nolamovies.com)! And next time you take my tour I'll make sure to get you a seat right next to me!! Thank you for the great review and taking the time to write it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for movie lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Johnathon was loaded with information. Gave a great 2 hour tour. Learn some movie history and also see different parts of NOLA. Learned of several old movies that I now want to go back and see. Din't know before that NOLA was such a big filming city.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Terrible, Closed for a Week?!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for this tour. The fine print stated that it was not valid 1/19/13-2/12/13 or 4/26/13-5/5/13. I was traveling to NOLA the week of 1/14 so I purchased it. When I tried to make the appointment on 1/16 they said that they decided to close that week. Nice, so because it was cold and the week before the start of Mardi Gras they decided to close. They should have stated this on the deal with Groupon. Nowhere did it even say to check with the company prior on their website for additional dates where they may be closed. I’ll never try to book a tour with this company again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pankocrustedworm, Owner at Original New Orleans Movie Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am so sorry that we disappointed you. We were not closed because it was cold (we are a driving tour). And every now and then life emergencies pop up. I had a death in my family and that is not something I wanted to share with my guests but it is the reality of the situation. Seeings how that my knowledge is the tour, it makes the tour unable to operate and I apologize for that. I have an amazing tour and I hope you will come back and try it again. And remember your vouchers are still good and you have lost no money. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original New Orleans Movie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Original New Orleans Movie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing