We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New Orleans
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great Eggs Benedict”

The Ruby Slipper Cafe
Ranked #64 of 2,247 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Warehouse/Central Business District
Description: A neighborhood cafe specializing in Breakfast, Lunch & Brunch. Breakfast served all day, every day! Conveniently located in the Central Business District, one block from the Canal Streetcar line, and just steps to the French Quarter and Warehouse District.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Ruby slipper never disappoints me. Our server, Field Rose, was attentive, listened, and patient. We appreciate how she heard our tastes & guided us through the menu. We enjoyed our sausage & gravy eggs Benedict & salmon Benedict entrees. Can’t wait until my next visit to try more items from this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank FoodieEd3645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubySlipperCafe, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm so glad you enjoyed your food and service! We can't wait to see you back soon! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

One of the best breakfast joints in NOLA! No frills, just amazing food!

THE TRIFECTA: Perfect dish to get a taste of Ruby Slipper. I liked Eggs Cochon, Chicken St. Charles, and Shrimp Boogaloo in that order. I enjoyed eggs cochon, which was pork debris, almost like a braised pulled pork over a buttermilk biscuit and topped with poached eggs and hollandaise. The Chicken St. Charles was an exquisite fried chicken topped with a decadent cream sauce. Even though I am not a big fan of fried chicken, it was crispy and still moist. The shrimp boogaloo was also good with big gulf shrimp over a fried green tomato and creole tomato sauce. My only complaints were the bottom of the buttermilk biscuits were very hard and my poached eggs were a tad bit overcooked that the yolks were hard, not runny.

CORNED BEEF: A underrated dish at Ruby Slippers - corned beef hash served over a buttermilk biscuit, topped with two poached eggs, horseradish cream, finished with hollandaise. My SO favorite diner dish is corned beef hash and this did not disappoint. His eggs were perfectly cooked and biscuits were flaky and soft. Highly recommend!

The place gets filled up quickly so be sure to get there early. The menu is quite extensive, so there is something for everybody whether you are trying to eat light or having a cheat meal.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MsLamLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubySlipperCafe, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow! Thanks so much for the high praise! I'm so glad you were such a fan of our Benedicts and our Corned Beef!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed our first breakfast here so much that we returned on our last morning in New Orleans. The French toast sticks, cinnamon sugar pancakes, Egg Blackstone (poached eggs, bacon, tomato slice, biscuit, with Hollandaise ) and Bam Bam Biscuit (fried egg, candy bacon, pepper jack cheese, fried green tomato on a huge biscuit). Very delicious.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bonni37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubySlipperCafe, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

I'm so glad you enjoyed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in NOLA for a week and there was always a line-up outside-finally decided to wait and see what the buzz was about, The food was amazing, service was good and fast. Highly recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JmeTb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubySlipperCafe, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I walked to The Ruby Slipper Cafe from the Hilton due to the good reviews. There were a ton of people outside waiting, which we took as a good sign. We waited for about 50 minutes and then we were sat at the bar. Food was delicious. Only complaint was the fried chicken wasn’t hot.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank meganj935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RubySlipperCafe, Guest Relations Manager at The Ruby Slipper Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your feedback! I'm glad that your overall experience was a good one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruby Slipper Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Ruby Slipper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing