We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious vegan food in New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmo

Carmo
Ranked #19 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
Billings, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Delicious vegan food in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was fortunate enough to be staying at a hotel just a few blocks away from Carmo. I wound up going there twice, since Winter Storm Leon forced us to stay in town a few extra night. Both times I ate there it was spectacular! The trinity veggie soup on special was so good, that I got it both times I went. I had a great sandwich for lunch, and a few days later tried the dinner special, which was beautiful and tasty. I'd highly recommend Carmo to anyone that is looking for a tasty, healthy meal. The atmosphere is funky and artsy. The service is friendly, and the staff is knowledgeable about the dishes they serve. So glad that I got the opportunity to eat here!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    119
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
466 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Tasty food inspired by the Caribbean Islands. The Rico, a plantain and pulled pork dish, was especially delicious. Reminded us of Puerto Rico. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had scouted out the trip advisor reviews and was really not dissappointed. What a wonderful menu and the food was prepared on the spot to serve - fresh and tasty. The Carmo salad was a huge serving (the small size) and we had the Rico (pulled pork, avocados, etc... on a plantain-no bread). I also had a tea infused drink - L'Entrepot - which was fantastic. This is in the warehouse district, near the museums on Julia Street, just off of Camp. This restaurant fits well with this part of the city. The service is a little slow and confused- genuinely nice people and want you to enjoy yourself - the setting inside the restaurant is ample and fun - just need a little more attention to detail for when it's busy would be helpful. This could also just be growing pains. As long as they stick to their food delivery - I'd go back and certainly recommend it for lunch

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travel1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So good.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. Seat yourself, order at the register, they bring the food. I had the Broken Noodle salad - a little spicy but so fresh. My husband had the Brazilian Chicken Salad and he raved - spicy and really tasty.

Eat here - so good! Very near the WW II museum.

Helpful?
Thank dotgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

While visiting the warehouse district, be sure to stop in to Carmo's. After visiting the Ogden, we stopped into Carmo's and enjoyed a delicious and very fresh lunch. The broken noodle salad was delicious, but everything on the small menu looked good. The service is very friendly. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The owners care about the food they are serving.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EileenAlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing