We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best nachos EVER”

The Rum House Caribbean Taqueria
Ranked #8 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Bar, Cuban, Central American, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best nachos EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great food, great drinks, great atmosphere. We ordered the "damn good nachos" on the menu...they lived up to their name. They were so good !! Everything we ordered was great--have try the "Jamaica-me-crazy"....great drink :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MercyCope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    263
    46
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is on Magazine Street and we were walking by and saw ppl eating outside, it looked great so we decided to have lunch here....a great idea! The food is wonderful! We got the tacos with the black bean soup with chorizo and sour cream which was great as well. It's a busy place but we didn't have to wait for a table or our food. Will definitely eat there again!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank androm001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

we found this place on Magazine St. and thought lets go in and try this. We went and sat at the bar and our bartendet Mike was great. We ordered two different tacos and we were just stunned at how good they were. The place is very relaxed and had hand painted murals painted all over the walls. We will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My son is a student in NOLA, and The Rum House is one of his favorite spots. Close to Loyola and Tulane on Magazine Street. The menu is comprised mostly of fish and spicy types of food, which i can't eat. But the waitress was extremely helpful and helped me to order a salad with grilled chicken and non-spicy dressing, so very accomodating. Has an open, summer, Caribbean feel, very noisy and energetic, popular with the locals and college students and a great value. My son tells me they have $2 tacos on Tuesdays :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Really good, a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

In a city filled with restaurants, the Rum House stands out in my mind. We were there last Saturday night for dinner. The food was all so flavorful with unique combinations of seasonings. Our waiter was also charming and polite. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank npcx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rum House Caribbean Taqueria also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to The Rum House Caribbean Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing