We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Gravy

Red Gravy
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Gravy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #147 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Canal
Transit: St. Charles Streetcar 2 blocks. Canal St Streetcar on Corner. Riverfront Streetcar 3 blocks
Description: Bright and cheereful spot at the edge of the CBD, just across from the French Quarter. Red Gravy is a dedicated Farm to Table restaurant, sourcing most of our ingredients from local farmers, fishers and bakers. Currently listed as the #1 Brunch spot in New Orleans by OpenTable! Our brunch menu is comprised of traditional breakfast items, traditional Italian specialties like our handmade pasta and famous homemade meatballs, typical northern New Jersey/New York dishes and local, New Orleans favorites. Full service bar, cappuccino and espresso available. Come and eat, I always make too much!
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Above Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

During our two day stay in NOLA, My wife and I Googled "Best Shrimp and Grits in New Orleans", and the Red Gravy came up as number one. Our Hotel wasn't too far away so it was a win-win for us. We arrived at the restaurant and were greeted as if we were family. From the moment we sat down until we left the waiter was incredibly attentive. When our plate arrived it was....let's see how to put this, it was magical. Perfect presentation, perfect texture, very hot, and quite simply - incredibly awesome. AND!! The owner came over and greeted us personally, the nicest lady you'd ever want to me. She took the time to make sure we were comfortable, she showed genuine interest in us, and asked if there was anything she could personally do (This was the job of the waiter mind you). Great atmosphere and decor, you must try this place - You must. E & R - Baton Rouge, LA

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bita0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    163
    54
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tops Our List For Worst Experience Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

OK, being transparent, we've never had a list for worst experiences. Like many, our dining visits have ranged from good to great. When we travel, we rely on boards like this for advice, so we've been fortunate to land in good spots. Sure there are some elements that miss, but you chalk those up and move on. Unfortunately, this one was over the levee.

In a nutshell, my wife's mention of a cold waffle to the waitress turned into her being loudly confronted at our table by the owner and a lecture about why the waffle couldn't be cold, etc. We were quite stunned at the level of vitriol given the ultimate issue in the scheme of things. Quite embarrassing. We've never seen anyone act that way in an establishment save for one of those TV restaurant shows. After the owner stormed away, several other patrons came over to us to express some empathy and recounted their own issues with their dining experience that morning. While waiting for the bill, the owner returned to tell us (and the rest of the patrons) that she would be comping the rest of our meal. Probably the appropriate gesture at that point but really too little/too late. Just some friendly advice - in any business, seriously, don't abuse your customers. And don't spend energy as a business on trying to prove yourself right. Based on our observations, as well as some insight by just reading the owner responses on this board, it's clear that time might be better spent focusing on the good things that this restaurant does. The rest of our food was fine, and others on TA say the same. Deliver good food and be nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gnocchi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back for more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

So..at Jazz fest last year we discovered this little gem and thought it was good. So good in fact we went 2 times during our 3 day stay in NOLA. This year back at Jazz fest and Red Gravy was much busier.
We had to wait a few minutes all 3days we went but it was so worth it. Good atmosphere with owner milling about taking care of customers and filling the gaps. Do not be in a hurry if you try this place. It is not Denny's ! Your gonna wait...but the food...excellent. Great contrast in flavors and dishes. We went with my daughter and her friend 2 days and we all tried each other dishes both days and all equally fantastic. We will be back next year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLBRASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Liked the brunch despite some flaws”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Went to Red Gravy on a busy Sunday morning. Waited about 15 minutes for a table, and another 10 minutes for a server. Food was very good, especially the Uptown which is a large meatball served with eggs and other brunch sides. Getting the food took a bit longer than anticipated, but not horribly long. After overhearing the owner or supervisor, we learned that it was the second day for the hostess and the third day for our server, which may explain some pf the service issues.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Docdic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved it so much had to go back next day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a must, the food is delicious. The Lombardo is definitely my favorite brunch item. They also serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food is amazing all around, excellent staff, and the owner/chef will come by to check on you and introduce herself. If you stop in for lunch have the Justin or Mark Parm.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank melladrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Gravy also viewed

 

Been to Red Gravy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing