We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This might be the best place on Bourbon St.”
Review of Cats Meow

Cats Meow
Ranked #294 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This might be the best place on Bourbon St.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stumbled into Cats Meow just in time to see some great amateur karaoke performers. They alternate between the host or hostess singing a song and then let someone from the crowd perform. This really keeps things moving and on the first night we were there the hostess, Nicole, was really cranking them out. Mix the right amount of alcohol with some great tunes and you're sure to have a laugh and a good time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    60
    21
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GREAT FUN!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great fun, entertaining. Whatever genre you like you will have fun. The drinks are in line with the other bars in the area.
We were in there on a sunday night and the MC's were great. We went up and down Bourbon Street the following night and found ourselves drawn back the Cats Meow. The MC on the Monday was MC West, the best MC I've seen for many years. Comical, great voice and very talented. If there was a gap between singers he sang, he did everything from Rap to Rock.
I personally don't sing at all, but I was very happy to sit and be entertained.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Montru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What's not to like? Good drinks, music, balcony and upstairs bar. A must visit at night. The "live" music is all night Karaoke enjoyed by all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

On our recent visit a group of us stayed about a block away. 2 of our friends love singing karaoke so we went in at least three times over the long weekend. Happy hour is 3 for 1. If its not happy hour drinks are expensive but the hurricane is served in a big cup for $8 and it is strong. Loved hanging on the balcony Friday night. Our friends back home loved watching us "perform" on the live webcam.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jillbozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Get in early”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a blast here singing karaoke. The DJ and Karaoke hosts were great. It was fun and entertaining. Get there early to put your name in if you want to sing- or be prepared to wait a while. It was a little crowded- and smokey (being from CA, I can't quite get used to people smoking next to me indoors) but that is not the establishment's fault, just something that bugs me as a non-smoker. Overall it was a good time, great for a group- singers and non-singers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCMP_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cats Meow also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Cats Meow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing