We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Audubon Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Audubon Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Audubon Cottages are just amazing. This place is often referred to as a "private Oasis" in New Orleans....that is putting it mildly. The cottages are are located in the heart of the city, yet you feel like you are in the middle on nowhere. You enter through a keyed private gate right off Dauphine St, and step into pure serenity. The cottages have their own private gated courtyard. The cottages themselves are truly amazing, very spacious, and very well done. Two large bedrooms, with private baths, and a large living room, finely appointed. The history behind this property is equally impressive. I have never stayed in such a quaint place before, and would have a difficult time finding one again. I would not hesitate to stay at the Audubon Cottages again. The price is a bit steep, but it does come with a butler!!! If you have the opportunity to stay here, you should do so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marky01095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
74
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in cottage 2. Lovely - looked exactly as shown in photos above. The hotel is one street away from the craziness of Bourbon St, but the minute you go through that door to the courtyard, you're in an oasis. Everything was beautiful upon arrival.

The challenges were as follows:
- since when does a butler not know the local restaurants? She had only one to recommend, ironically the one right across from the related hotel.
- somehow they forgot to clean our room on Sunday. Yes we left later than we had the day before (10:30 vs. 9:30) but really? The garbage was collecting on the sitting room sink - yes, we went through a lot of water, pop (which is included) and a few collectable cups from the bars, but why would those not be removed? We had to actually ask for the service lady to take them. Also why wouldn't she think to replace the shampoo every day and get us another bar of soap?
- breakfast was beautifully presented but pretty cheap, given the quality of the hotel and price of rooms. That said, the coffee and orange juice were excellent. Took a while to receive if you hadn't asked night before...
- wildlife - we had a nice little visit from a rat in our courtyard. Now I realize that New Orleans generally has a rodent and bug problem. While the staff handled the incident very well, I am wondering if the fact that everyone is eating in their courtyard and the clean up takes forever is a factor in rodent visits?

Bottom line: I would stay here again. It's beautiful. The courtyards are charming. The pool is nice. The rooms are comfortable and the amenities are good. But, for a hotel of this price, I expected better service - Holiday Inn at the Ritz...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vandrbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a spectacular place to stay in New Orleans! The cottage we stayed in (No.1 - the two bedroom) is a gorgeous space with a large, comfortable living room and two beautiful bedrooms with private baths. The cottage has a private courtyard with a saltwater swimming pool that is well maintained. During our weekend stay, it seemed like we had the pool all to ourselves. The staff is courteous and our butler made sure everything was to our liking several times each day. The most amazing thing, however, is the location -- right off of Bourbon in the heart of the French Quarter. You would think that being right in the middle of that craziness would be loud, but we slept very soundly. All in all, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sftraveler12304564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverhill, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've always wondered about the cottages and courtyards of the French Quarter. To step through the green gate at 509 Dauphine was incredible. I was greeted by the French Quarter Butler, Amanda, who showed me to my cottage. The building had a private courtyard lined by a brick wall and plants. Even though Bourbon Street is only a block away, the most noticeable sound was the water splashing in the fountain. The room was amazing. It had an antique appearance without the run-down or stale museum feel you find in many older buildings. The refrigerator and coffee machine were tucked away in an old armoire in the parlor. The beds were very comfortable. I was in Cottage 3 and I understand why they said it was Elizabeth Taylor's favorite. The whole place was beautiful and the staff was great. The only problem might have been that you've got the whole French Quarter right outside the door and you don't want to leave.

Room Tip: My cottage was on the street side, but I didn't have any problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went online and looked at all the pictures of the cottages before getting to them and saw some absolutely beautiful images and expected that maybe the pics weren't going to live up to what I was expecting but once I walked into the cottages I was completely WOWed! My butler met me at the gate and helped me to my cottage and made sure I was settled in nicely. The cottages {I was able to see several because it was a group trip} all have their own charm and character, each is decorated with a rustic charm. The bathrooms were my fav- black marble like tiles all over and just so sleek and spa like. Even though you are so close to Bourbon St. you walk into the cottages and it's tranquil and quiet. I had a semi private courtyard which was gorgeous and well maintained as the whole property was. The pool was warm and perfect for lounging around. Breakfast was fabulous, it was set up for my friends and I as if we were at home. Fresh fruits, muffins and juice and coffee as well as cereal and yogurts. The entire stay was seamless and pleasant.

Room Tip: I stayed in cottage 5 and there are 2 rooms there.. I couldn't hear my roomate at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were there four two nights and were I. Cottage 7. It was perfect I every way. Beautiful and comfortable room, great linen, minibar. Loved breakfasting. The courtyard. The pool was perfect. Just wanted to hang out there. It was the perfect place fora New Orleans summer trip. It's pricey but way more reasonable during the summer.

Room Tip: Read the reviews to pick your cottage. Summer prices are very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annafreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Cottages are truly an oasis in the middle ( not quite the middle) of the French Quarter. The pictures on the website are quite accurate. The courtyard is lovely with the saltwater swimming pool, private entrance and tropical foliage. I stayed in Cottage #6 which shares a patio with the cottage beside it. Right outside my door is a huge banana tree with a bunch of bananas hanging from the branches. The room is small but well appointed. Service is very good - happy, helpful staff. If you are interested in staying the FQ but would like some quite time and some privacy, this is the place for you. As a solo female traveller I have to say that I felt completely safe.

Room Tip: Note that cottage 6 is connected to another room (not another cottage). You can hear staff through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Audubon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audubon Cottages

Property: Audubon Cottages
Address: 509 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Audubon Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Audubon Cottages are a local treasure, full of history, character and charm that evoke the feeling of old New Orleans. Once home to John James Audubon, each of the seven one or two bedroom suites is unique and offers a private or shared courtyard. Complimentary French Quarter butler service, continental breakfast & WiFi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Audubon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Cottages Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing