We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky veg-friendly restaurant in the Arts District” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmo

Carmo
Ranked #19 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Magazine
Description: Carmo is a New Orleans-based tropical restaurant and bar with a commitment to providing vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike with healthy and affordable dishes in a warm, friendly and casual atmosphere. The menu is built upon the rich, multi-cultural culinary influences found throughout the Caribbean, Central and South America, West Africa, Southeast Asian, Gulf South and beyond and features eclectic and traditional/traditionally-inspired dishes with an emphasis on fresh, local ingredients, as well as unique and little-known flavors from around the world. Exotic fruit such as juice of the cocoa fruit (cacau), cupuacu, graviola (sour sop), caja and caju infuse Carmo's juice and cocktail menu with exciting new flavors.
Sharon MA, USA
Level Contributor
311 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Funky veg-friendly restaurant in the Arts District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

First some facts
* you order at the counter
* you take your silverware and water glasses from the counter to your table
* staff bring your food to your table when it is ready
* there are 3 seating areas -- (1) near the counter (2) in an adjoining storefront that has a garage-type door -- it was open on the evening we were there (3) in a back room area near the restrooms

The food
* special of the day was Moroccan soup and mushroom stew. The soup was good, but the stew was quite bland.
* the Carmo salad was good

staff were friendly and helpful. We'll be back to try other dishes.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Shakespeare_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful. While I'm glad you enjoyed the Moroccan soup, I'm sorry you found the mushroom stew bland. We make sure to season our soups and stews throughout each stage of the cooking process so that the flavor is just right. I'll be sure to use your feedback to improve going forward. I'm delighted to hear you plan on coming back, and I look forward to your next visit.

Best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    119
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Great food wine and service. Try the brazilian cheese breads and their home made hot sauce.

Can't go wrong eating here. Staff were friendly and helpful. I'll be back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks Rachel! I'll be sure to let the staff know you appreciated their friendly and helpful service. Hope to see you again the next time you're craving our Brazilian cheese breads!

Take care,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Primarily all vegetarian, vegan menu but there are options for meat. A little on the pricey side but the food tastes really good. Try the Esmeralda salad - delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KSo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thanks for your review! We offer a wide range of vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free and meat-based dishes so that everyone can find something delicious to eat. It's nice to know you appreciate it. Hope to see you back again soon!

Take care,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

On a beautiful Saturday while visiting NOLA I stumbled upon Carmo. If you are looking for fresh local ingredients with a charming atmosphere this is your place. And if the hustle and bustle of the french quarter is taking a toll on you, unwind with a meyer lemon and orange sangria. I look forward to returning to Carmo and seeing what else the wonderful chefs have cooked up.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feel good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our dinner at Carmo offered a refreshing break from more traditional New Orleans cuisine and restaurant experiences on our recent vacation. The food was healthy and delicious -- I had a salmon salad in which the fish tasted super fresh and expertly seasoned. My daughters enjoyed making their drink selections from the exotic juices menu. The atmosphere was casual and relaxed, and the proprietors were so nice that their goodwill was infectious. The experience left us feeling healthy and in good spirits!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana H, Owner at Carmo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Karen,

Thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear our food left you "feeling healthy and in good spirits." Instead of relying on fried Cajun food, we try to set ourselves apart from standard New Orleans restaurants by serving tropical fare that's both delicious and nutritious. I'm glad you and your daughters enjoyed everything. Hope to see you back again soon!

All the best,
Dana, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmo also viewed

 

Been to Carmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing