We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmo

Carmo
Ranked #19 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
houston
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great food. Lots of vegetarian and vegan options. Reasonable prices. Street parking available. Portions great for lunch- small for dinner. Atmosphere/ambiance lacking. Unique options.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MNSc-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    119
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“SO glad we stumbled across this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Do NOT be turned-off by the vegan menu, as you can order your food with meat!

I can NOT recommend the Rico ( with meat, of course) enough!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrk2hrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Veggie Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a gem we found in NOLA. Very flavorful food. We went here twice during our 3 day trip. Both time for lunch. Veggie King sandwich is amazing, so fresh. We had Veggie Gumbo one day as special and 2nd day was a veggie soup which was equally good. They have a lot of good options for non-veg people as well.
We also ordered broken noodle sandwich - was a lil sweet for our taste (We love spicy food), however, ingredients were fresh.
I would love to go here again whenever i go back to NOLA

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bawa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Art, Food, cool place to chill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We are visiting New Orleans and saw the reviews for this place. Really nice change of pace from the rest of the restaurants. Their menu is focused on healthy options which we like. Husband got the Rico plate and I got a garden salad. Very nicely done. Experience was great!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kanah59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING BANANA BREAD CAKE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is really great. I got the seafood Gumbo and it was fresh and beautifully cooked. The lace itself has a lovely feel to it with some really good art and the staff are really friendly. For dessert I got the Caribbean banana bread cake, which was divine! I highly recommend this place - it even does gluten free/vegan/veggie options as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LizDzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing