We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orleans doesn't get better than this.”
Review of Audubon Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Audubon Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My recent trip to New Orleans would not have been as magical were it not for the accommodations at Audubon Cottages. It was a quiet oasis in middle of all the action NO has to offer - quiet retreat only steps from the party. The service was impeccable and the staff was kind and generous. Breakfast in the courtyard was a heavenly way to start every day. Thank you for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 224 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

My cultural organization recently hosted an out-of-town VIP at the Cottages - with an interest to develop long-term relationships between our efforts and those of other organizations in other cities. The Cottages help us demonstrate the depth and breadth of the New Orleans experience, where vibrant grassroots culture intersects with relaxed and easy elegance. We found that with every aspect of their accommodations, amenities, and service, the Cottages achieve that relaxed and easy elegance, and embody the phrase "genuinely gracious hospitality". Well deserved hat tip - the Cottages are absolutely top shelf.
Damon R.

Room Tip: Every cottage has its own charms, and the private courtyards are ideal settings for relaxed casual c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Audubon Cottages have the Old World Charm of the French Quarter and all the amenities you expect with luxury accommodations. This is the perfect place to escape and relax and forget about the world outside. I had a great time visiting and I can't wait to show it to our clients looking for that "special place to stay".

Jan Allen, CMP
Sales and Marketing Director
New Orleans Convention Company Inc.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The setting alone offers all the magic a guest could ask for. Lush tropical gardens, exquisitely decorated suites each with their own private courtyard, serve as veritable sanctuaries, just 2 blocks from Bourbon Street.


Another plush perk of this property included a personal butler, "Roderick Bernal" who oversaw every detail during our stay...his Endless Privileges philosophy made our stay in this luxurious hideaway a memorable experience to cherish.

It's the ideal location for a destination wedding or just a romantic getaway for the weekend.

We are looking forward to a return trip soon!


Christine Breaux
Publisher
Wedding Style Magazine

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SyleMyWedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We could not have been in a better place! Audobon Cottages is the place to be if you want to be lodged in the French Quarter..... What a pretty place, so well redone, cozy, in the heart of the French Quarter, yet so quietfully..! Roderick was awesome, permanently taking care of us, he is a good asset for the hotel! We were pampered...from the moment you are awake, your delicious breakfast is waiting for you in the private courtyard and the only "noice" is the great fountain in our patio...! Very confortable bedrooms, great decor of the cottages, excelent wifi, a very important in these days...! Beautiful and well kept gardens, thanks to the wonderful and nice gardener that we met. We are looking forward to our next visit.....!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evamariacampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I love the Audubon Cottages! Expect the unexpected. I was greeted at the hotel by Roderick who Manages the Cottages and guest expectations. He is awesome! Very courteous and sincere in his efforts to accommodate you. The cottages were romantic,charming, glamorous and above all cozy. Each cottage is different from the next. They each have their own personality. One of the many unexpected surprises I received was a full continental breakfast set up right outside my front door in the cottages private courtyard! I was shocked to see such a nice array of breakfast items, just for me. Wow! I couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and cozy stay. Very safe & secure boutique accommodations in the heart of the French Quarters.

Room Tip: Not a bad room on the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atraveltherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

When I realised that we would be staying so close to the booze-fueled Bourbon Street in the French Quarter I thought that we would never get a quiet night but I could not have been so wrong.
The cottages surround a lovely swimming pool which our butler told us was the oldest in the whole of the French Quarter. It was great to see a copy of the most expensive book in the world - Audubon's Book of Birds on the coffee table and reading the history of the cottages and how the great naturalist spent his Summers in the cottages was fascinating. We also found out that Elizabeth Taylor also used to stay there a lot which just shows the kind of place it is. The decor of our cottages was really amazing and the artwork alone was worth a stay. When breakfast was served in the courtyard it felt like going back in time except we had great wifi to use. We also took advantage of going to the nearby Dauphine Hotel's facilities including the fitness centre and bar, we also had breakfast there too which was great. The staff at the Cottages were really something special, Broderick looked after us and everyone there always had a great idea for a day or night out in New Orleans which always came up trumps. I love the revelry of the French Quarter but to have such an oasis of quiet and tranquility in the middle of it is something I will remember when returning to the remarkable city. I went with a friend but would happily bring the family back for another stay. Why anyone would want to spend the same kind of money on a modern tower block hotel when they can enjoy this kind of luxury is beyond me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrottingsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
3,294 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,627 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
4,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,276 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,876 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Audubon Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Audubon Cottages

Address: 509 Dauphine St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Price Range: $280 - $1,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Audubon Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Audubon Cottages are a local treasure, full of history, character and charm that evoke the feeling of old New Orleans. Once home to John James Audubon, each of the seven one or two bedroom suites is unique and offers a private or shared courtyard. Complimentary French Quarter butler service, continental breakfast & WiFi is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Audubon Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Audubon Cottages Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing